We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful building, great location, fantastic trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful building, great location, fantastic trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath for my birthday and it was a wonderful trip. I was born in Holland and this was my first time back since I was 2 years old. I could not have had a better time.

If you like great architecture and old buildings this is the place to stay. The building itself was wonderful! Very unique and stylish. The hotel also offered a small, yet nice looking pool - however, I did not try that out.

The location was great, central to downtown and most things you would want to see. You can easily walk to most areas.

The room was very cozy with a very comfortable bed. The room was extremely dark at night making it easy to sleep - which was fantastic for late nights out.

The hotel was a bit pricy when I stayed, but it was a birthday treat so I didn't mind. I would highly recommend this place to any traveler for any occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    576
    199
    86
    46
See reviews for
219
1184
160
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After needing to visit Amsterdam for several days, the Grand Hotel Amrath looked like a fantastic place to stay for the several nights in the City. The second you walk into the hotel, the decor and atmosphere really hits you. The place is just amazing to look at however....upon arriving at the hotel, knowing where to go to check-in wasn't well signposted and no staff were around to assist. After finally checking in, I was shown to my HUGE room and shown how to use the various features within (e.g. the electirc curtains). The room had high ceilings, the bed was amazingly comfortable, the television was big, the bathroom was to die for and the facilities e.g. minibar really were top-notch! I really do recommend this hotel to anyone HOWEVER....I personally wouldnt return and the main reason is that the hotel had such a dark decor that it felt dingy and unwelcoming at times. I would rather stay in a more modern five star hotel where things are a bit brighter and modern.

P.S. The location of the hotel is just brilliant!!! Takes just a couple of minutes to stroll into the City Centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I celebrate a wonderful birthday during the last weekend (mid June) for 3 nights. The hotel is in a very unique building' the room was big, high ceiling, huge king-size bed very comfortable. Decorate with wide desk, nice sitting area, big cupboard, free safe, free effective WI-Fi and above all free and rich with many kinds of drinks minibar. The bathroom is wide with two sinks, big baths and shower bath. The location is quite good. 700 meters from central station, close to the red light district and 15 minutes from Dam square. Locate in quiet neighborhood. Breakfast is rich and the service is very kind and pleasant. The concierge was very helpful. We also ate dinner in one of our evening. The food was tasty. The dishes were not so big but the service was just great.
the wellness area including free Jacuzzi and nice warm swimming pull.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent location.. Very helpful check in/out .

Extremely helpful concierge and a great booking contact.

all was great with our groups stay. Many thanks to all for the wonderful effort.

They also assisted with our transportation and were extremely efficient.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms with canal views if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 5th to 9th June 2013. It's just a five minute walk from the Central Station. Check-in was very quick, staff very friendly and welcoming. We had room 405 with great canal and city views. There was no noise at all either inside the hotel or outside. Room was very bright and airy with big comfy bed. I always check bathroom first and it was very clean. The separate shower was great. Loads of towels on shelf and bathrobes hanging up. We found all the staff most courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. We only had dinner in the dining-room once and it was delicious and breakfasts in the Bar were exceptional. As it was our daughter's birthday day we arrived when we came back that evening there was a tray left with plates, forks and a chocolate cake with handwritten note from Noushka, Duty Manager extending a warm welcome to us to the hotel and congratulating us on the special occasion of our trip and wishing us a wonderful stay with them and to Amsterdam. This was a huge surprise for us and indeed we were very touched by the personal gesture by her. You won't get this in many hotels. We, as a family, would certainly highly recommend The Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to anyone who wants a friendly, good value and conveniently situated hotel to stay in on their trip to Amsterdam. A big Thank You to everyone in the Hotel Amrath for making our visit to Amsterdam a wonderful experience. We will, certainly, make a return visit here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor if possible as it's extremely quite and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I can't imagine how it could be better. Beautiful old building - marble, timber and brickwork. minibar in room price, coffee machine in room, many wellness centre services. Crocodile skin chairs etc in room. Close to everything. Fully sick.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I only stayed here for one night but it was a great hotel. Staff were attentive, friendly and accommodating. Great bedroom, huge bed, high ceilings. Free mini bar! We didnt use the restaurants, spa or pool so unable to comment
Short walk to central station and all the great sights Amsterdam has to offer.
Down side was the check in which did take a little while due to a number of people checking in and out at the same time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.