We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience in Amrath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Amrath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Amrath in mid-June and had a great experience there. The hotel location is very central and convenient for exploring the city, yet very quite and away from crowds. The Hotel building is a former historical shipping house with many unique architectural and decor elements for those who appreciate those things. Our room 416 had a city view (not a canal view) and was very large with about 15-16 foot high ceiling and a VERY large bathroom. I highly recommend that room. The room and the hotel was very clean and well taken care of. Staff was helpful and helped to arrange the bike rentals and museum tickets. Bike rental is 16 EU in the hotel (which is a bit higher then, say, by the central station), but they were very good bikes and the convenience of being able to just drop them off in the hotel at any time of day and night (we dropped ours way after midnight with no extra charge) was well worth it. Also, hotel is very conveniently located for those who arrive to Amsterdam by car (our case). We used the HotelParking service (www.hotelparking.nl/) to arrange for parking of our car for 3 days, great service and saves you a lot of money. All and all a great experience in Amrath and in Amsterdam. Do not hesitate to stay in Amrath!

Room Tip: Room 416 was great for those who appreciate a very large and quite room and bathroom and do not care...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    687
    233
    100
    53
See reviews for
243
1,397
177
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colony, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great hotel very friendly staff and helpful. The room was amazing. Very clean and nice. The location was good. Our stay in Amsterdam (2 nights) was kind of a break between spending 5 days in Paris and then on to Rome for 5 days. Amazing city, everyone should visit . Great people.

Room Tip: Any room here I think would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 3rd gets for our anniversary . easy to find from central station . staff very friendly and helpful . room small but everything u need bathroom nice and clean bath nice and deep and powerful shower . swimming pool sauna very nice . would stay here again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I had always seen this converted government offices and knew they it was a 5 Star hotel but never stayed there. This time I was in for two concerts at Ziggo Dome so location close to the Amsterdam metro was fantastic. I arrived on a Sunday morning from the US and my room was not available but they took me to the Spa so I could shower, change clothes and enjoy the beautiful day in Amsterdam. My room was not too large but the bathroom was spacious with separate bath tub and shower so 5 star. The spa in the basement is beautiful with gym, pool with jet for doing laps and steam room and sauna. Top notch in every way. The staff was awesome, daily stocked minibar at no additional cost. Free internet throughout. All in all one of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed in and will likely be back in November for a week.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

From cleanliness to hospitality everything was very good. This Gothic style architecture building is impressive, location is the best. At the heart of the centroom and in front of the central train station. The Staff is very kind and helpful

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A five minute walk from the central station in Amsterdam where all the trams, buses and trains stop. The rooms were clean. Beautiful big bath AND shower with two sinks. Great room service. Free mini bar which was refilled everyday and the bed was unbelieveable!!! The best night sleep I have ever had! The spa is wonderful! Especially the jacuzzi. I would say the only slight let down was the view. But if you are out most of the day it really doesn't matter. Fantastic hotel and I will definitely be going back. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This lovely old,Grand ,but yet updated hotel is well located near city center and across from train station. The rooms quirky but elegant and well appointed. We were given a canal view room with very high ceilings and very comfortable.The front desk and room service were excellent and super efficient . A little pricey but it is a 5 star. Breakfast can be skipped at 33E for continental a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Canal view is pleasant . Although the double windows aren't meant to open ,still scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.