We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect combination of old & new” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect combination of old & new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Grand Amrath hotel. The hotel is in a quiet, yet central location, 5 min walk from Central Station & approx 10 min walk from Dam Square & all central attractions. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room (seems to be a frequent occurrence!) & were definitely not disappointed! The room was huge with a king sized bed, high ceilings, electronic remote controlled curtains and a free mini bar. A fantastic view of the canal & free Wi-Fi were added bonuses! Although slightly on the smallish side, the bathroom was very well equipped with Ritual toiletries, a large bath & a separate power shower.

All of the staff were welcoming & friendly & I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. The architecture & character combined with contemporary touches make it an interesting, quirky place to stay! Didn't get a chance to try the Wellness suite, maybe next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    758
    257
    110
    60
See reviews for
268
1,526
187
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We visited Amsterdam and stayed at Amrath again. It's always the good choice!

Near the train station for only few minutes walk, fantastic design of inner area, and perfect mini bar ! Bathroom is nice and comfortable. Always best hotel in our memory.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddieCambridge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is an amazing building, an old shipping office on many floors just a short walk from Central Station. It has a paternoster lift, now disused. The rooms are large and high-ceilinged. Ours had remote controlled curtains. Very comfortable beds. Lovely bathroom with two basins, a bath and a separate shower, free mini bar, wonderful pool, sauna and hot tub. On the downside, the room was hot and we could not work out how to cool it down. Not sure it merits a 5 star, but compared to many other hotels in Amsterdam it is a gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The good points:
Huge clean and comfortable room with high ceilings (I do get the impression that every room will be very different in this eclectic building).
Free mini-bar.
The room was quiet and sleep quality was excellent (my biggest gripe with more modern hotels)
Free wi-fi with good speed/signal strength.
Fantastic location just 5 mins walk from Central Station.
Friendly staff.
Historic building with interesting interiors/exteriors.

The bad points:
House keeping missed our room one day so we called down to reception and asked for the room to be cleaned. They did a shoddy half finished job.
No shower curtain.
Parts of the hotel just felt scruffy and need of an update.

Overall it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Its a grand experience. The staff is very pleasant and service-minded. Rooms are cleand and luxuriouse.
If you ever travel to Amsterdam, this is the hotel! The price is ok compared to other hotels in this range.
The hotel is 2 minute walk from the main train station of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our second stay at the Amrath - we decided to make a return visit as we had enjoyed it so much last year. Highlights were still the art deco surroundings and the fantastic spa. It was also very quiet for a city centre hotel. One complaint I do have is the bed, which was supposed to be double sized but was actually 2 single beds pushed together and 2 single duvets. Not ideal for the romantic getaway we had planned! This is why I am giving a 4 star rating and not 5 star....also there was not as much variety in the mini bar this year, although it was included in the price, which I haven't come across before.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I had written a very good review about the Amrath last year. I have been there again 3 times since and each time was less good than before. First of all: the service. A very small room for the reception, most for the time one person, very slow, had to wait 30 minutes once in order to be able to check in. We got once 2 single beds. We asked to change room which was not possible so we were promised "right away" a mattress to cover the gap between the beds, but we are still waiting for it... The free mini bar is poorer each time we go also. As far as the hotel itself is concerned, it stinks more and more. The carpets in the halls, especially at level -1 and next to the pool itself there is a smell. The cleanliness is also doubtful: when I went beginning of Jan, there was a chewing gum next to the stream of the pool...when I went back 2 weeks later, the chewing gum was till there!!! The breakfast is also not great: everything is cold (eggs, sausages...) and the pastries (doughnut etc) are dry. Disappointing in such a wonderful place and in a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.