We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and smokey smokey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Cribs B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amsterdam Cribs B&B to your Saves list
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great location and smokey smokey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Cribs was definitely a memorable place to stay. You can't beat the location for the price. I booked through the website and got an immediate email confirmation. The email had clear directions from the Amsterdam train station and they were spot on (10-15 min walk). We arrived very early but we were still able to store our bags, get our room keys, and grab a quick lunch. By the time we finished lunch our room was ready.

There is no actual sign indicating the Cribs B & B, but it is right where they say it is in their emailed directions. Look for the White door on the left. As other people have noted, the stairs are very steep leading up to the rooms. Not for the physically impaired in any way. It was the perfect place to stay for a couple friends partying in Amsterdam. We stayed in the Purple Haze room and they had pipes and bongs aplenty for guest usage. There is a coffee shop right next door to the Cribs, but there are much better spots within easy walking distance including the Green House.

There was no mention of breakfast so I would refer to the Cribs as hotel or hostel. We stayed for two nights and they didn't make up our room either. We were two guys so it wasn't a big deal for us but worth noting. Also, the hotel is right on a main street so it does get a little noisy. It's a no frills, cheap place perfect for a couple days of debauchery.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed in the Cribs around 5 times now. Everytime i have had a good experience, i can honestly say that the team they have there i.e Eric/Duke and the rest really go out there way to make your stay enjoyable. I was last at the Cribs in October stayed in the power plant. You will be near to the night life,but it wont disturbed you, to be honest by the time i got in in of a night there could have be an open air rave outside of the window but i wouldnt of heard it! (damn the weed is good) planning my trip for early next year and of course the Cribs is the only place i will be staying and all that have been with me and stayed in the Cribs say the same.

Room Tip: Save some money on food by stocking up at the Albert Heijn supermarket. Some of the local shops pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a lovely little bnb/hostel. It really is a smokers paradise. This is why we booked in the first place as many places in amsterdam don't allow smoking in the rooms but here they accommodate for you. In the rooms they have lots of bongs, grinders etc got you to use. They have a playstation and a few games and dvds. A mini fridge (our room slept 2,bigger rooms have access to a kitchen I think). The rooms are basic though and you get what you pay for. Not the cleanest of places but again still amazing value for money. The steps are extremely steep so not good for people who can't get up stairs very well, but we're young and fit so didn't bother us haha. Great location, Eric greeted us and gave us lots of information and was very friendly. Love amsterdam and amsterdam Cribs is definitely the only place to stay!! We will definitely be coming back again soon..

If your a smoker go to Coffeeshop free world, cheap and the best quality!! We have tried most places and this is our favourite.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I went back to cribs with a bigger group, as I had suggested previously. We actually got a different apartment (crib sativa) but it was great. Entrance right on Warmoesstraat is a great location. Near trains, trams, food, bars, shops, damrak, everything. Place comfortably slept 5. Made great use of the kitchen for breakfast and lunch, awesome location makes stopping back by "home" easy. Great price and helpful at check in. Recommended Bird Thai, which was one of the best meals I've had in the dam. Loved the place. Thank you.

Room Tip: get the room on the top level with the balcony, bathroom, and skylights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here back in March 2012 and it was fantastic! What an experience! The location is a big part of what makes it so awesome. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to Dam Square, the Red Light District, and many other exciting attractions. It's like having your own personal apartment in the heart of Amsterdam, where you can smoke all you want without anybody saying a thing! Speaking of which (should you choose to partake), there's plenty of smoking paraphernalia to be found in the room (and did I mention the convenient coffeeshop next door?) The staff are also fantastic, especially the American owner Eric. He was very friendly, very helpful, and answered all of our questions. He is an excellent host! The artwork in the building is also a plus and really adds to the atmosphere.

Some helpful tips if you do decide to stay here: bring everything you think you'll need. That includes soap, shampoo, toilet paper, etc. They have supplies on hand if you need them or forget something, but I recommend bringing your own just for convenience. Also, if you have trouble with climbing stairs, this place is not for you. The stairs are winding and slightly challenging at times, but nonetheless part of the experience! I actually found them fun after a few days. Just be careful after smoking... ;)

Anyway long story short, I can't recommend this hostel enough! I will never forget this place and how much fun we had there! If you want to experience Amsterdam the right way, this is the place to do so. I hope we are able to go back to Amsterdam and stay here again for round two!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Above and beyond anything you would expect. Best place that I've stayed in Europe while studying abroad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just got back after going on 20-23th april. Couldnt of asked for a better place to stay, the location was great, the apartment was brilliant plus smoke friendly ... The staff at cribs were great with helping us find our apartment, and had a talk through places to go ect. wen we arrived.
Will definatley book with them again !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Cribs B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Cribs B&B

Address: Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Cribs B&B is a smoker's friendly place, geared towards people looking to explore the city at a laid back pace. It's a great alternative to a typical budget hotel or a crowded hostel dorm. All our rooms are private and equipped with cable TV/DVD and a shower/toilet. We are located in the heart of Amsterdam, just five minutes walk from the Dam Square, Royal Palace, and the Red Light District. Note: The Cribs has a narrow and winding stairway, which may not be suitable for the elderly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amsterdam Cribs B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Cribs Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Cribs B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.