We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, beautiful rooms, some minor improvements needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, beautiful rooms, some minor improvements needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Had an enjoyable stay at this beautiful hotel, which was a good base for exploring Amsterdam whilst being away from the busy centre.

The staff were very helpful, the complimentary minibar useful, and the rooms well appointed and decorated.

We had a problem with our first room which smelt a lot of smoke but we were immediately moved to a room with a canal view which was far nicer (try and get if possible).

Overall a pleasant stay but they need to ensure that rooms are properly checked and aired if needed and the check in process could be quicker.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    603
    208
    87
    46
See reviews for
227
1,218
167
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We first stayed here in 2009, and were delighted to get the chance to return. The Amrath is a great base from which to explore Amsterdam, within walking distance of the Central Station, and the lovely meandering streets and canals.

The hotel itself is nothing short of stunning; architecturally and decoratively. You must take some time to wander around and see the remains of the majestic shipping offices and the lovely glass and woodwork.

The staff are always on hand to help and advise, and the facilities such as spa, free mini bar, comfortable bed and spacious room all add to a great experience.

I hope we get a chance to stay again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Excellent value for money. Beautiful old design with very comfortable modern facilities and good service.
Great breakfast and location at walking distance from the central railway station. Wifi in rooms, only regret was that we didn't have a lot of time there!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a classic old building and convenient for the main station in Amsterdam central. Rooms are very grand with high ceilings and plenty of room.

I was only there for one night but was made to feel very welcome. The all inclusive mini bar was very tempting and had I not been out for the evening I am sure I would have taken more advantage. As it was we had an excellent lunch in the restaurant.

This was close to a 5 star but held back slightly by rather slow process for checkin and checkout. It's great to be offered a seat for this but really juts wanted it to be quicker. Really all large hotels should offer quick check out systems. If the Grand Hotel had one I didn't discover it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

A short walk from Amsterdam Centraal, the hotel has very nice rooms, some with a great view over a canal. My (superior) room was big, nicely decorated, in a way which fits with the history of the place, high ceilings, a free minibar, coffee machine, all amenities one needs etc etc... Although the reception is small, I never experienced waiting there. Definitely a hotel I enjoy going to.
Coffee machines should be checked. My colleague and I both had troubles with no enough water going through. But this is a minor trouble for the pleasure you overall get.
I could open my window, which I like.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra price (as long as you still find a good deal through internet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath (February 2014) for a second time. What I appreciate most about this hotel is the convenience to and from Central Station. It is quite literally across the street. It is also in very close proximity to where all the action takes place - yet not surrounded by any pubs or coffee shops that might make some people feel uncomfortable. Upon arrival there was someone waiting to take my bags and two wonderful receptionists who sat me down, checked me in early, and helped make my stay in Amsterdam very comfortable. I was also pleased to learn that the WiFi connection in the hotel was very strong (which can often be disappointing in some hotels in Amsterdam). I brought a laptop with me to do some work and had no problems whatsoever. I also like to ignore the time change whenever I am travelling overseas and after hanging up the 'Do Not Disturb' sign I had no one bother me the entire time I was there. Another great convenience is the free mini-bar. It is filled with all sorts of sodas, alcoholic drinks, and water. The bathroom had a shower and a bath, the bed was very comfortable (so much so that I slept to 11 am one morning - I never do that!), and the decor of the room was warm and very stylish. The only thing that puzzles me is why anyone would want to stay at another hotel. It has it all and is reasonably priced throughout the year. I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in August 2012. Champagne on arrival, beautiful room, treats left in the room every day , free mini bar, lovely staff, just outside the centre so a nice stroll in and out of town, breakfast superb a lovely hotel to stay in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.