We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
hull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Although we only stayed for 1 night we were very impressed by the whole set up.

From arrival where our bags were taken by the bell-boys. Smooth check in, our room was not ready but we could go to the top of the list if we were waiting, as it happened we were just after getting rid of our bag and then exploring so no worries on that point. We arrived at 9.30am and check in was not due until 2 so no complaints at all.

We arrived back at tea time and used the facilities including small indoor pool and sauna etc.

We ate out at a lovely indian restaraunt and retired around 11 for a good nights sleep.

Check out was smooth and again they locked our bag away until we collected later on in the day.

Staff attitude was " i am here to help you "

The facilities were lovely. The room was magnificent. The wifi worked really well. The complimentary mini bar was a lovely treat. The breakfast and restaurant and bar appeared pricey and that kept us away but it certainly fits in with the surroundings.

Overall, we will be back next time amsterdam comes calling.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    631
    215
    90
    47
See reviews for
230
1,269
171
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for a night and found this a great hotel packed full of character. The room was almost perfect. Bed very comfortable and good pillows. All staff were welcoming and helpful, and the wellness pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam were very cool.
Very handy for central station in a quiet spot away from the main tourist areas, and some nice local restaurants nearby. My new hotel of choice for Amsterdam business trips.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

i am really surprise to read that there are people who actually found this hotel amazing!! the location is amazing yes.the architecture yes ok amazing.But the hotel and the services it provides, not amazing at all.especially when you pay so much money to stay in a "5" star hotel.first of all the hotel smells really bad.the wellness center is so small you dont even wanna be in there.the rooms on the level -1 are so tragic.in the level of the street without any protection on the windows, so dark without any view apart from the feet of the pedestrians!!!! be careful when you book , not to put you in the basement.breakfast was not so bad .as far as the staff some of them were friendly and helpful, other were really rude.if you are looking for a real 5 star hotel then this should not be your first choice.if you dont have high expectations then maybe its ok !!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went to the amrath again for my birthday. As usual had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a perfect location to walk around and explore amsterdam. The rooms are fantastic and the beds and beding make you feel like you are sleeping in the clouds. The staff are great too, particularly mahmud on reception. He was about to take an exam in management and im sure he will pass. The spa is also fabulous. If you want to treat yourself, relax and be well looked after, the amrath is for you. Will be going back asap.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Nothing was too much trouble at this hotel. We stayed here for 3 nights for our "mini-honeymoon" and it was fantastic. The spa is heavenly. We were given a voucher for a free massage which was wonderful.

The room was spotless, the minibar was extensively stocked and the bathroom was luxurious. On arrival they had left us a bottle of bubbly and a message wishing us congratulations. Those little touches make all the difference.

Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We visited Amsterdam on 6th February for 3 nights for my partners birthday and had a fantastic time. The hotel made the trip for us as it was a haven to come back and relax after 3 busy days and nights! The room was spacious and immaculate, the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the free mini bar and coffee machine were lovely added extras. We had a room on 4th floor with fab views.

We used the spa facilities twice and they were lovely, especially when we had the place to ourselves for over an hour one morning. There is a turn down service and we came back one evening to a lovely cake and card for my other half's birthday which was a nice touch.

All in all an excellent stay and Amsterdam itself fantastic - a wonderful time had by us both. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just returned from a two night Valentines treat at the Amrath. The hotel is an amazing example of the dutch school of Art Deco and very striking, You can find subtle references to shipping in the architecture if you look closely so can still get the feeling of what it must have been like to work in the building in the early 20th Century. The rooms are decorated in the style of the period but with mod cons like the Nespresso machines in every room. The concierge and the rest of the staff are very polite indeed and will give you any information you wish about the surrounding area including best restaurants etc.
We had a problem with noise which was rectified immediately with a quieter upgrade to a beautiful suite (the noise was more the fault of a guest than the hotel). we found the location brilliant both because it was almost opposite the station for convenience and because it was both easy to locate and at the pinnacle of all the sights. We had room service breakfast on Valentines Day which consisted orange juice, coffee and a bread basket with condiments. We shared one which was more than adequate. The hotel is a brilliant combination of laid back but with the staff befitting of a 5* establishment. Will return again!

Room Tip: ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.