We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way 5 Star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No way 5 Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice room. Comfy beds, free mini bar. They wanted 50 euros extra for canal view but settled for 30 extra. Very noisy at night. A party place. The view is awesome. Hotel is understaffed. Had to complain to get our room cleaned after 2 days. When I called reception the housekeeper came to my room and went off on me. Not 5 star at all. A Shining Star is Mirelle the concierge. She is The Best. Helped with all our sightseeing plans, dinner, milk for our coffee. We would stay at any hotel she worked at.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    595
    206
    87
    46
See reviews for
225
1,210
164
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from 5 days at the Amrath. The staff were highly flexible in rearranging this booking from our previous dates at Easter. On arrival the concierge were warm and friendly and could not do enough to assist us. All staff through out are stay were helpful and put my own English to shame!

We had a super deluxe room with a bathroom in a glass enclosure- real wow factor. Free wifi and minibar were also fantastic- nice touches.

Gym and swimming pool were nice- sometimes over crowded but this did not detract from the stay.

Well positioned and unique for a fantastic stay in Amsterdam.

Well done Amrath- superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had 3 nights here at the beginning of August. Despite really wanting to like this Hotel, I'm afraid that it’s really not a 5 star in terms of the rooms or service.

Our Deluxe room faced into a central atrium/ courtyard and it was extremely hot. We tried to get the room cooled, but we then found out that the Hotel doesn't have air conditioning (despite having a lovely Siemens control panel on the bedroom wall). When we asked at reception to see if we could get the air con fixed they told us that the Hotel doesn't have it, but 'didn't we know it had Climate Control'. It would appear that this means the unit in the room will heat the room up, but the best it can do to cool it down is blow ambient air back into the room. As the ceilings (and as a result the 'Climate Control' grilles) are high there is no benefit to the occupants.

On top of this, the sink in our bathroom wouldn't drain away and the Shower screen fitted very poorly which meant the bathroom floor was wet after a shower. After the first night we asked to move rooms (the first time I've ever asked for this in a Hotel). The Duty Manager told us the Hotel was full, but he would get a maintenance engineer to look at the 'Climate Control' unit because the air filter might be blocked. He would also fix the sink and shower screen. I wasn't convinced, but he assured me he wasn't aware of any similar complaints... (at that point I hadn't done a search on Tripadvisor), and he could supply a pedestal fan.

The outcome was that there was no difference to the efficiency of the 'Climate Control', but the sink and shower screen were fixed. However, when we got back to the room we found dirt all over the bed (the access to the unit was above the bed) and the sink and bathroom had clearly not been cleaned. By this time (3pm) the original Duty Manager was not contactable, but the new one (who had not been updated – so I had to spell out the problems again) said she would get a maid to attend immediately. After 45 mins, and a second phone call, the maids came to clean up (they did a good job btw), but by this point my goodwill towards the Hotel was well and truly spent, and I must conclude that the management don’t seem to care.

So, to cut a long story short we had 3 dreadful nights sleep at the Amrath. If we hadn't paid in advance we would have moved out after the first sticky night.

For balance, it’s worth saying that the breakfast is good, and once you've found your way around the building, the art deco architecture is very impressive.

On another negative aspect, found the lighting in our room to be very poor (with dark furnishings), but it was at the other extreme in the bathroom. This meant we had to take our tourist map into the bathroom to read it.

My recommendation is not to stay here during the summer. And if you stay at any other time, don't expect to be in a 5 star Hotel (it’s a 4 star at a stretch).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We looked at this place online and decided it looked like a winner. Generally speaking it was. Great location, very attractive inside and out, reasonably priced. However, servicing of room was not great. Used glasses and coffee cups were not replaced with clean ones from a dishwasher or kitchen; rather they were washed in the sink in the room's washroom...before our eyes. One day it looked like they hadn't been washed at all. The coffee was not replaced properly and one more than one occasion we had to contact the concierge to bring milk to the room so we could have a morning coffee. Interestingly the fact that they have the coffee machines in the room is a thing they advertise. Didn't eat at the hotel...food just looked too expensive for what you would get. On the positive, the concierge and front office staff were helpful, even if the booking in and room change seemed a little disorganized. This was my third stay in Amsterdam and while the hotel looks great, there are aspects of it that mean I will not stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the canal or water in some way. We were initially in a central room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, good price, big rooms, luxery bathroom. Spa area pleasant although a little small (better if child free times! ). Consierge helpful when required. Enjoyed stay but not a 5 star really...to be critical the air conditioning is rubbish and if we had to keep windows open at night it would be too noisy. Would stay again/recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed from Friday till Monday in grand Amarth and hand a fantastic time, really comfortable beds fantastic power shower and bath.the mini bar was filled up each day free of charge with some miniatures,small bottles of wine and water. The rooms were spacious but comfy with blackout electric curtains and choice of pillows. We got this weekend on a deal through an Internet holiday company with flights included to book the hotel seperately would be expensive.the pool and spa were closed for renovation but looked very high quality.5min walk to let's of nightlife and restaraunts.

Room Tip: All rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked a week at this hotel. Non refundable, because it looked so wonderful in photos online and had good reviews BIG MISTAKE.
. We could not wait to check out. We checked out three nights early and lost our money because we had paid for a non refundable room. We will never do that again. We were on a 7week Europe vacation, and had stayed in many 3star hotels that were so much nicer. We thought we would pay a little extra in Amsterdam , and stay in the Amrath. WHAT A JOKE.
It was so depressing walking into the hotel and our room. It does not have the feel of a hotel at all....it is an OLD RUNDOWN shipping house. The" deluxe "room was small, dark, and you could hear everything in the hallways. We lost 3 expensive nights because we wanted to end our trip on a good note. So, we found The American Hampshire Hotel, and moved over there. Now that should be a 5 star hotel. So beautiful. And bright and cheery rooms. Loved Amsterdam. Would NEVER recommend the Amrath to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.