We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rooms & Co B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rooms & Co B&B
Save
You added Rooms & Co B&B to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hemonystraat 1a, 1074BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scam...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Do not reserve any room in this B&B....because you won't get it!!!

First, the "supposed" room was not ready at the check-in time. After chilling the day to wait for the room to get ready and available, we were told that they were facing a computer issue and that our reservation was not done! So no room available for us. Lucky for us, it was only 6pm and not 10pm...

Then we were told that we had a room booked in another hotel where we wanted to make sure to have a private bathroom, which the host confirmed. Arriving at "our new hotel", only shared bathroom rooms were available!! Approximately at the same price than those with private bathroom in Rooms and Co. After discussing with the manager, I learned that the host pretended to be me and used my credit card number to book the room!!

The reason: Room's and Co did the same thing just the day before with other guests!! And a few other times before...Their process is simple: they rent their rooms as auction: the cheapest booked rooms are put again on the market at higher prices to people willing to pay high.

Just a friendly piece of advice: unless you want to take the chance not to have a room when you arrived, avoid this B&B...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    19
    15
    38
See reviews for
12
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First let me say this, once upon a time this was a lovely place, stayed many times years ago the women that owned it was lovely, she had 2 guys working with her from time to time and they were so helpful. That was then...

Jump forward to recently. It looked and smelled, the room was a total mess thin cheap towels that you could almost see through. The bathroom felt slimy, the sink spotted. The service almost non existent if you call it service. The manager/owner Danial was rude and non apologetic to the condition of the room. To top make things worse for us we both woke up the second night scratching like crazy... behold CRABS... I know we did not have them before we arrived!!!
The call it a 3 star hotel... Well needless to say we left and blocked payment... They wanted cash so glad I did not pay them. Don't pay cash

Someone should tell the Hotel or B&B association of the deplorable conditions of this hotel Does the department of Health have anything in the Netherlands about cleanliness or for that matter CRABS...
Not a happy ending to what was once a great place.

Room Tip: Although it is a quiet place I still warn you pay more someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived at Rooms and Co at 7.30 having informed the hotel(twice) by email that we would be arriving sometime after 7 only to find that there was no one there to let us in. Fortunately one of the other guests came out and managed to get hold of someone to let us in. We were shown to a room that was dirty, with towels that were black, a completely rusty soap holder, lights that were non functioning, a hairdryer that was held together by tape and a tv that didn't work. The whole building was in a very sorry state of repair and the pantry where, according to the website, one could make coffee was filthy and had no provisions. There was, of course, no one on duty, the brazilian couple who let us in having disappeared. We decided to book alternative accommodation for the next two nights and to speak to the manager in the morning to cancel the two following nights accommodation sy Rooms and Co. The following morning Daniel was only available by phone. He was verbally very aggressive and would not accept any of our complaints about the room and finally said I was being unreasonable and he wanted us to leave. I told him that I was happy to pay for the one nights stay we had but he did not give us the chance to do this. I was only too glad to leave and contacted easyto book.com to ask them only to pay for one of the nights accommodation. Charming though they were they did not help at all and Daniel immediately authorised easytobook.com to take all three nights payment from my account. Don't even think about staying here and don't imagine that the pictures on the web or the booking sites bear any resemblance to the reality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We decided to book this hotel because of the price and location (you have the tram stop 2 minutes away in walking distance). I was a little bit disappointed with the breakfast because there is a lack of variety. But for the price it is not so bad.
The room is comfortable, clean and warm, but avoid to choose upper floors because of the stairs. The best part of the room is the quality of the bed! it is really good.
In my opinion, the negative point is the reception does not work 24h (just from 8h to 5h). However, the staff is very friendly.

In general, i recommend rooms & co!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I wasn't expecting too much as I had read the hotel's description but what I found was a little less that expected. I was booked in for 2 nights. Don't stay here if you have trouble with stairs or you take a size shoe greater than 6(UK). Lots of narrow steep stairs, no lifts. Reception is in a cupboard at the bottom of some stairs. Rooms are all not covered by wifi, shower space is good but shower hoses are broken. I eventually moved to a "suite" about 8 blocks away from check in. No tea/coffee facility, no cups, no glasses in the bathroom. A clothes rack was all that was available. However, the room was clean and warm, the bed was comfortable and warm but read the sign on the back of the door before going out and leaving the radiators on! It looks like some houses have been converted but there is still some way to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When we arrived to our hotel, we were informed that it is overbooked and there are no rooms left.
The receptionist offered another hotel „in 10 minutes walk“ which appeared to be 20 minutes by bike and we even had to pay extra for breakfast.

I’ll never use easytbook.com again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,443 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#196 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#279 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#216 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#136 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#187 of 321 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms & Co B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms & Co B&B

Address: Hemonystraat 1a, 1074BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms & Co B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rooms & Co Bed And Breakfast
Rooms & Co Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooms & Co B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.