We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spot on for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Nickel to your Saves list
Old Nickel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“spot on for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stopped here on a lads holiday in november its location is excelent on the edge of the rld and litteraly a couple of minutes walk from central station , the staff were friendly and we had no problems with our stay , it was clean but basic with english tv in the room shower/toilet were clean our room could have benefitted from a paint but it was clean ,i wouldnt take the missus here for a romantic break but it is an ideal base for a lads holiday etc

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    93
    63
    35
    34
See reviews for
14
41
63
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contoocook, NH, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Take it from a lifelong housewife, this was NOT a clean hotel! It looked like the bottom sheet of my single bed had been slept on and fortunately there were some clean sheets in the closet, so I changed them myself. The location was very good, but otherwise, I stayed out of my hotel room as much as possible. The stairs are extremely steep and difficult even with a small bag. The TV way up in the corner of the teensy room didn't work either. I would not recommend this hotel unless the alternative is sleeping on the floor of the train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My room was on a very high floor with NO heating and it was -3 (November)
I caught a cold and my trip was ruined.
I did report the lack of heating to the staff and was told the maintenance guy was not there that week.
The cleaners must not have been there also as was very dirty.
Carpet did not cover whole floor and ceiling had many cobwebs.
Only thing pleasant was the friendly cat in reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Is Central that is the only positive think.
The price is very expensive for what they offering Breakfast very basic
And the room was very run down and not clean is not an hotel and neather a bed and breakfast

Room Tip: Don't sleep number 5 is at the on the road impossible sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at the old nickel back in October with 3 friends. I am used to staying in luxury hotels in the UK and although the old Nickel is not luxurious it is excellent value for what we paid and I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who wants a cheap break/hotel in the centre Amsterdam.

We stayed in a bedroom for 4, with 4 single beds. The room itself was a decent size and clean along with clean(but old and warn) bedding and towels.

The staff were very welcoming and the bar/reception looked like that of a old English country pub!

The stairs up to the bedrooms where very steep and hard to climb when drunk! I would not recommended this hotel for anyone with difficulty climbing stairs as there was no lift!

The showers and toilets were shared but where very clean.

All in all a recommended hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, there was 4 floors and climbing to the second was a challenge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location, best value accommodation in the area. The staff were friendly and the bar was great at night. No thrills or luxuries but for a budget option, to lay your head down, it was ideal. Amsterdam is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#274 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#247 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#130 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#176 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#213 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Nickel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.