We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luxury hotel in A'dam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great luxury hotel in A'dam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A good luxurious hotel in Amsterdam, recommended for the position near the main station (connected with the airport) Amsterdam Centraal and for the quiet area where it is located in the city, with the possibility to arrive quickly to the main touristic areas of the city. The hotel has wonderful rooms, even at the lower floors and a fantastic swimming pool, with a single defect: there is the only cold tub in the world! Other features: the room service is very fast and present for all needs, and the hotel has its own garage! Recommended!

Room Tip: -it is recommended a room on a high floor (better view of the city); -The hotel provides bathrobes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
With pleasure we are reading your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for this. Through small details we try to give every guest an unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    583
    200
    86
    46
See reviews for
219
1,191
160
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just returned from our second stay in this fantastic building. Slightly worried when the room we were allocated was located basement level but turned out to be a very good option. Large luxury room, no view to speak of but still plenty of light in the room and very quiet at all times. Not sure about the thermostat / air conditioning but room always felt perfectly cool even with such warm temperatures outside. Bed was huge and the pillows just perfect for laying our weary heads on at the end of a day of wandering around this amazing city. Service was impeccable from any of the team members we came into contact with during the course of our stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much to choose again to stay with Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are more than happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best wishes,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Historic old hotel right near the central train station - very convenient location near Dam Sqaure....right across from a nice, beautiful, modern DoubleTree Hotel. No early check-in but they will store your bags there if you arrive early AM as we did. It's a cool place but we didn't eat there once or do anything at the actual hotel....just slept there.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The positives. Very impressive exterior, and very handy location near the station and close to old town etc.
BUT... This is not a 5 star hotel. No air conditioning. A "queen" bed that was two small single beds pushed together (not even bedding/ sheets over the two to help them stay together).
I (perhaps unfortunately) got a ground floor room overlooking the busy road (the other side faces a quiet road and canal). The room was so hot despite the thermostat being at the lowest setting and fan on full. When we asked about cooling down the room we were told this is not a thermostat but a temperature control. On investigation this means it only heats and there is in fact no air conditioning at all. They offered a fan, which we said we would like. Later in the day we returned to the room to see no fan, we asked again. Apparently, there were people out buying new fans as they didn't have any spare. Again we were assured this would be put in the room later.
Returning at night, no fan. The store was out.... The room was unbearable and only one window opened at all, and that right onto the busy street which meant a choice between never ending noise or sweating through the night.
This is ridiculous in a supposedly 5 star hotel. I would never return and would suggest no one who actually wants a 5 star experience ever go here. The only 5 star elements are the location, the building exterior and the bar prices. There was free wifi too to be fair. Avoid, at least in the summer, unless it's priced like a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. We would appreciate, if you could contact us on sales@amrathamsterdam.com so we can go further into depth on this matter and try to prevent this in the future. Once more I would like to thank you for sharing your experience and want to offer you our sincere apologies.

Best regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were very satisfied with this hotel because of the following:

1. Located in the center of Amsterdam - It is near the Sea Palace, the best seafood restaurant we ever had. It is also opposite to the Amsterdam Central Train Station, 10 minutes away from the Lindbergh Excursion in the Damrak street.
2. The room is very clean and spacious. It has free wifi and open bar.
3. The staffs are very professional. They gave you great advice regarding restaurants and sightseeing.
4. If you are musical, you can also play their Schimmel piano in the lobby.
5. This hotel gives us a feeling of being home. It is beautiful and cozy.
We love this hotel very much!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor facing the river. Very quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Nice to read that your stay was everything you wished for. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others trough TripAdvisor. We are striving to be a ‘Home away from Home’ for our guest and we are pleased to read that we were able to give you this feeling. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We loved our stay in Amsterdam. The hotel was fantastic, very central. It had a great Wellness centre downstairs with excellent facilities (Pool, Sauna,gym,steam room etc.)
Our room was so beautiful and very clean, we also had a lovely view of the canal from our window.We ate at the hotel everyday and the food was delicious , very well presented and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had a canal view room, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful words about the facilities of our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed especially the Spa & Wellness and the food served in our Bar/Lounge.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best wishes,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have recently,spent a week at this hotel,which is full of character.

Check-in was pleasant.

Again,I was given a room upgrade which was appreciated.

The breakfast room staff,were very helpful.

The chambermaid/s were excellent and attended to my requests,quickly and with a smile.

The free mini bar,was well stocked and items used replaced daily.

The bar staff know their job well.

Friends of mine stay here too.

I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the front of house manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We appreciate your nice words and are happy that your stay was everything you wished for. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others trough TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.