We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amsterdam trip with children - good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“amsterdam trip with children - good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

we travelled to amsterdam for a 4 night trip in July, with two sons 12 & 15. we wanted a nice hotel, but with a pool to amuse kids after a long days walking around! This really limited our choice to Amrath or Victoria in the centre and we chose Amrath and glad we did. location was better (we thought) away from the traffic, noise and grubbiness of Damrak. first impressions were ok - yes we did have to carry our bags up 5 steps, but so what! staff at reception were very welcoming. We thought that this was a feature of the city - not just our hotel, but everywhere we went shops/waiting staff/museum staff were really naturally helpful and friendly, more than in any other big city we have visited. I think maybe the slightly laid back Dutch nature might not fit in with some expectations of "5 star service" but we thought they were great! The building is slightly strange - a real maze - and the staircase a bit spartan with its bare tiles and vinyl, but you are in a historic building which has been preserved as it was. Quirky and interesting, but not "dazzling"!
Rooms were fine - we were at the back of the hotel in a July heatwave, with temp over 30degrees, but found rooms perfectly comfortable. Free mini bar was a great idea and a nice treat after a long day out. We had been a bit concerned about location and proximity to red light etc, but it was absolutely fine. Even the infamous Zeedijk, which I had been warned to avoid like the plague on my last visit here (almost 25 years ago!) was relaxed and fun, with its many restaurants and bars. This became our regular shortcut toward Damrak and the station. We ate out every day and there are lots of restaurants around. We went to the nearby Oggi and Eat Me which were both very good and of course the Sea Palace, which was over priced but worth it for the novelty. For breakfast try Dwaze Zaken on Prins Hendrikkade 50 at the station end of Zeedijk - it was really nice and much less crowded than the more touristy places just around the corner from it. Boys liked Dutch Porridge!! The pool was good - never busy (in fact hardly ever had to share it in the evenings). All in all a good hotel, I can see why some say not 5 star - but we have stayed in 5 star hotels and enjoyed them less, just because they can be a bit too formal. We liked this and at risk of repetition can't emphasise enough how pleasant and friendly the front of house staff were. Definitely would stay here again. For things to do - canal trips, Ajax experience (for 12 year old would be Messi), Scheepvart museum (really good for adults and kids). Out of town we visited Volendam and Zaanseschans - both well worth going to.

Room Tip: ask for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    619
    212
    89
    46
See reviews for
229
1,241
168
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel! Who gives these ratings, at best this no more than a 3.5 star hotel? I have paid much less and stayed in far better hotels. the AC in the room does work, check other reviews they had the same issue. £25 pounds for breakfast which was 6.5 pounds outside and no difference in quality. The check-in is poor and the photos of the pool in the website are exaggerated, two swim strokes and you reach the other end. The 'well being' experience is not too well either, two massage beds and a steam room. Despite the architecture that visitors appear to blab about the Superior Deluxe room with city view was small narrow with a step into the room which was not easily navigated when finding the bathroom at night. The minibar was included but the range of drinks is limited.The corridors are endless and quite gloomy somewhat similar to a gothic Edgar Allan Poe novel. I would advise anyone looking at this hotel to try somewhere else the Hilton DoubleTree is more VFM.

Room Tip: You will have to pay extra and request to see the room beforehand to ensure you are getting value fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

An ok experience, athough there were so many small grips I can't really recommend. The room was too hot and despite speaking to reception all they could manage was a small fan heater. They said it didn't have air con, only climate control, which didn't work. The light above the bed was hanging off and despite being told it would be repaired, it was still hanging when we left. We had to ask for tea bags and milk all the time as well.

On the plus side, it was convenient, the free mini bar was a bonus, the beds comfy and the spa was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view, the otherside is next to a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent city break at Grand Hotel Amrath. It really is a remarkable historical building, with outstanding architecture, which particularly appealed to us.

The hotel management do not really "shout about" just how special it is - we went exploring around the hotel on our own, and were frankly dazzled by how marvelously intact the Arts and Crafts building is. The owners have preserved many features (wrought ironwork, glass panels, stained glass roof etc.). By far the best features are around the grand central staircase (and it gets better the higher you go) so by biggest tip is, DON'T take the lift!

The Hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the central station, so fairly convenient for trains from Schiphol. The local area has a few greasy-looking Shawarma places (which are best avoided) but there are also enough local decent local places if you don't want to have breakfast at the hotel. We particularly like the Cafe Captein just across the canal on Kromme Waal.

Equally you may be very happy to try the hospitality of the hotel - one of the highlights of our stay were expensive (but excellent) cocktails in the hotel bar - which was staffed by a very friendly and knowledgeable barman.

My only criticism of this otherwise excellent hotel was the gym - the equipment is not up to the high standards of the rest of the hotel. This probably won't matter to most tourists, but if you're into fitness training it could be something to consider...

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for "city view" - views of the interior courtyard wouldn't be much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our second time in the Amrath with our family. We got a discount rate via a booking site that included breakfast. At arrival we were upgraded to two connecting large rooms with canal view. Nice surprise - thanks Amrath! Mini-bar, tea and nespresso are included. The nice spa has a sauna and whirlpool. There is free wifi so the kids did not want to leave. Beware that there is no air conditioning but climate control. It gets hot when the temperature outside is over 30 Celsius.
Breakfast is good but not excellent. There is not enough staff during peak hours to go around with coffee, so ask for a can of coffee.
All in all it was a very nice stay. Some minor points for improvement: the concierge is inside, so you have to carry your bags up the small stairs yourself. Service is a bit random: first day our room was not cleaned when we came back at 4pm, but only later. We started with 4 large towels, and ended with only small ones. Second day all was perfect. Same during breakfast: one day a bit chaotic, last day all perfect.
Location very good, but the shortest way to the Dam square is via the red light district.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest and hope for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is an architectural treasure. I have never seen such beautiful woodwork and etched glass. We had fun exploring all the different floors. The elevators were lovely too! The room was large with extremely high ceilings. The mini bar was fully stocked and it was free! The red wine was superb and so fun to crawl into bed after a full day of sight seeing with a lovely glass of wine! The location could not be better across from central station. Priceline found the hotel for us as we bid on a five star. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Amrath for 3 days following our river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. We really enjoyed staying there, the staff were excellent and very helpful and accommodating. The location in Amsterdam is the best; close to everything but just out of the frenzy of Amsterdam. The structure itself is beautiful. The rooms could use a little more storage facilities for clothes.

Room Tip: Great location for touring the city. Only took 20 minutes to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.