We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a two night stay here recently and couldn't fault it. Hotel is really impressive, staff were polite & friendly. The room was big with a really comfy bed, a coffee machine & a free mini bar!! Great location near to central station (5min walk), Dam square was a short walk too so close to everything but not right in the centre. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    697
    237
    102
    54
See reviews for
246
1,417
179
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is my 7th Stay at this Unique Hotel. Arriving was like meeting up with friends, I was upgraded to spacious 3rd Floor Room, with again a fabulously inviting Bed which gives a luxurious sleep. The Room has electric drapes and a unique Bathroom.

I cannot fault anything at this fabulous hotel. The free Mini-Bar and the Coffee machine as well as a huge TV and efficient service enhanced my stay.

My thanks go to everyone at this Hotel, from the Reception, Concierge and Portering staff, all were helpful, attentive and polite.

The Bar and Restaurant staff were at pains to help and assist.

I will be returing to this marvelous and welcoming Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a City view Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days , staff are very helpful and the location of the hotel its awesome . Another advantage was the free mini bar which had some drinks and i did really enjoy that , room was very clean and also i did try the swimming pool , which was very relaxing

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Please do not stay at this hotel if you want plastic furniture, small bathrooms and dubious service, you must stay here if you want that extra special place to sleep, staff are great they make it there business to help you at all times and yes they actually do want to help, Rooms are incredible, clean large and very cosy. the building it seld is awesome, we spent loads of time just wandering round the building stain glass and marble every where and oh so quiet. Try the pool and sauna, you feel like you are in your own pool. It is a little more expensive but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room 304 looks out over the canal and the skyline is beutifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Was initially hesitant about booking this given the reviews here but glad I did. Great location, old world warmth and charm, a great room, and helpful service. Yeah, the half-empty view might think its dated but in my view it all adds to that old world charm. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I,have recently returned,from another,one week stay at this excellent hotel.

From,the moment,I sat down to check in,to when,Isat down,to check out,I was treated,like a king.

The receptionists,management,concierges,bellmen,restaurant staff,the chef,chambermaids,minibar staff,in fact everybody,are friendly,intelligent and very professional.

Full breakfast offers,continental and Full English choices.

Some mornings,I had French toast,which one must request.

The free minibar is a joy stocked daily.
I really appreciated the free upgrade to a two room suite with a wonderful City and Canal view.

The leisure centre,pool,jacuzzi,steam room and sauna,eased my aching bones and feet,after walking around beautiful Amsterdam.

Please experience,The Grand Hotel Amrath,Amsterdam.

I am sure you will not regret doing so.

Finally,treat the employees,as you would like to be treated.

Do not be rude and do not click your fingers for service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I know old buildings are always attractive, the architecture of this hotel is great but that's it... The hotel smells bad, dust is everywhere. My room? Maybe the worst in my life! Hair and blood and other "fluids" in my bed when I arrived. I asked for a linens change and they took more than 4 hours and like 3 phone calls to finally changed it.

The service is good and location too, but it is not a 4-5 stars hotel for sure!

I'll never return to this hotel. Never never

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.