We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Cribs B&B

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Cribs B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Great apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Myself and three friends stayed with Amsterdam Cribs over New Year 2011/2012 and had a fantastic time. The spacious apartment was in an unrivaled location, the facilities were plentiful and every room was spotless when we arrived. We really appreciated being able to smoke in the apartment as so many hostels/hotels do not allow this. Duke and Jon kindly went out of their way to help us when booking and when we arrived which was greatly appreciated. I cannot recommend this company enough! Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed in the Purple Haze room. Great place to stay if you want some place where you can smoke in the room. The room has a nice selection of bongs, pipes and grinders to use as well as a PS2. There's a mini fridge and a private bathroom w/ shower. Lighting is great and you have a view of the street below. The street can get pretty busy during the day but is surprisingly quiet at night. The location is close to some great coffeeshops and shopping. The stairs are some of the craziest I've experienced in Amsterdam but if I can make it up and down them while obliterated on a Hill St Blues Banana space cake(thanks for the suggestion Eric!) they can't be that bad. The only suggestion I have is a couple bean bags for the room. That would make it perfect! My #1 place to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I shared a place with a buddy of mine on the top floor on the NIEUWMARKT. Perfect location, clean, tidy place with enough room and just a cool place to hang out. The guy that was our 'landlord' was cool and helpful (when we were trying to figure out how to get the playstation working).

One thing, like most places in Amsterdam, the stairs are steep.. so be prepared for that.. but it's no biggie.

You can smoke here.. which is ideal because many hotels dont allow you to. You are right in the city centre and anywhere you want to go is a nice stroll.

Being an apartment, you have a kitchen area, lounge, decent bathroom and attic beds.. be a little careful, as the roof is low up here.

Absolutely I would stay there again, and definitely recommend it to other AMS travelers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed at crib/n1, an apartment on the first floor with 3 other friends, were all in our early twenties. Apartment is in an excellent location, down a relatively quiet side street but within a 5min walk to dam sq/damrak/red light district etc, next door to an Irish bar and beside restaurants/food shops/coffee shops. It was just what we needed, fully equipped little kitchen, large living room with ps2/dvds etc. plus we were allowed to smoke as we pleased, which is prohibited in hotels. Although its a standard apartment, it was clean and tidy, the heating was always on and we could come and go as we needed to so it really felt like home. Some may struggle with the steep/narrow stairs but we found that all stairs in Amsterdam were like this so you soon get used to them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011 via mobile

4 of us in our early 20's stayed in the "Powerplant" room for 4 nights. On booking the staff were very friendly, reassuring and clear and replied to emails very fast. They ask that you phone them when you get to Amsterdam airport so they can prepare for your arrival (whatever time - no waiting to check in).

When we arrived we were greeted and told some good places to go, we had 2 "That 70's Show" box sets, as well as a TV, PS2 and a selection of DVD's and games. There was also a big collection of toiletries (and food - which we didn't touch), that had been left by previous guests (deodorant, toothpaste etc.).

Beds were ok - all in all for the price (which is not much more than a hostel), having your own apartment especially one like this was totally worth it. I will never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam! Great location as well!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

first , thanks for everyone who spend time writing reviews right here , after reading the tripadvisor reviews we decided to stay in this wonderful place for relaxing after a sore trip in germany , we booked only for night , we check in so early , the stuff was polite and helpful , our room was very clean included a TV and a satellete machine and a DVD , we enjoyed watching a french Film even we dont speak french , it was a confortable area , they showed us a very nice restaurant where we ate delecious chinese food :) .

Room Tip: -they have TV -they have DVD
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights in March 2011. before booking this place a read a alot of reviews abt it being a smokers paradise. however my husband and i do not smoke and we stayed here and had a wonderful experience. were not disturbed by any smoke smell etc. we fitted in really well. Eric the owner was wonderful and helpful to the max. he gave us directions on maps and even showed us places to visit on his laptop. we were staying in a room at the 2nd level. the only scary thing is the steps to get up as we had huge and many luggages to carry up. the stairs is the old winding sort. however after awhile we got used to it. the location is central to everywhere. right smack in the middle of the red light district but not seedy at the same time. many shops and eateries when we go down so totally spoiled for choices. Eric stocked up the fridge with bread and meat so we can help ourself. his laptop was also on the table for us to use anytime and we had a tv in the room and Eric had many dvds which we could borrow. Our room was wonderful as i could not slep coz of the time differnce in amsterdam and singapore where we are from, so i used to sit uo by the window and look down as there was a eatery and shops where people kept walking y at all time of the day. walkable to the dam square abt 5 mins walk. the toilet had full toiletries and towels provided which was wonderful. not many b&bs have this service. wonderful wonderful place and will be sure to return again but not with the kids coz of the stairs. only if both of us we will defnitely stay here again. defnitely a place to stay for sumone who wants to be in the middle of everything. thanks eric

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Cribs B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Cribs B&B

Address: Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Cribs B&B is a smoker's friendly place, geared towards people looking to explore the city at a laid back pace. It's a great alternative to a typical budget hotel or a crowded hostel dorm. All our rooms are private and equipped with cable TV/DVD and a shower/toilet. We are located in the heart of Amsterdam, just five minutes walk from the Dam Square, Royal Palace, and the Red Light District. Note: The Cribs has a narrow and winding stairway, which may not be suitable for the elderly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amsterdam Cribs B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Cribs Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Cribs B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.