We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam 1011 AK, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Frankfurt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I travel to Amsterdam frequently for work and leisure and this has now become my preferred hotel. Its architecture is amazing, the staff are extremely friendly and polite. The room service menu is quite small but the hotel restaurant offered us room service options as well. Stunning views, amazingly comfortable beds and great amenities. The spa and wellness centre is also fantastic and the prices for massages etc are very affordable. Highly recommended for either that romantic weekend away or to host a corporate event. Our last stay, we were upgraded to a suite and it was amazing.

Room Tip: If you would like to host a small business meeting (4-6 people) a suite is fantastic for this. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,183
    564
    204
    77
    43
See reviews for
193
1061
145
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It's a gorgeous building and in a good location. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we got it for a very good price. Loved the spa/sauna and Turkish steam bath area. Very clean and well maintained. I was only told about the massage special when we checked out which was a blow as I could've gone a massage after our long flight. Still highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam central. We are thinking of booking for our last two nights again in 4 weeks time but the price is not as good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had planned this trip to Amsterdam rather last minute and to be honest, booked this hotel because it offered the best price for a 5* hotel only 3 days prior to traveling. The reviews we read were somewhat mixed, but this hotel turned out to be a gem that I would return to without hesitation! We arrived at the hotel from Schiphol airport quite early in the morning and were advised that they might not be able to offer us a room until the afternoon, so we checked our bags in with the bellman and went out for some breakfast. Upon returning to the hotel only about 2 hours later (1000) to inquire on the status of an available room, we were told that our room was ready!

The hotel itself is of fantastic "art deco" design and was formerly used as a cargo/shipping center. The hotel, through it's renovation was able to keep much of the charm and many of the unique features from it's past. Upon entering the room, I noticed the high ceilings and comfortable design, very inviting! The bathroom was well appointed and had a luxurious feel. The only downside to the bathroom was that the door was glass, with only the middle section of glass frosted so a view from the room wasn't possible. The bathroom situation is not conducive for families, at least not in the king room. On the upside, the minibar in all of the rooms in this hotel is free of charge, INCLUDING wine/beer and spirits and is replenished once daily! I've never stayed at a hotel where this service is offered free of charge and found this to be a pleasant surprise!

The hotel also offers a very nice fitness/pool and spa area with whirlpool tub and a saline pool which proved to be a relaxing oasis after a day of walking and touring around!

Aside from the hotel itself, the location was fantastic, offering access to the central train station with only a 5 minute walk or so.

All in all, this hotel turned out to be a great find! Value for the money spent was great and the location, amenities and service made the entire package worthwhile!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay. Lovely rooms although we have to be moved as we had booked a twin room and were given a double. Both rooms were spacious and quiet. Free mini bar and the Nespresso machine were a bonus. We had the French breakfast in the bar which was huge and kept us going all day!. The spa was fab, not huge but it was never very busy and a pleasure to use. The only downsides were the wait to check in/out there always seemed to be a queue there and there is no relaxing lounge with sofa's and arm chairs or at least we never found one. Make sure you go up to the 3rd floor and check out the windows.

Room Tip: 2nd & 3rd floor rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed.Former commercial property turned hotel which overlooks a former dock an the new Library it offers the visitor comfort and good service.Like to have a room on the upper floors and this was provided with a good view looking out from the city.Cuisine is good here but one has a lot of good quality restaurants nearby.Excellent choice for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are recommended for the vistas they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you're tired of carbon copy hotels where you feel you could be anywhere in the world try the Grand Hotel Amrath in Amsterdam. We had a double room with a high ceiling on 2 levels that had a complimentary mini bar. For once I didn't feel like I was staying in a sauna and the maze of corridors only added to the charm of the stay. It's just a few metres from the station and breakfast is well worth a try at least once during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my lass stayed at the amrath recently and I can totally recommend this hotel. Breakfast was very good, staff very polite and friendly, rooms clean and luxurious, location is very good, bed comfy, sturdy and quiet!
The complimentary mini bar is a very good idea as I'm often amazed at the cost of drinks in hotels. I think it would be a good idea for the majority of hotels to follow this. I imagine the cost of this service is recouped in repeat business.
We will definitely be going back to Amsterdam and we will definitely be staying here when we do

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amrath
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam 1011 AK, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Escapio, HotelsNL, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.