We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A real gem in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Just 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station this converted former shipping company HQ oozes charm and hospitality. From the staff at Reception to the Wellness Centre girl everybody is friendly and very professional. The decor is particularly interesting and reminds me of a luxury 1930's liner.....The pool and sauna are exceptionally good and my room was big and very well appointed, a separate shower cubicle is the mark of a good hotel !
This is now my new favourite hotel in Amsterdam. I have to say that I did not try the restaurant as there are so many good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: I was on the top fourth floor and there simply was not any noise from the surrounding streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    631
    215
    90
    47
See reviews for
230
1,269
171
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at The Grand Amrath last week (so wc 06/01/2014) and we had a great stay.

The hotel is located about a 3 minute walk from the train station so is really accessible. It's so well located that we didn't need to use public transport once!

When we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed by the reception staff who asked about our journey and offered us a room upgrade which was amazing!

Our room was fantastic, with high vaulted ceilings, a huge comfy bed and a big TV that has BBC1 and 2. The free mini bar is great and meant we could have a drink whilst getting ready to head out for the evening. The bathroom was lovely and clean too, and the bath was huge!

The spa area is great. The gym was a little basic but that's a very minor thing. The pool, steam room etc were all fab too.

The staff were really friendly and when they found out we were visiting for my birthday they had a cake and card delivered to our room which I really appreciated.

Overall, I couldn't really fault this hotel, it offers fantastic value for money and the staff couldn't be more helpful.

We would definitely return to it!

Dan Jones

Room Tip: Go for a canal view room if you can and definitely worth upgrading to deluxe if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The first thing I saw when I entered the hotel was two young and beautiful people at the reception desk. They were man and woman. They both were very friendly and kind to me. I remember the name of the young man was Mahmud. Despite his young age I could feel professionalism of the work he does, being there for the client at any time, trying to help, to answer the questions. I felt like I am at home. I am happy for the hotel to have such a crew. Apart from that I could see a good attitude of someone who really like and appreciate the job he has. I am happy to discover people like this. I feel like it was a good step to star with living in the hotel.
Room service is well done.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely beautiful from the outside and inside! Me and my boyfriend stayed in the superior deluxe room and it was perfect! It was spacious, clean and a fantastic view from outside. Not only that you can use the spa facilities which was just fantastic after a long day. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back again this year! Thank you :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

After three weeks of travelling around Europe on a family vacation staying in a mix of average hotels and with family, when we arrived at the Amrath it was like it was heaven sent. We had a large room on the top floor with great views over the city. Big king size bed, great big large tub (which got a lot of use) and great wellness centre as well. And of course the complimentary mini bar - now if that's not five star I don't what is! The staff are super friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a great location and with free wifi. We only had 3 nights here but when we return we will definitely looking up the Amrath again - highly recommended!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place was very comfortable and really something different as well. Swimming pool and sauna were nice too - so don't forget your costume! There was a mix up regarding whether our breakfast was included (I couldn't remember, and was told at check in that it was), but staff were very accommodating with this. There is a big choice with the breakfast buffet and would suit people who like to eat a lot in the morning. It's convinient to the train station and close to interesting places to explore. Would love to be able to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Pluses
1.Good location
2.Interesting hotel. Building has lots of history, and it isn't at all cookie cutter.
3.Comfortable beds
4.Free mini bar.
Minuses
1.Some of the staff were very friendly, but some were totally rude and incompetent.
2. Apparently we were upgraded to a larger room, but it was still very small(even by European standards).
3.Parts of the room were very worn and in need of an upgrade.
4. Would look elsewhere next time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.