We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Cribs B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amsterdam Cribs B&B to your Saves list
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I love this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here back in March 2012 and it was fantastic! What an experience! The location is a big part of what makes it so awesome. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to Dam Square, the Red Light District, and many other exciting attractions. It's like having your own personal apartment in the heart of Amsterdam, where you can smoke all you want without anybody saying a thing! Speaking of which (should you choose to partake), there's plenty of smoking paraphernalia to be found in the room (and did I mention the convenient coffeeshop next door?) The staff are also fantastic, especially the American owner Eric. He was very friendly, very helpful, and answered all of our questions. He is an excellent host! The artwork in the building is also a plus and really adds to the atmosphere.

Some helpful tips if you do decide to stay here: bring everything you think you'll need. That includes soap, shampoo, toilet paper, etc. They have supplies on hand if you need them or forget something, but I recommend bringing your own just for convenience. Also, if you have trouble with climbing stairs, this place is not for you. The stairs are winding and slightly challenging at times, but nonetheless part of the experience! I actually found them fun after a few days. Just be careful after smoking... ;)

Anyway long story short, I can't recommend this hostel enough! I will never forget this place and how much fun we had there! If you want to experience Amsterdam the right way, this is the place to do so. I hope we are able to go back to Amsterdam and stay here again for round two!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Above and beyond anything you would expect. Best place that I've stayed in Europe while studying abroad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just got back after going on 20-23th april. Couldnt of asked for a better place to stay, the location was great, the apartment was brilliant plus smoke friendly ... The staff at cribs were great with helping us find our apartment, and had a talk through places to go ect. wen we arrived.
Will definatley book with them again !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved staying at the Amsterdam Cribs. Situated above Pick Up The Pieces coffee shop, this cozy B&B had everything a young traveler would need. Our room was clean and comfortable. The friendly live in staff provided us with extra comforters, pillows, and towels. Our room came equipped with a mini fridge, coffee maker, TV, and a private bathroom. The main focal point in our quaint room, had to be the two large windows that extended the length of one wall. At night, we would lie in bed and watch the hustle and bustle of the city into the late night hours.
Most importantly, we always felt safe. In order to get to our room, you had to go through three locked doors. And, Amsterdam Cribs is in a touristy neighborhood. The streets were crowded day and night. Restaurants, shops, museums, and public transportation surrounded us. The convenient location of this B&B was spectacular. We are very excited to check back in soon. We hope to have the same room-the White Widow.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Me and my friend have literally just got back from staying here. were both in our early 20's & female. The room looked nothing like the pictures i saw before booking. i expected alot more consideing the price we paid however its situated in the perfect area. Its literally just off the red light district but far enough away that you dont get all the noise. Its above a coffee shop, but the smoke isnt great. go to Goa's if you want good stuff. the guy who greeted us was a great help. he circled areas to go see in amsterdam and told us about where to watch out for. generally very pleased with our stay, although the 2 owners kept knocking our door and even let themselves in once. i didnt find this appropriate. i wouldnt recommend this hotel to elderly/disabled. the steps are horrible and i found myself crawling up them after nights out :p however the guy did take our cases up for us. overall i would reccommend this place if your young, and want somewhere close to the center :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Me and my friends stayed at Amsterdam Cribs in the Power Plant room from the 23rd of January till the 25th and we had a great experience. The gentleman that greeted us on arrival was so down to earth and laid back he showed us to our room and as soon as we walked in we knew we would enjoy it. He also showed us great places to go have a smoke or eat etc etc. The room was so cosy and had TV, PS2, DVDs, Kitchen, fridge and all smoking utensils. The beds was comfy and the bedroom had no outside noise from the streets. The location of the place is very good as your 2 mins walk from the red light district and most of the shops. I cant think of one bad thing about this place and would defiantly recommend it to everyone as the price is a bargain for what you get in this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Myself and three friends stayed with Amsterdam Cribs over New Year 2011/2012 and had a fantastic time. The spacious apartment was in an unrivaled location, the facilities were plentiful and every room was spotless when we arrived. We really appreciated being able to smoke in the apartment as so many hostels/hotels do not allow this. Duke and Jon kindly went out of their way to help us when booking and when we arrived which was greatly appreciated. I cannot recommend this company enough! Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Cribs B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Cribs B&B

Address: Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Cribs B&B is a smoker's friendly place, geared towards people looking to explore the city at a laid back pace. It's a great alternative to a typical budget hotel or a crowded hostel dorm. All our rooms are private and equipped with cable TV/DVD and a shower/toilet. We are located in the heart of Amsterdam, just five minutes walk from the Dam Square, Royal Palace, and the Red Light District. Note: The Cribs has a narrow and winding stairway, which may not be suitable for the elderly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amsterdam Cribs B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Cribs Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Cribs B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.