We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building - Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Gibsonton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 4 nights here in April of this year (2014). The entire building is a work of art. Our room was beautiful, clean, and full of amenities. The staff were helpful and attentive. Perfect location, just steps from Dam Square.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,164
    549
    191
    79
    45
See reviews for
208
1140
155
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved this hotel, very unique building and it is possible to get lost our ur way to ur room but it's so pretty inside and out. Our room was very grand and comfortable with full mini bar and all the amenities you would expect, loved our stay here would defo recommend this hotel and hope to return someday :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel. I had e- mailed to ask for kingsize bed and had also mentioned my husbands birthday. The hotel left a card and a lovely cake in our room. Lovely size room. Pillows felt like sleeping on a cloud. So very comfortable.

Bathroom had a lovely big bath and a separate shower with a fab shower head. Nice touches, coffee machine and complementary bar.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Mark sure you look at the main stair case so lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from 2 nights, 3 days in Amsterdam to celebrate our wedding anniversary & had a fantastic time at this hotel. As previous reviews have put, rooms were of a good standard with plenty of space & amenities, bathroom was large with a powerful shower & huge, seperate bath tub. The free mini bar was the icing on the cake- with Amsterdam prices for drinks, we always enjoyed a glass of wine or beer before we headed out for the night. A knock on the door after we first checked in revealed sparkling rose wine/champagne as a treat for our anniversary & a lovely hand written card from the hotel- highly, highly recommended- should we head back to Amsterdam in the future, I will be sure to book here again.

Directions from central station:

Come out of centrum exit, in the skyline you will see nh brabazon hotel, head for this sign & walk past the hotel, past the church & round the corner, keep heading straight past the next corner & hotel should be in front of you (opposite side of the road is doubletree Hilton)

Room Tip: We stayed in 317 which was very good, although no canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed in lots of quality hotels around the world and this is amongst the very best.

A free mini bar topped up every day; coffee machine in the room; an elegant olde world vibe; art deco beauty everywhere. Stunning.

Skilled, friendly staff in a great location; five mins from the station and a short walk to Dam square.

We will be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for my 40th birthday with some friends easy to find from the train station and in a great location .our stay was 2 nights 3 days the hotel was top class the food the spa the room the hotel staff were top draw and would recommend to anyone that's going to Amsterdam to stay at this hotel .AMSTERDAM ROCKS what a great place friendly people and lots of things to do

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Room 100 for 3 nights. Bed room old imperial style with clean bedding. Bathroom very modern. SPA was small but attractive.
Room service very good.
Front desk staff very professional and helpful.
I forgot a small bag in the front lobby and only realised when I reached back home in UK.I sent an e mail and it was sent by special delivery. Impressive.
All credit goes to the manager and his well trained staff.

Room Tip: I would to prefer to stay in room 100 on my next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.