We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in a central Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in a central Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a short (two nights) stay in mid December, the hotel, its facilities and its staff all exceeded our expectations.
Luxury is a subjective concept, this hotel is a very interesting building from the early part of the last century, built in the Amsterdam Art Nouveau style as an office for a shipping conglomerate during the hay day of maritime travel. As in any conversion this makes the building quirky and unusual, this may put some people off, but to us this was an added bonus.
Rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated, quirky spacious triangular en suit had a separate shower and a double sized bath. One thing we enjoyed was the complementary coffee machine and a generous mini bar stocked daily.
Staff were courteous, helpful especially Geoffrey the concierge could not do enough to make the guests comfortable. Due to the short stay and the fact weather was good we decided to make the most of our stay so did not use the restaurant and the bar.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    630
    215
    90
    47
See reviews for
229
1,269
171
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I met up with a few friends in Amsterdam for Museum Nacht. The group was staying at the Amrath so I didn't worry too much about research and went ahead and booked a room. Walking up, the place is quite charming. Once inside you can envision how lavish the place must have been when it was first built - very pretty. Now since it is an older hotel I didn't have extreme expectations about the comfort of my room. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the bathroom had been updated and the bed was pretty comfortable as well. You still have to ignore the carpet and you don't have a ton of space but it provided exactly what a needed - a good night's sleep and a convenient location. You can probably find cheaper places in Amsterdam but I had a good stay here and wouldn't mind returning at some point.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We used this hotel as a base for exploring amsterdam and walked everywhere. The service was excellent and the rooms very comfortable. The free minibar was a plus, but it would have been nice to have some fresh milk for the hot drinks. They spa was lovely and kept very clean. The only real criticism would be that we were on a room only basis and the breakfasts seemed so expensive for the selection available, that we felt compelled to leave the hotel for breakfast. i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is architecturally fascinating . Our room (400) was huge, with very high ceilings but no view. Bathroom large, well equipped. Very quiet. Little frayed round the edges, not 5* ... More like 4. Good concierge, good bar, didn't use the restaurant, plenty of good cafes a minutes walk away. Good location. When we come back to Amsterdam would probably go for a smaller hotel , but realise we'd have to spend more to do so. Free minibar is a nice touch, but not so good for the liver! Overall well satisfied.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel that has been converted from former shipping offices. The decor is very different and absolutely beautifully designed and preserved. Yet the building works really well as a hotel. Our room was in the lowest category but was large with great high ceilings and a king sized and comfortable bed. The bathroom was also large with separate bath and shower. Toiletries were of a high standard. The free mini-bar was very welcome and the Nespresso coffee machine a definite step up from the usual hotel in room coffee.

Staff were pleasant and efficient. We did not eat in the hotel as were out an about most of the time. The bar was good with friendly and good barman.

Location is also excellent - a short stagger from the Centraal station and well located for the city's attractions.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I live in Amsterdam since a couple of years ago, and yesterday I went for the first time to get a massage in the Wellness&SPA of the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam (you don't need to have a room booked in the hotel to enjoy the Wellness&SPA)
I must admit it was one of the best massages I got in Amsterdam. The staff was really nice and professional, and I could relax and have an amazing rest after the massages.

I will go again for sure!

P.S: I chose chakra massage.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed here in the past and enjoyed the oversized baths and inclusive minibar I just wish the air-conditioning was properly user controllable - unfortunately, the best you can do is adjust it by 3 degrees from what the hotel sets.

This is a 5 star hotel about 7 minutes walk from the Centraal train station in Amsterdam which I was glad of when we were dragging luggage in the rain to the hotel! The building itself is a very impressive one and was built as a shipping company offices about 100 years ago. There is some very interesting architecture and features - notably the central staircase and old lifts.

The rooms are comfortable with very high ceilings and the bathrooms I've seen have been well appointed with large baths and separate showers which is nice.

There is free internet throughout the hotel and it seems to work pretty well. This time we booked an upgraded room which was larger than my previous visit but the bathroom was smaller than the first one I stayed in. On reflection I'd have rather had a smaller bedroom (it wasn't small by any standards) and larger bathroom.

We didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant and bar areas are very nice. There is also a pool which we didn't use.

The hotel is very convenient for central Amsterdam and is about a 15 minute walk from Dam square.

Overall it was a good stay and I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.