We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RAVE REVIEW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Waterville Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“RAVE REVIEW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

How to begin? Maybe just simply.I love this place. On entering the front door one is transported to another age, and it's authentic too. There are intriguing artistic details everywhere. The atmosphere is solid yet strangely whimsical at the same time.There seems to always be more surprises just around the corner. Nothing is contrived.
The staff is excellent. Nothing phony about any of the personel. And so helpful. We had a very bad experience with the hotel shuttle { called Connexxion} and Amrath staff did everything to solve the problem. The shuttle driver had handed my luggage to another tourist and it was only when I threatened to call the police that Connexxion gave me back my luggage. Next time we'll take the train to the airport. Much cheaper and more reliable.
The bed was ultra comfortable, the view sensational and yes, the free minibar was great.
All in all, one of the best experiences {forgetting the awful Connexion} during my travels.
But before I forget: in the lavish dining hall I met the fabuloso members of The Red Hat Society who had chosen Amrath for their luncheon. Remarkable encounter.Unforgettable!

Room Tip: ask for a canal view on the 4th floor
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,191
    569
    197
    84
    45
See reviews for
217
1166
158
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was simply excellent.....

We stayed for a weekend break and would deffiantely stay here again it was true 5* hotel.

The hotel mini bar is free and we took full advantage of this and was topped up daily, the room was spacious and as grand as the hotel its self.

The facilites on site were excellent it is an ideal choice for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A fantastic hotel, with lots of privacy, great four poster beds and friendly staff of all shapes and sizes (usually correlating to the task they are undertaking) prepared to welcome you and show you around, including the wine cellar.

The rooms are decorated to a very high standard, with fun electric curtains (albeit only one setting), useful four poster beds, durable dressing gown ties and a fantastic view from the bedroom over Madge's canal boat where you can catch a glimpse of local culture as you watch her and her family going about their lives.

The bathroom was of an equally high standard, and the quality of the bubbles provided were second to none.

In constructive criticism, the spa centre was fantastic, although there was often confusion over whos turn it was to use the jacuzzi (we found assertiveness helps), and the steam room is operated by a mysterious button that can only be found after several minutes of sitting in the cold.

Overall, a great stay. Would definitely go back, if only to re-try out the curtains.

Room Tip: The west wing is very private (except for the occasional inappropriate room service interruption) wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked a room for two for 4 nights. The room was on the second floor, windows facing the street. Yes, it was a bit noisy but hey, it's a big city. If you're choosy, I'd recommend a room on the higher floors or facing the canal.

The room was in great condition and the free minibar was great as well! The only minus was that the room was a bit cold but we asked the staff if they could do anything about it and they immediateely brought us an extra radiator. Problem solved! Also, there was a bit of a problem with the housekeeping (the room was not cleaned properly) but it was fixed straight away after we made a notification of it.

Overall, the experience was great and we'd recommend it to anybody who wants to add a bit of luxury to their Amsterdam trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Brilliant, stayed here for my 21st with my now wife. Hotel is amazing inside with all original features.

Staff very friendly I lost my iPhone charger and they charged it in their office for me whilst we went out.

Mini bar was stocked up every day and was free! :) dressing gowns etc.

Swimming pool/jacuzzi/sauna facilities top notch

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Impressive looking hotel but not the closest to all the sights. Large rooms with nice bathrooms. The pool and saunas were luxurious also there was a small gym. We took the deal with the free mini bar that was filled up daily

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Pros
Great look of the building (a bit like a castle)
Very comfortable bed and lining
Free minibar and swiming pool
Jacuzzi-like bath
5 min walk to the Central train station


Cons
Very noisy at the street view rooms
Very cold due to Huge (3meters) and very old windows
Small hall would not impress your girlfriend
Poor internet connection (2mbit/sec and needs to reconnect often)
Thin walls (easy to hear the toilette of your neighbors


Small details:
Nespresso coffee machine and teapot in the room
High ceilings (4meters)
Nice smells of shampoo and gels (by Rituals)
Soft water so the soap is hard to wash out

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.