We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Incredible Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath from 12/25 - 12/28. I must say, it was a fantastic experience. First, my flight from New York had me arriving at the hotel 6am on Christmas day. When I got to the hotel, my room was ready! I was able to go to my hotel room and take a nap. That is a huge plus.

The room itself was beautiful. I had a Superior room on a low floor. The room was large, great bed, and great amenities. (free mini-bar, Nespresso maker, great bathroom).

The hotel staff was extremely nice. The one snafu we had, they had trouble combining two consecutive reservations...the staff offered me a late-checkout because of it.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam. I will definitely be staying there again. Beautiful hotel, great service!

Room Tip: The only bad....try to get a room not facing the street. The road is noisy, and the windows aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,188
    567
    197
    84
    45
See reviews for
216
1165
158
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a two night stay here recently and couldn't fault it. Hotel is really impressive, staff were polite & friendly. The room was big with a really comfy bed, a coffee machine & a free mini bar!! Great location near to central station (5min walk), Dam square was a short walk too so close to everything but not right in the centre. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is my 7th Stay at this Unique Hotel. Arriving was like meeting up with friends, I was upgraded to spacious 3rd Floor Room, with again a fabulously inviting Bed which gives a luxurious sleep. The Room has electric drapes and a unique Bathroom.

I cannot fault anything at this fabulous hotel. The free Mini-Bar and the Coffee machine as well as a huge TV and efficient service enhanced my stay.

My thanks go to everyone at this Hotel, from the Reception, Concierge and Portering staff, all were helpful, attentive and polite.

The Bar and Restaurant staff were at pains to help and assist.

I will be returing to this marvelous and welcoming Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a City view Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days , staff are very helpful and the location of the hotel its awesome . Another advantage was the free mini bar which had some drinks and i did really enjoy that , room was very clean and also i did try the swimming pool , which was very relaxing

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Please do not stay at this hotel if you want plastic furniture, small bathrooms and dubious service, you must stay here if you want that extra special place to sleep, staff are great they make it there business to help you at all times and yes they actually do want to help, Rooms are incredible, clean large and very cosy. the building it seld is awesome, we spent loads of time just wandering round the building stain glass and marble every where and oh so quiet. Try the pool and sauna, you feel like you are in your own pool. It is a little more expensive but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room 304 looks out over the canal and the skyline is beutifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Was initially hesitant about booking this given the reviews here but glad I did. Great location, old world warmth and charm, a great room, and helpful service. Yeah, the half-empty view might think its dated but in my view it all adds to that old world charm. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I,have recently returned,from another,one week stay at this excellent hotel.

From,the moment,I sat down to check in,to when,Isat down,to check out,I was treated,like a king.

The receptionists,management,concierges,bellmen,restaurant staff,the chef,chambermaids,minibar staff,in fact everybody,are friendly,intelligent and very professional.

Full breakfast offers,continental and Full English choices.

Some mornings,I had French toast,which one must request.

The free minibar is a joy stocked daily.
I really appreciated the free upgrade to a two room suite with a wonderful City and Canal view.

The leisure centre,pool,jacuzzi,steam room and sauna,eased my aching bones and feet,after walking around beautiful Amsterdam.

Please experience,The Grand Hotel Amrath,Amsterdam.

I am sure you will not regret doing so.

Finally,treat the employees,as you would like to be treated.

Do not be rude and do not click your fingers for service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Otel, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.