We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Nickel to your Saves list
Old Nickel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds
1 review
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very small but clean rooms and comfortable enough. Single glazed windows though, the bin men and road sweepers will wake you up. Smells of cigarette smoke in corridors. Shower was good. Breakfast not bad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    80
    58
    32
    26
See reviews for
11
37
56
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stopped here on a lads holiday in november its location is excelent on the edge of the rld and litteraly a couple of minutes walk from central station , the staff were friendly and we had no problems with our stay , it was clean but basic with english tv in the room shower/toilet were clean our room could have benefitted from a paint but it was clean ,i wouldnt take the missus here for a romantic break but it is an ideal base for a lads holiday etc

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contoocook, NH, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Take it from a lifelong housewife, this was NOT a clean hotel! It looked like the bottom sheet of my single bed had been slept on and fortunately there were some clean sheets in the closet, so I changed them myself. The location was very good, but otherwise, I stayed out of my hotel room as much as possible. The stairs are extremely steep and difficult even with a small bag. The TV way up in the corner of the teensy room didn't work either. I would not recommend this hotel unless the alternative is sleeping on the floor of the train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My room was on a very high floor with NO heating and it was -3 (November)
I caught a cold and my trip was ruined.
I did report the lack of heating to the staff and was told the maintenance guy was not there that week.
The cleaners must not have been there also as was very dirty.
Carpet did not cover whole floor and ceiling had many cobwebs.
Only thing pleasant was the friendly cat in reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Is Central that is the only positive think.
The price is very expensive for what they offering Breakfast very basic
And the room was very run down and not clean is not an hotel and neather a bed and breakfast

Room Tip: Don't sleep number 5 is at the on the road impossible sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at the old nickel back in October with 3 friends. I am used to staying in luxury hotels in the UK and although the old Nickel is not luxurious it is excellent value for what we paid and I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who wants a cheap break/hotel in the centre Amsterdam.

We stayed in a bedroom for 4, with 4 single beds. The room itself was a decent size and clean along with clean(but old and warn) bedding and towels.

The staff were very welcoming and the bar/reception looked like that of a old English country pub!

The stairs up to the bedrooms where very steep and hard to climb when drunk! I would not recommended this hotel for anyone with difficulty climbing stairs as there was no lift!

The showers and toilets were shared but where very clean.

All in all a recommended hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, there was 4 floors and climbing to the second was a challenge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location, best value accommodation in the area. The staff were friendly and the bar was great at night. No thrills or luxuries but for a budget option, to lay your head down, it was ideal. Amsterdam is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Nickel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.