We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserving of its 5* status” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Well deserving of its 5* status”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Located on a small block east of Central Station in a beautiful art deco building.
I booked a delux room which was tastefully decorated to a high standard and had high ceiling., electric curtains. Everything is thought of and the small details are a nice touch. There is a nespresso machine with 3 varieties of coffee, a complimentary minibar with a selection of drinks. A smart desk and chairs with a sidetable.
The bathroom is maintained to a high standard and was spotless.
Bed is super comfy, best night's sleep I had in a while. Almost no noise at all heard from outside the room or beyond.
Internet is free and fast which is a huge relief.


Room service was excellent, though costly.
Wellness area is amazing (access included in room rate) with a beautiful heated pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and steam room plus a gym. Bathrobes and slippers are provided free in the room so hopping down there is easy using the elevator.

Breakfast was superb, everything from Crispy bacon and scrambled eggs to pressed smoothies and fruit with warm muffins.

Definitely worth the extra €70 or so a night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    688
    234
    100
    53
See reviews for
244
1,399
177
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If there are 7 star hotel, is Amrath a 7 star hotel. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The rooms were large and tasty. You will never regret.There is no reason to choose any other hotel in this charming city.
I will come back next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Very large and comfortable room, high ceilings and fantastic bath. Fully stocked refrigerator that was all complimentary including alcohol which was restocked daily. The deco building is beautiful and the staff was attentive and helpful. Super location just a minute by foot to the Central Rail Station. Great place to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Noisier on ground level near the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Probably the friendliest and most helpful staff we have come across, who seem to know everything. 10 minutes walk from Centraal Station (mind the bikes and trams) brings you to this impressive building (try to see it lit up). We had a Deluxe Double and you get what you pay for - very large room, comfortable beds, large bathroom, free minibar. We had breakfast out but had a couple of high standard 'pub grub' meals in the bar in the evening - an excellent option if you don't want to do the full works in the excellent looking restaurant. And then there's the Spa....
Make sure you look at a map first before wandering out, and get directions and advice from the Concierge, as we started off by taking the main routes rather than some of the quicker ways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in march 2013. This is a great hotel in a great location. The rooms were well decorated and comfortable, the bathroom was lovely with an amazing bath and an endless supply of hot water. The free mini bar was a nice addition and something we took full advantage of.

We had breakfast every morning of our stay and were very impressed by the options and quality, well worth paying the extra to have it included.

We ate in the hotel bar one night, the steak was fantastic and the portion sizes were good, the bar staff were charming and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.

My partner had arranged for flowers to be in the room, with chocolates and a note, the hotel accommodated this with no problems.

We've stayed in a number of 5 star hotels and this is definitely worthy of the 5 stars its been awarded.

I'd highly recommend, we couldn't fault it and would return again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Checked in and all good ,they did take 100 Euro deposit for each nigh we stayed ,and assured it will be on our account in 5 days of check out .

Anyway great hotel ,lovely room and an free upgrade as well .
Bed lovely and comfortable with great quilt and massive pillows

Free mini bar stocked every day ,very good selection as well.
Large bathroom huge bath fits 2 no problem :)


Bar was very cosy ,great food served ,we had the chefs platter which was wonderful ,wife had soup which she say was the best shes had.

Very quiet at night ,we did ask for a room at the back of the hotel .

Staff were very attentive to any request made .
Very central 5 mins walk to train station

Lovely hotel and would go back again

Room Tip: We choose a room at the back of the hotel ,but that was because we read on trip advisor it can be bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Amrath is a clean hotel and the location is to. I thought that the hotel staff was informative and helpfull. The architecture of the hotel is really unique and sets it apart from other hotels. Stayed in April 2013 with my wife. I would definitely stay here again and I would also recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.