We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City Garden Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Spartan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hotel City Garden is located on Amsterdam's chicest shopping street, flanked by the beautiful Vondelpark. Unfortunately, that's where the glamour ends. The hotel rooms are tiny - you actually feel like you're in a cabin on a boat. The bathrooms are also tiny. It's fine if you want to plonk down your luggage and make a hasty exit. Don't count on 'enjoying' your stay in the hotel, but its a well-located option to explore the city. During summer, it can cost about 110 Euro per night which it certainly does not merit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    138
    108
    57
    69
See reviews for
78
126
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed in this hotel only for 2 nights. The position is perfect, just outside the city centre. In 2 min you can reach the centre, where the famous "I amsterdam" sign is!
Really silent at night!
Clean, comfortable bed, good breakfast. And the check-out is until 11!! :)

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

we spend the worst nights from our European trip. First we taught that they were water bed, but in reality their mattresses are so old that it feel like a bad quality waterbed... And for the first time in my adult life, I felt out of the bed! For the front desk, if you are willing to speak to a jail keeper, that's more or less what do you need to expect.
Location of the hotel and view from the garden side room is nice, but at what price..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Fabulous location next to the beautiful park and in walking distance of the majority of the central attractions. Room clean, fresh towels everyday and a brilliant shower.
We happened to stay in a heat wave so it was very hot at night but the fan helped. Some noise from late night cyclists on the street but nothing terrible. And as the other reviews we read before coming said-it is true, the bathroom is the size of a cupboard with no leg room when on the toilet.
But none of the slight downsides are particularly note worthy as it was the perfect spot to stay safely whilst visiting the city.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindymdale
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a wonderful small hotel! A stone's throw from Vondel Park, the location is excellent. We had a quad room in the back overlooking the garden. We had our windows wide open and could hear birds in the morning. The room itself was a bit cramped, but we didn't mind. Only real negative was the toilet which one had to sit on side-saddle style as there was no leg room. WiFi was fine and the breakfast spread satisfying. It's very close to Van Gogh museum and not far from the others. There are a number of restaurants nearby, including a Tapas place two blocks away that we enjoyed. The hotel arranged for airport pickup for us - 40 Euros for 4 - and we were picked up right at the hotel and whizzed to the airport in about 30 minutes. Of course, once we got there my husband realized he'd left several items of clothing in the closet. We sent an email when we got home and the hotel is mailing them to us. Highly recommend. I'll stay here again next time I'm in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I was on business trip last week in may 2014. the hotel is located very good, most of the ways either to the RAI either to the city centre can be reached by foot.
the hotel itself is nice, cosy and clean. equipped with standard furniture and a very soft mattrass you'll enjoy your stay. Internet connection works quiet constantly and fast - no problems with connecting to the company's server. Breakfast was OK - staff was always friendly and warm.
200m footwalk away public transport will bring you to every destination in the city. All in all, good price performance ratio.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

After reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor and elsewhere, I was a bit apprehensive about staying here, however after staying here for a long weekend, I was quite pleased with the place and would stay again.

Our room and bathroom (room 62 on ground floor) were nice, I didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that. The only oddness was that the alarm in our room had been set to 7am on Sunday morning (our second night, no problems the first night), although this May have been caused by a previous guest.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City Garden Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.