We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair wheelies around Amsterdam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wheelchair wheelies around Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel is wonderful, in a great location, peaceful yet right next to the main train station and out the back to the small canals and back streets....beautiful. Being in a wheelchair you never really know until you get to, and check out, the rooms suitability. The room they gave us was perfect....large, spacious, great shower (ok they forgot the shower stool at first but came with one very quickly). But, and it is a big BUT....no AC...no climate control.....and the temperature was around 30 degrees C!! Not easy to sleep at night when you feel like you are sleeping in a sauna. This was the major down point of the hotel. A few minor irritations, we had to ask them to open the back door for me each time we left or entered the hotel, and be careful in the bathroom when you shower.....the floor fills up to nearly 1cm deep of water and takes an age to drain. But apart from that the hotel is beautiful, the peaceful views from the bar and in a great location, the staff were helpful and accomodating and if it is not quite so hot then it would have been nearly perfect...enjoy!

Room Tip: Be aware of the no AC.....dpending upon the time of year and the weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your time for reviewing Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are very pleased to read that the room was suitable for you. We do have climate control in every room, but we can imagine that the temperature was still not pleasant with the high temperatures of last week. Good to read that our staff was helpful and you appreciated their help. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    630
    215
    90
    47
See reviews for
229
1,269
171
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Grand Amrath and found it to be very nice. Location is great, close to the Central Station, the Dam Square and most tourist sites. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and very comfortable. The bathroom configuration was a bit odd, shower and toilet in one room with double sinks and tub in another room. The fact that there was no booklet to describe the services offered at the hotel , time the pool was open, time breakfast was served or what time the bar closed or even a menu for room service was somewhat of a nuisance. The complimentary mini bar in the room was great and the bathrobes and slippers in the room were also a nice touch . Would recommend this hotel to those going to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floor with a canal view. We had room 108 and even though it was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Nice to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others trough TripAdvisor. Usually all the rooms are equipped with guest directory. I hope our staff was able to assist you with all queries. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best Wishes,

Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

While this is certainly not a five star hotel by international standards, it is an excellent hotel which may be found as part of a deal (I got it as a "secret hotel" through Expedia). The free mini bar (including alcohol) was an excellent amenity, and the location is perfect for seeing the main sights (maybe a little far from the museums, but public transit is nearby).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is beautiful on the inside and the rooms overall were really nice (especially the bathrooms). We were in a deluxe room for reference. It's in a great location and easy to walk to different areas and the central train station.

Something to keep in mind is that each room doesn't control it's own temperature, so we found the rooms to be warm because you could only change it 3 degrees from the average temperature the hotel sets. It was warm and humid in Amsterdam, so this was really annoying. I'll also say that the staff is nice, but was forgetful. Our TV was busted and it took four requests for them to get it fixed (twice over the phone and twice in person). They also forgot to order our Taxi for the airport. Just book knowing the good and the bad. It is a truly historically beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to book - think about upgrading. The deluxe rooms were really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your nice words about our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed the monumental aspects of the building. Because the hotel is situated in an monumental building we are not able to put air-conditioning in place, but instead have climate control. We are sorry to read that your request for the television was not prioritized and the order for the taxi. We hope we may welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam and give you a truly 5 star experience.

Best wishes,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We visited this hotel on 22/07/14 for coffee and delicious club sandwiches The concierge,Peter, was extremely charming and knowledgeable about the history, architects and designers involved in the construction and restoration of the building,and the companies who commissioned the construction.We were astounded and delighted by the building. While we did not stay, we saw the interior and guest rooms which were fabulous.

Room Tip: There is a spectacular room at the top of the hotel within the "prow" that has a glorious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful words about our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others trough TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to give you another great experience in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Grand Amrath has a lot going for it, not the least of which is a great location. It is situated an easy walking distance to Amsterdam's main Central Station, and a pleasant stroll along canals and quaint streets to the Nieuwmarkt, Dam Square and all of the major attractions of the old town. The imposing building is a wonderful example of Amsterdam's unique art deco period, and much of the former shipping offices heritage has been faithfully restored and preserved. All guest rooms vary in size and shape and a canal view really adds to the Amsterdam experience. My partner and I weren't entirely comfortable with the glass bathroom door, and the permanent water stains on the black marble/granite vanity top is really unfortunate. Apart from a terse young porter who spoiled our arrival by expecting us to carry some heavy luggage up the front steps, the staff are friendly and helpful. The attendants in the breakfast room need particular mention. They were bright, friendly and nothing is a problem and ensured we had a great start to the day.The complimentary minibar is a real bonus. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful words about Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam it is our passion to give our guests an unforgettable experience, good to hear we managed to do this once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We did a two day lavoyer in Amsterdam before a cruise and decided on the Grand Amrath. We liked the idea that it included a mini bar as any kind of drink is very expensive in Amsterdam and it was good to get a refreshment after touring during the day.

We did not use the facilities of the hotel as we were running around the whole time. Service was good, but the hotel and rooms are a bit dated. Quite honestly, if I had a do over, I would stay at the Doubletree, which has the amazing views, is closer to the city and costs less and we like that Hilton brand. Our two day stay at the Grand Amrath was decent and value was decent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We respect when you prefer another hotel but are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.