We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wonderful location and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this Amrath grand hotel.
The location is great.Walking distance from central bus and train station and Dam Square.
Free Spa and mini bar were used by us everyday and were a nice extra.
Staff super friendly and helpful.Our room was big and comfortable and we had a nice view of the canal. The hotel itself is a beauty.
We will surely return next time we come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    687
    233
    100
    53
See reviews for
243
1,397
177
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very nice hotel with a lovely ambiance. The staff was great, and although we did not indulge too much, it was nice to have the free minibar. Good food portions with room service breakfast. Very close to the train station and many other places. The only negative I can think of is that the "queen" size bed is actually two doubles pushed together. They would spread apart from time to time and made sleeping close difficult. I think this is probably because it is difficult to get large furniture into the building with small staircases - a common thing in Holland. Otherwise, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Be sure to understand that your bed will be made of two beds together without a joiner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

There are many aspects of this hotel that are terrific, primarily the building and the history and excellent restoration completed. It truly is an art deco palace and absolutely in keeping internally as well as externally. I think having a reception 'office' is ok even though it's clearly not big enough and a queue forms outside the door. We found all of the staff very friendly and helpful but I would query why concierge isn't stood outside the building to assist with luggage as per so many 5 star establishments (particularly when there are entrance steps) and it is these little details that make me query whether it really is worthy of 5 stars. In addition to the lack of porterage outside, the bath robes have clearly seen far better days. They are old, over laundered and grubby. I note you can buy them for E50 but you'd have to be crazy to do so as the quality is really poor and I would suggest they should be replaced. I was also disappointed with our room on the 4th floor as the sloping ceilings were for me claustrophobic, but I suspect this is a matter of personal preference. I was looking forward to 'floor to ceiling' windows as advertised on the website and given we had booked a deluxe room I didn't expect to be in the roof in a narrow room with half of it on a plinth. In fairness, we could have swapped but it is so inconvenient once you've unpacked to have to do so. I found housekeeping somewhat lacking, our room was clearly not as clean as it could have been. Corners, edges and wood needs a good scrub and the coffee/tea area wasn't cleaned at all. Dirty napkins were left from the day before. The bathroom walls needed further tiling above the bath as they were cracked and worn. We mentioned this to reception but housekeeping was pretty much the same the following day. I also didn't like the seating area up on a a plinth and I didn't like it being outside the bathroom. Not an ideal relaxation space. I think the website may be more chi chi than the reality I'm afraid. We loved the building, the history and the staff but we didn't like the grubby finish or the cramped room aspect. When you pay 5 star prices you expect a 5 star building and the little extra touches of comfort and luxury. The lobby area could do with some more chairs and comfort for lounging. All in all, great building, shabby standards, nice staff.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 4th floor unless you want sloping ceilings and a narrow bijou feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Amrath with 2 friends in April 2014. Fabulous hotel with fabulous rooms. As everyone else has said, it is a five minute stroll from Centraal Station and looks very impressive as you approach it. The location is also very quiet at night and we heard nothing from outside, or inside, during our three night stay. Free mini bar which is restocked daily is something that I have not come across in any other hotel, and the wonderful Nespresso coffee machine is light years away from the usual kettle and packet instant coffee of other hotels. Large rooms and large, comfortable beds, with a separate bath and shower in our bathroom, as well as two sinks, very handy in the morning. The room was tidied twice a day, morning and afternoon. Very quick check in and check out, even though we didn't book it through the hotel itself. Unfortunately we did not use the spa facility or breakfast so cannot comment. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this quirky art deco hotel on an all inclusive BA weekend break.

A faulty room fan in our appointed room led to an upgrade to well appointed and unusually spacious junior suite. The hotel (built as offices for wealthy shipping companies in 1913) is an excellent example of early 20th century art deco and the glass panelling in various corners of the public spaces is quite stunning.

The high points were the free well stocked mini bar in every from, the well appointed bathrooms, the very comfortable beds, the wellness centre, BBC 1/2 on the television, the excellent breakfast, and the free broadband. The low point was the lack of a porterage service on arrival.

We ate in the hotel restaurant one night. The food was first class but the service did re-define the term 'slow food' . The first course took an hour to arrive and we were in the restaurant for well over 2 hours. Bizarrely, the food served did not properly rerflect the description on the menu. The potatoes, vegetables and accompaniments were all different to those advertised. It actually didn't matter as it was all delicious but quite strange given that the restaurant was far from busy. The price for two with drinks was a not unreasonable 85 Euros.

The Amrath is a great place to stay in Amsterdam. Well located It has a uniqueness to it that takes a lot of beating. We will stay there again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We've just had a wonderful few days at hotel amrath amsterdam. Hotel architecture was amazing including all the lead glass windows couldn't fault anything and the staff were great highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for two nights in February and were pleased with the hotel. The room was spacious with high ceilings and a large bed. The free mini bar contained half bottles of red and white wine, bottles of beer, a selection of spirit miniatures plus a range of mixers and was restocked daily. There is also a coffee machine and selection of coffees. The bathroom was also a good size with both a large bath and shower. The complimentary toiletries included good quality shower gel, moisturiser, shampoo and conditioner. My only concern was that there appeared to be a holding fee placed on my credit card, which was not released until nearly a week after we returned. As I had not been told of this I was rather concerned when I checked my balance online.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.