We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch luxury in a superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dutch luxury in a superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I read dozens of Trip Advisor reviews about different hotels in Amsterdam before opting for the Grand Amrath, and I was very pleased with my final choice.
It's a beautiful, charming hotel and the rooms are incredibly comfortable, just what you crave after a busy day exploring the city.
The bed and pillows are so soft that it's hard to get up, and the free minibar was a wonderful luxury to go to bed with and wake up to! It's not in short supply either, with wine, vodka, gin, cognac, rum, beer and more on offer, freshly stocked every day.
We also liked the hotel spa, which was clean with three saunas in total. My partner treated me to a massage in the hotel for my birthday which was also fantastic.
If I returned to Ansterdam I'd definitely go back to this hotel. It's a five minute walk from Centraal Station and by using the Trip Advisor mobile app we walked everywhere from the hotel, only getting a tram once to the Van Gogh museum.
The staff were also very friendly and accommodating. My only minor criticism of the hotel would be that our electronic curtains opened on their own at least once a day / night - quite freaky at 3am! However, this is nothing compared to all the great things about this hotel so don't be put off.
If you go to Amsterdam stay here, it won't disappoint!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the fascinating old building, almost 100 years old. It was previously ‘The shipping house’: the main headquarters of various shipping companies in Amsterdam and luckily there was an investor who has retained charms of this treasure and turned it into a luxury hotel, preserving the beauty of antique interiors and exteriors.
If you enjoy modern hotels (which all look alike), then this is not the place for you!

The hotel is in an excellent location, a few hundred meters from the Central train station, but close to the city center so several sights can be reached on foot.
We booked a hotel through booking.com, where we had gotten 4 nights in Superior Deluxe room on a special discount. And as hotel management had found out that my husband and I are visiting Amsterdam on a special occasion, they gave us complimentary upgrade to a such room overlooking the canal and city, and that was a very nice surprise. Apart from the spacious bathroom with separate shower and a bath, there was really comfortable king-size bed. The room ceiling is quite high and dark curtains are electronically controlled.
We had complimentary Nespresso coffee machine and well stocked mini-bar, which were both replenished daily. A wireless Internet is free of charge and usually fast, but slower when it is used by a larger number of guests.
Buffet breakfast is really expensive, so if you usually don’t eat your breakfast early in the morning, than supplied Nespresso and a beverage (like orange juice), might be sufficient to start a new, beautiful day in Amsterdam.

There are always 1 or 2 concierges near entrance, who are extremely friendly and expeditious and will help you with all possible bookings and reservations.
The other staff is also kind and strives to be not intrusive, but takes care that one doesn’t miss anything.

Our recommendations!

Room Tip: Rooms with CIty view are very nice and probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank putnica12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Once again, the Grand Amrath was one of the top reasons our second stay in the lovely city of Amsterdam was such a wonderful experience. From the staff who was accommodating, professional with a personal touch to the spectacular room (by European standards), I cannot think of anywhere else I would like to be. We could have easily gone somewhere else for our trip but had such a fantastic and satisfying stay at the Amrath that we decided to go back and we are truly glad we did.

One really nice thing is the hotel staff enabled us to get the same room, after they upgraded us, that we had in our prior visit which I requested. Our next stay we may try another room but after our second stay I wouldn't care where they put us, this hotel is that good.

I recommend this hotel to anyone, you can't go wrong and other hotels would benefit greatly if they follow the Grand Amraths style.

Room Tip: Room 105 - GREAT view, free mini-bar, most comfortable I've ever slept on in a hotel. The locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Lovely hotel. Much bigger rooms and bathrooms than most European hotels. Located very close to train station and canal tours. Beautiful architecture and woodwork. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: the "city side" on the first floor was a little noisy on the weekend as it is on a busy st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Bedrooms are a great size, as are the bathrooms.
Beds are lovely and comfy, as are the pillows.
Superbly decorated throughout.

Gym and Spa are great.
The pool is a fantastic size, and there are three saunas. :)

The location is excellent, walking distance to city centre and Centraal station.

Great price on expedia.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnstphns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is wonderful in its every bit. It has a perfect location close to the center and the central station and behind it is a lovely neighbourhood. The hotel itself is a labyrinth and it is quite easy to get lost. The hotel rooms are inbeliavably spacious with great facilities, the bathroom has a separate shower and bathtub. The rooms are comfortably and elegantly furnished with huge comfortable beds. The hotel also offers a complimentary minibar, a capsule coffee maker and of course free internet. The only thing that is more fabulous is the service and the friendlyness of the stuff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallusdomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked four nights at this hotel in late Feb and paid about £100 per night. For a hotel in Amsterdam this was outstanding value for money! This is a genuine 5* hotel, with large, clean and comfortable rooms that have good facilities, large TV's, coffee machines etc. The hotel itself is a gorgeous art-deco building as you can see from some of the photos.
The location is great, a five minute walk from the railway startion, near to tram stops but close enough to walk to most tourist attractions. It is worth noting that to get to many of the tourist stops the quickest walk takes you across three streets of the red light district, however to be honest it was so amusing that it actually added to the experience!! The red light district is not particularly seedy or intimidating as you might think.
The staff all spoke great English and were always happy to help with our requests such as booking a table at a nearby restaurant or finding a vase for some tulips we have bought for our room! The leisure facilities are good with a pool, sauna etc and small cardio room that are all clean and tidy. Each room has a free mini bar, re-stocked every day which was great and good quality wi-fi. The only thing we didn't try was the restaurant as there were so many others nearby so we couldn't comment on that. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again should we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing