We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean friendly and central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Nickel to your Saves list
Old Nickel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean friendly and central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

stayed for 3 nights and met all our expectations. The service was very friendly and professional. Good selection at the bar and clean tidy room. The only food available is breakfast but with a wide selection of resturants within seconds not an issue. This not our first or last visit..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    91
    63
    34
    33
See reviews for
14
41
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel is just across the road from central station, the twin room was small and basic but clean. We only needed somewhere to sleep and the location was perfect for walking around the centre of the red light district.

Room Tip: We had to walk up 3 flights of steep winding stairs to our room, not suitable for those who have dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I found this hotel was better than i was expecting. Rooms where clean, beds surprisingly comfy, adequate soap, shower and toileteries etc + TV. The location is spot on too.

The main problem with this hotel was the noise. We possibly got a room in a bad spot (Second floor at the front of hotel) but sleeping became very difficult. Other guests moving around to go the toilet or up and down the stairs (Passing our room) was very loud. On top of this, the noise from outside was even worse with the mixture of what I assume where delivery trucks to local businesses in the early hours, general traffic from the nearby road and numerous people walking past below made it difficult to get a few hours sleep, nevermind a much needed sobering lie in after a night of drinking.

The second main issue was the heating was barely never off and even turning the radiator down didn't stop us either suffering the uncomfortable heat, or opening a window to be met with even worse noise from outside.

I would stay at this hotel again but bring a quality pair of earplugs and a room towards the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very small but clean rooms and comfortable enough. Single glazed windows though, the bin men and road sweepers will wake you up. Smells of cigarette smoke in corridors. Shower was good. Breakfast not bad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stopped here on a lads holiday in november its location is excelent on the edge of the rld and litteraly a couple of minutes walk from central station , the staff were friendly and we had no problems with our stay , it was clean but basic with english tv in the room shower/toilet were clean our room could have benefitted from a paint but it was clean ,i wouldnt take the missus here for a romantic break but it is an ideal base for a lads holiday etc

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Nickel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.