We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam 1011 AK, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Overall, a very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for four nights in July 2011. I stayed on the 1st floor in room 112. The room was very fancy and certainly worthy of 5* status. However, the bed was very soft.. it had a matress topper on it that made sleep uncomfortable. I still have a sore back a few weeks later. I never tried the swimming pool or other facilities, but overall the hotel looked fabulous. I'd recommend it at a cheap price. I paid £110 per night. Breakfast was not included. That was great value considering a basic 2* hotel can cost the same price (although much lower if booked way in advance of course). My usual 2* hotel costs me £80 per night, so overall I got a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,183
    564
    204
    77
    43
See reviews for
193
1061
145
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very good hotel, Great location and friendly staff. The room was clean and had a nice view, the free mini bar was an added bonus, we got a deal with breakfast included which was ideal for us. The price for it if you don't get a deal is extremely expensive. The breakfast had a nice selection, ideal if you wanted to fill up for a long day. The only slight problem was our electric curtains that had a mind of its own at certain times during the night! They would open and shut serveral times very late night early/early hours of morning! Overall a nice hotel which I would recommend if you can get a top deal!

Room Tip: Try looking on travelrepublic for included breakfast prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman,ok
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very nice! Love the tall windows and free mini bar. The toiletry items smell really good also. Another is the coffee maker is in the room wiith really good coffee. Really cool swim area! The negative: there are a lot closer hotels to the city center but it has many things near it. It is hard to remember where ur room is because the hotel is large. the maids drive you nuts knocking in the morning. A repair guy came at 10:00 in the morning to change a light bulb that was not requested by us and that was strange. But i would still stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland Isles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We went for a city trip to Amsterdam and booked the Amrath in advance. Some of the reviews on trip advisor were a bit iffy, but they couldn't be more wrong.The Hotel itself is wonderful; early deco style with stained glass, and has been very sympathetically transformed from an old shipping office. Our room was tremendous, the beds were very comfy, bathroom lovely and immaculate, television, excellent coffee maker, free bar, breakfast included, and great service, especially booking the museums. The weather wasn't good, and so having the spa was excellent.It was well maintained and was immaculate. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is becoming overpriced, I remember when it opened I paid only $220 per night for a regular room, now it's more than $350. The hotel itself is great, rooms are big and location is very good, close to the train station, historic red district, and the Dam. Their free minibar is well stocked and the spa is very nice and relaxing. Nieumarkt is close which is a great place to buy fresh cheeses and breads. If the price is right, you can not go wrong with this hotel. We spent nice 10 days there.

In addition to the usual travel info about Amsterdam you can find on any travel site, here are a couple of my favorite experiences: (1) "Oriental City" Chinese restaurant is not far and is great for dim sum. (2) Albert Cuyp market on Albert Cuyp street is awesome, there is a guy there who sells the the best "new" herring (late spring, early summer is the best time). (3) Flower market on Singel street is lovely to get some fresh flowers for your room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

It was amazing! The hotel is stunning! Super high ceilings, huge rooms, gorgeous decor. Amazing spa and pool! Concierge service is spectacular! We had an amazing time there and truly enjoyed our stay. Hotel located a few minutes walk across from the main train station, and super close walking distance to everything else. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

selected via BA holidays for our wedding anniversary - my first time to Amsterdam. husband had been several times. Lovely hotel, 5 mins walk from station and great location for central Amsterdam about 10 mins from Dam square and 30 mins walk from the museum district.

Lovely room, great service, minibar and wifi included in room price. Breakfast was great, takes some special to make us set an alarm for breakfast but we didn't miss a single one!

Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amrath
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam 1011 AK, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Escapio, HotelsNL, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.