We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Nickel to your Saves list
Old Nickel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    69
    56
    31
    25
See reviews for
11
34
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aintree, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The location was fantastic.

Now it goes downhill....

Carpets were filthy, the communal shower was dire (you'd be cleaner not washing), and the beds were like rock. The bar downstairs was a plus, but it was dingy and old fashioned. The staff were nice enough, smiley and cheery enough. I just wish they'd make more of an effort in cleaning the place, and less time chatting with locals behind the bar.

Room Tip: Great location, but don't expect any more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have just come back from a 1 night stay and, as a single, male traveller, it was OK but not for any longer.

It's location is the 1 plus point, being only 5 minutes from Centraal Station and within walking distance of Dam Square, Jordaan and the Red Light District. I was given room 6, on the 2nd floor and it had 4 beds in it but no-one else was sharing. The bed was comfortable enough, and the linen looked clean but the carpet and walls were dirty. The toilet was in the hall but I had a wash basin and the light above the basin was working. I did not try the TV, so cannot say if it was working, or not.

The stairs leading up to the rooms are very narrow and steep, as with many places in Amsterdam, so heavy bags or mobility issues would not be good in this place.

I skipped breakfast so, again, cannot comment.

Overall, not the worst place I have stayed but not worth 58 euros for the 1 night.

The staff were polite, if not overly friendly and they looked after my bag, as I could not check in, straight away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

TV broken, no warm water.
Shared toilet en shower with other rooms
Small bed.
Location is good
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is very central - really good if you're just off the train and have no idea where you're going.
There is a really nice pub downstairs, all the staff were very friendly. Toilets and showers are shared with other guests on the same floor but we hardly noticed anyone else using them, and as they were kept in great condition this wasn't really an issue.
There is also a very friendly cat which is very fond of people who dislike cats... which was pretty entertaining.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Nickel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.