We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel City Garden Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I won't bore you with a long review. The few things that I would of changed:
Bigger or better tv
A frame around the bed (it slopes as it's 3 mattresses)
Lock on the bathroom door

Now those are things I'm really just picking at as the bed was super comfy and soft. The tv shows were hilarious and the bathroom is a tad small so you will most likely leave the door open anyway.

I do recommend this place. Enjoy your stay in an amazing city

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    99
    83
    40
    55
See reviews for
59
95
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed the one night for business. Small friendly hotel in a very good location. Rooms rather small but clean. Elevator slow!!! Breakfast was reasonable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

stayed in the city garden last week for 3 nights. the hotel is not your typical amsterdam, small steep staircase mountain climbing type so is easy on the knees. They were in the process of redecorating the reception area but this did not detract from the stay. the double room was very nice and clean overlooking the gardens and park and the breakfast was ok. the main selling point was the superb location for museums and shopping. it was a good walk to the centre of town but a number 2 or 5 tram was a few hundred yards away. the reception staff very helpful and i would certainly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in a room for four. Two adults and two teenagers. Although not big for four we were only using to sleep and found it really good value. Very clean, beds made and clean towels everyday and an 'all you can eat' breakfast buffet with a great selection of food and drinks. Although a bit out of the centre We could walk to all the places we wanted to go to and the staff were really helpful booking our taxi to the airport etc. if you want a great value for money hotel in Amsterdam you couldn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was my 4th time in Amsterdam. I was a little worried about the hotel after reading some of the reviews. I was really proved wrong! The location is fabulous! The high end shops provided wishful thinking entertainment, and the museums practically next door was great. The staff @ the hotel were very friendly and helpful about getting around and good places to eat. Breakfast was good, good choices all round. My room a small double was clean, bed comfy, on ground floor facing garden in the back. Very quiet and peaceful. I would definitely return to this hotel, for a weekend getaway it was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a lovely 3 night stay. Firstly the directions on the website were not clear. We were walking around streets for a good half an hour or so until we just walked down a road full of designer shops and we crossed over the road towards the park and there it was. It was quick and easy checking in. We got there about 10am and our room was ready. A lovely lady at reception was very helpful and lovely. We had a double room. The room was small with a double bed a wardrobe, tea & coffee, a kettle, a safe and we were facing the park. The bathroom was so clean! It had a hair dryer, towels, soap and shampoo. It was just cold when you stepped out of the shower. We didn't mind about the size of the room cause we were there only to sleep and shower really so it was ideal. It was in a good location. Lots to see and do. We walked everywhere. We only got a tram to the hotel. For the rest of the days we had our trusted map and walked everywhere. We were only room only. We found a nice Irish pub by the hardrock cafe where we had breakfast as well as a sports cafe further into the town. Overall the hotel was lovely. The staff was lovely. Except one of the days where we had put a do not disturb sign on the door cause we wanted a nice lie in after all the walking we did the cleaners kept knocking on our door to change the towels and by 12pm they were sat upside our door so we felt rushed to get out. But other than that we had a lovely experience and would come here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Nice little hotel in a quiet part of a high fashion street. Included breakfast was wonderful and comprehensive. Staff friendly and professional - very welcome to 2 tired people just off a 28h flight! Bed comfortable but has strange toppers that tend to move independantly of the bed - fine when lying on it (and very comfortable) but interesting when getting on or off. Everything was very clean. A small fridge would have been appreciated, but being winter we made do with the windowsill for keeping our drinks cold :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City Garden Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.