We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only saw the lobby because they over-booked” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Only saw the lobby because they over-booked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Had booked and paid in advance using Expedia but there was no room for us and we were moved to The Marriott. Quite possibly they did us a favour: that was an excellent hotel nearer where we needed to be for the Amsterdam 8k. And they did arrange for us to have free breakfast there. Plus we had an executive room. So for us it worked out well but thats not really the point: a 5 star hotel should never make such an error. Oh, and the lobby wasn't really to my taste!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,188
    567
    197
    84
    45
See reviews for
216
1165
158
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southam Warwickshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Free upgrade to junior suite with city view. Lovely spacious room with very comfortable king size bed. Great bathroom facilities. Free minibar has to be a plus and made full use of it especially as it was topped up daily. Breakfast not cheap but good choice. Pool and spa area quite nice though jacuzzi and steam room not working during our stay, but was nice to relax in the pool after a busy day walking. Lovely meal in the hotel restaurant. Lazy Sunday high tea very nice and worth the money for late check out and amount of food/ drink available. Overall a lovely place to stay .

Room Tip: Invest in a tram ticket for the duration of your stay or there's lots of walking to really see A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Amrath for 4 nights in October with friends. The hotel is just a short walk from the station and very hard to miss given its grand exterior. The main reason for visiting was to see Fleetwood Mac [great concert] and see the city.

On arrival at the hotel we were warmly welcomed by the staff and shown into a quaint old office that is reception. A “congratulation on your anniversary” was the welcome, how did they know that we thought. After quickly sorting out the formalities we were shown to our rooms, both clean and well presented in a tasteful art deco fashion. Exceptionally comfortable bed, best nights sleep in ages. The Nespresso machine was great for coffee and the mini-bar welcome after long days sight seeing and for pre-dinner drinks with friends.

Oh yes … a big Thank You to the AMRATH for the little welcome that was in our room to help celebrate our Wedding Anniversary.

Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Islas Baleares, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I've stayed at the Amrath in the past and was saddened to see see how quickly the level of quality has fallen. The stunning architecture of the building remains but sadly - the hotel has not kept itself up to date internally.

I found the staff to be generally unhelpful.

They have one of the worse wifi connections ive' ever seen with a speed that is so slow it would often take hours to send a single e-mail. Each time I have stayed at the hotel the internet has been terrible and each time they give the same excuse saying a engineer has been called. The fact is - there internet is terrible and all business customers - take my advice and look elsewhere. It truly is appalling considering Amsterdam is one of the world's tech capitals.

Also disappointed with the spa -on 2 visits this year - dirty towels were all over the place. On my last visit yesterday - there were a group of guys drinking openly from spirit bottles and playing loud music in the relaxation area and the staff did nothing until we complained. There'a time and place for that but downtime in a spa is not one of the the

Waking round the hotel - carpets need replacing and the rooms are still way too dark . This is a 3 star hotel with 5 star prices.


For the price, the deteriorating level of service -I'm afraid i won't be staying here any longer and was glad to check out .

Room Tip: I've only stayed in rooms which have been very very very dark - ask for one with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel and expected a great hotel since it is a very expensive one but was very disappointed. The stuff was sometime very unpleasant and in other times did not care much. For checking in and out we had to stand up since they have a strange set up in which in an office there are two reception stuff and we had to wait out side by the door for a long time until we were served. Breakfast was good but very expensive 25 euro. The Wi-fi signal was very weak upon complaining I was told that they are about to replace the system. I was told that it is an accessible hotel for handicap but was astonish to find out that there are 10 stairs at the entrance to the hotel with not ever a rail. Later I was told that they have some kind of "elevator" to a side door and every time we left or return to the hotel we had to ask somebody to open the door for us - very inconvenient to say the least. I will not return to this hotel nor recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel and we were expecting something great as it was not cheap, but it was not like that. The staff were ok and not too worried about helping us. The reception had a weird set up, not really possible to hang out by he lobby. The location was ok, but later I realized I'd rather stay closer to the Museum District or Jordaan area. Honestly, the best thing about this hotel was the bed as it was very comfortable, and the fact that the room got completely dark even when it was very bright outside, but everything else was just ok. For the price they charge, I was expecting more than ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Quality and the money you paid did not match. It settled to an advantageous location but you could not feel yourself at a 5 star hotel. Towels are not clean enough and the cleaning lady could came during the night and asked "do you need something personal" we have never experienced such strange thing ever!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.