We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
The Beautiful Island of Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Took my partner here for a long weekend birthday break. I chose this hotel for the fact it was in a good location, close to the train station and old town. Also because it has it's own spa in the basement and because of the interesting decor. First disapointment was having to wait so long to check in. They try to make it a 'personal experience' in a private office, but if there are other people checking in at the same time it just means you have to stand around in the entrance hall.
Room was clean, with a lovely view over the port, but very small. The inclusive minibar was small and never re-stocked to the required level.
We enjoyed the spa, but it didn't feel as clean as it could have, especially as there was nobody to stop people walking in and along the poolside with their shoes on. Hot tub was cold.
This hotel was VERY expensive and I would have expected alot more from it.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,266
    610
    213
    84
    47
See reviews for
206
1136
154
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed at this beautiful hotel as a Pre-Christmas long weekend special treat. We were lucky to book the room with Expedia as special package rate before the British Pounds deplete next to nothing against Euro. Still it made the trip a bit more expensive than before.

The hotel was the old Port Authority Head Quarters building & they manage to preserve a lot of the historical details. So it was like entering a subterranean treasure cave with loads of marine symbols & swirling motifs everywhere. The Art Deco central roof light is the jewel in the crown literately & brought natural light down the grand stairway, which leads up to the club lounge on the top floor. The Dining Room looked very festive & retained much of the original architecture features.

The other great feature is the hotel pool & health club. It was located deep in the basement but was fully modernised with good size swimming pools, 2 dry saunas & 2 steam rooms as well as a large chill out area. Being Dutch they are quite relaxed with the dress code & quite a few German couples were wondering around in their birthday suits. It’s a pity the gym facilities were rather poor, but there were plenty of towels & staff on hand to help with your every needs.

The refurbished rooms are all very modern with latest high tech gadgets (wifi, flat screen + cable TV, power shower & remote control curtains!) The room was very spacious with tall ceilings courtesy of the converted old offices; it made a change from the usual pokey bedrooms you find in the standard modern hotels.

We particularly enjoyed the free mini bar that came with the room. We helped ourselves every night before going out on the town. Our only complaint would be on the last night they decided not to refill the bar. Not sure if that’s because they had early Christmas break or the fact that we were drinking their bar dry. Still it was nice while it lasted.

The hotel is located really close to the mainline train station. But that means it was slightly out of the city centre. We still managed to walk easily everywhere & can catch the tram from the station to places further out. But we enjoyed the peaceful surrounding & liked looking out onto the little canal with barges & boats mooted in front of the hotel.

Overall we would love to come back again to this lovely hotel. However we may have to wait till the Pounds crawl back enough to make the exchange rate worth its while.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
multiple
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Our room was clean and spacious, with a comfortable large bed in the middle. It was a deluxe room with city view on the 4th floor. The bathroom was clean, very modern and included a bathtub and a stand alone shower with rain shower. Service was friendly and helpful. A very nice touch is the free minibar as well as the Nespresso machine in the room and the free internet. The hotels spa is free for every guest and offers a small pool, Sauna, steam bath and whirlpool. The Spa is not big but maintained very well and we certainly enjoyed it. The only food we consumed at the hotel was breakfast from the room service menu. It was an average breakfast but nothing to complain at 20 Euros per person. One problem the hotel has is the small reception area. A maximum of 2 guests can check in at a time and thus it can take a while until you checked in. The location of the hotel is central, about 5-10 min walk from central station. Overall this is a very nice hotel, maybe not 5 stars according to US standards, but at least 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

In January we stayed in this beautiful five-star hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. The building is an old heritage with high ceilings and antique furniture,it almost looks if you go back in time with the luxury of today’s life. The facilities are really luxurious and very modern. A spacious room with a wonderful bathroom, a Nespresso machine, pants press, flatscreen television and so on. The bed was really amazing!

With the hearth of Amsterdam city on walking distance and the friendly helpful staff we have nothing to complain about and will come back for certain!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed for 3 nights with my partner, The Amrath has a lovey warm luxurious feel about it, it's a fantastic conversion of a shipping building. The rooms are spacious with high celings, the decor is rich and tasteful and the beds are fantastic just soooo comfortable you have to drag yourself out. Great having a coffee machine and free mini bar just added to the feeling of being pampered. The spa is really nice and open to 11pm, they could do with a few more relaxation beds around the pool.

The staff where very helpful and friendly. The amrath is a great location to see the city. Just catch the train from the airport it's about a fifteen minute ride to central station and the Amrath is 500yds from the station (15min walk).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Amrath and loved every minute of it. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out of. The bathroom was luxurious! Loved the free mini-bar and the Nespresso machine (my wife now wants one of these). Staff was extremely friendly. There really wasn't anything I found less than excellent. WELL WORTH staying here.

  • Liked — The size of the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to go on a weekend break to Amsterdam and wanted to stay in a luxurious hotel.

We arrived at the Amrath and the building was absolutely amazing - as was inside. It had very modern decor and the Check-In staff were very friendly as was the Doorman! Our room was non-smoking and we must have been upgraded as it was very large and roomy. The bathroom and everything was spotless, all of the fixtures were brand new and it was really impressive.

The curtains were remote control (my boyfriend loved this) andthere were lots of little mod-cons that really added to the room. The rom was decorated modernly but with a European style so it was a nice contrast and really worked as you were in luxury but also had a bit of tradition in your surroundings.

We didnt get round to breakfast (Amsterdam really is a lively city) but the Amrath is really near lots of restaraunts and also the Red Light District so everything is in walking distance! The hotel was so nice i'd definately go back!!

The only thing that i could complain about was that we were promised that the spa and pool would be open for us going however due to delays it wasnt open but it'd not really the hotels fault so i cant really complain too much!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.