We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one “special” night for our anniversary during a tour of the Netherlands. My wife and I could not have been happier with our luck. The view of the city and canal was priceless and really gave us a better appreciation of Amsterdam as a whole. The service was also 5-star. We got room service which was excellent in quality and reasonable in price. That is coupled with an outstanding complimentary full mini-bar which we enjoyed to our hearts content. The only problem came with our room temperature. We stayed on a relatively hot day and our room's air conditioner was not working well. After merely voicing a concern to a random stafff member (I refrain from calling it a complaint because I literally only said "it is hot in my room") we were upgraded to a juinor suite. The move reflected the managers concern as well as their attention to the needs of their guests. We secured the room at a discount rate which made the value much greater but even at the hotels standard rate, it would have been a wonderful hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bailiejmLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Key West
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Just finished 4 nights and the hotel is very nice. In a great building with many lovely details. The room was very nice. Good size with oversized bathroom, full bath and shower. Very high ceilings and a wall of windows. If you pay extra for a city view, be sure to ask for a room facing the canal. The view is much nicer rather then the rooms facing the busy street.

One issue was the service was not up to the 5 star rating. While the staff was friendly and accomodating, there seemed to only be a few on call and if it is busy, you will not be helped. I also ordered room service one evening, and the next day, the tray was never removed from the room, even after cleaning and a turn down service, the tray was still on the floor in the corner of the room.

I got a great rate, so this was no problem and I do highly recommend the hotel. I think, however, I would not have been so happy if I was paying the advertised rack rate of 400 Euro plus per night. My rate was less then half of this.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June. Let me start by the good things about this hotel and I will then indicate why I feel this is not a 5 star hotel. First, they have the most comfortable beds. The hotel is near major sites (Ann Frank house, red light district, china town, etc..). The hotel has a lot of character to it and is one of the stays that will stay in your memory. The hotel looks and feels like a war castle. The rooms are very huge and almost feels like staying at a small apartment. The room has a huge walk in area with the bathroom door access and another door that leads in the room. And there is a complemetery mini bar in the room (soda, juice, alcohol). We did not use the pool/spa, but walked in and it really looks nice.
Now, let me talk about the bad things and why I think this is not a 5 star hotel. This not a luxery hotel. The chair in the lobby are very old, doors, windows are old with no screens. It was really hot when we stayed there and the hotel does not have air conditioning. They brough us a small old fan in the room, but what kind of 5 star hotel does not have air conditioning? So, be prepared if you stay there in summer time. The other disapointing thing was the staff. Maybe this is a dutch culture, here is how I would describe them: they are nice to you, but not very friendly. They defenitly do not cater to you like 5 star hotels in U.S. Other dissapoinments, NO pay per view movies, you can get a DVD player for free at the lobby, but you have to bring your own movies :). I was also disapointed in the room service, I called around 9 PM and they had run out on all the 4 food items on the menu. I could only order salad. I was not impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel either. Lots of stains in the bathroom and furnuture in the room. Overall, I do not give them 5 stars for the negetive reasons I mentioned. I would stay in this hotel again for a good price and NOT in summer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SIAMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

The look of this hotel's public spaces are beautiful inside and out. The rooms are very good as well. The location of the hotel was not as good as I thought it would be, but it was not bad either. It is across from Central Station but far off to the left. It is a bout a 8 minute walk from the station even though it appears to be right across from the street. It took about 15 minutes to walk to Dam Square. It is a very long 25-30 minutes to walk to the Liedsplein. There definitely are plenty of hotels that are better located then this one.
Overall the hotel itself was great. No problems with the room or the public spaces, however there are a couple of things to point out.

Breakfast was ridiculously expensive.
Check in and Check out were very slow, and I arrived from NYC on an overnight flight at 8:00AM, and I could not get a room until 3:00PM. I don't fault them for this, but anyone coming on an overnight flight, don't plan to get any rest until the afternoon.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if the price is reasonable like mine was.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron-from-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The building is the star. The room was comfortable as you would expect but the bathroom didn't quite seem separate enough from the room. We stayed 3 nights and only had breakfast once because it was so expensive. Capsule coffee machine very welcome and we got a free minibar as well. Good for a treat.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ballyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The building looks somewhat foreboding from the outside but the staff couldn't have offered a warmer welcome. The corridors are indeed warren-like but the rooms are gorgeous with incredibly high ceilings, comfortable beds and good wireless internet connection.

It's worth exploring the building and finding the beautiful glass atrium and worth eating in the restaurant too. The bar is light and cheerful and does nice snacks and the location can't be beaten.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

At best the staff were disinterested. In fact they were arrogant. The room was ok, the restaurant was not great. It is very central but I would give it 3 out of 5 max.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muddywatersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,031 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing