We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Suffolk, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed as a family of 4 in two rooms booked through Expedia. For some unknown reason (we never got to the bottom of it) we were upgraded into a junior suite for one of the rooms - this was an unexpected luxury. However, we were not complaining as it was fabulous.

I echo all the comments made about the architecture. It is a fascinating building and worth a wander round just to appreciate the surroundings - look for the paternoster lifts.

Within easy walking distance of the city and also the train station which is handy if you arrive early/late and wish to leave your luggage in the hotel.

We ate in the restaurant for one evening meal which was excellent. There was a deal on with a fixed rate for 2/3/4 courses. We didn't eat breakfast as we really could not justify 100euros for the four of us.

The swimming pool was always empty when went and very relaxing.

All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful.

Would I recommend it - yes definitely.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    615
    212
    89
    47
See reviews for
229
1,238
168
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I visited lots of time Amsterdam in different horels, but this one was really good.
The hotel is in fact an old office building of Dutch maritim companies. The building is maintained in his original style (art deco), and is quite unique.
When you enter into the hotel, you are not in a common big hall with a large concierge / reception desk because the architecture of the house has not been modified, and is in its original state.
The rooms have been furnished in accordance with the original style of the building. Ceiling are at around 4 meters heigh! It's very confortable, spacious and clean. The minibar was free, and a nespresso coffee machine with free caps available in the room (Georges Clooney is not included in the fee :o). There are rooms with view of the ancient city. Try to book those. Others have view to the port, between the train centraal station and the scheepvaart museum. Rooms with view to the interior of the building will probably be disapointing (i didn't saw them so i cannot juge).

The hotel include a free pool/sauna/hammam which is very nice. The breakfast is quite expensive (25€, it's a five star hotel) but you have a correct choice of food and beverage (you can even order an extra food like an omelette for example). The fruit juices are really made with fresh fruit, as the smoothie. I dind't try the restaurant.

Situation of the hotel is also quite perfect, close to the central station, and close to the centrum of the city (the niewmarkt, chineese corner, red light district and damrak are close) Access to the rest of the city is easy as all the tram are available at the centraal station. It's also well situated if you like to walk. If you come by car, let it in a 'park and ride' parking outside the city, where you get free tram tickets to come inside the city.(unless of course you prefer to pay more than 30€ per day of parking fee)

In conclusion, we had a very nice city trip in that hotel. For architecture lovers, it's a must. I definitly recommend that hotel and for sure i will come back there. I have already send friends there, and they had also a very good feedback.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

I have stayed in those hotel a couple of times on a business trip and I really enjoyed it.

It is located inside a beautifully renovated art nouveau building (The Scheepsvaarthuis). This is certainly a plus for everyone with more then a passing interest in architecture, as it is probably the most important art nouveau building in Amsterdam (a city which is not know for it's art nouveau, I have to admit).
This means that all rooms are different. Some have great views over the Amsterdam skyline, others don't have a great view. It's a bit hit and miss.
The rooms itself are big (for Amsterdam at least), clean and have great beds. And they are very clean.
Another plus: the minibar is included in the room price, as is a free newspaper in the morning.
The breakfast may not be as copious as in other 5 star hotels in Amsterdam, but it's good nonetheless.

Another plus is the free spa and swimming pool. It's not that big, but I have never seen it crowded.
And there is free internet as well.

The location is excellent, close to the Central Station and the Center (5 min walks) in a safe and quiet part of town (no street noise!).

The advertised rate is quite high (too high probably, last time I checked it was about 450 euro) but if you get a discount it's certainly the better choice in the 150-200 euro price range.

Conclusion: highly recommended, provided you don't have to pay the full fare. My hotel of choice if I have to stay in Amsterdam (for business).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

This hotel took me a bit by surprise. I was almost afraid to walk in the front door. As they say, appearances are deceiving. I would not give this hotel a very good vote on decor because it really does come across as quite unattractive to me, at least in the beginning, though it seems to have been expensively renovated. It's very easy to take the train in from the airport and walk here. But, it's not a charming location, only a practical one. The hotel does make up for the lack of charm and decor in other ways. The service is really some of the best I have encountered. The room was large, the bed and pillows, really wonderful. To complement this, a nice surprise was the complimentary mini bar refilled each day, and the nespresso coffee machine in the room, along with free internet. My hat is off to the manager, staff, and owners. Really excellent job in understanding what can make a hotel really memorable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

I spent two nights at the Amrath. The hotel is great, the staff is friendly & helpful. Since the hotel is located just beside a noisy street, I would recommend to ask for a room at the fifth floor or at least one at the back of the building. I can highly recommend the hotel and will be pleased to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We obtained a decent rate, about 50% below the published, and that included an extra bed for our 12yo child. Proper 5* service from beginning to end. Great facilities although the leisure centre could have been better supervised to stop one group bringing in a bottle of champagne into the pool area one evening.
Complimentary mini-bar, restocked daily. Fabulous building - I've never wandered around a hotel taking photos of it before.
We didn't eat in at all - not even breakfast- so can't comment on the food I'm afraid - we ate breakfast every day in a smashing cafe just round the corner - the Euro/pound didn't make hotel breakfast at 20 euros pp for a croissant and coffee a viable proposition.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahors
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

An interesting building, well located, with very nice staff. Room was small, but well appointed, with an excellent bathroom, but traffic noise was really bad. Avoid street-side rooms, especially on the ground floor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.