We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location bur this this is no a 3 stars hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel City Garden Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.C. Hooftstraat 162, Amsterdam 1071 CH, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location bur this this is no a 3 stars hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked hotels from easy book before and I was always satisfied. However, I was not very impressed by the quality of this hotel in particular.

Last time I booked one room (for almost the same price) in another hotel in Amsterdam and I have to say that the relation quality/price of the hotel City Garden is very poor. During our stay the elevators and the TV were not working and it was impossible to get hot water in the bathroom. The breakfast was barely eatable!. I will not recommend this hotel at the price I paid, especially if going with family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    113
    96
    48
    58
See reviews for
55
93
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in January whilst the snow was quite bad in amsterdam and it was very cold outside. First and foremost, the heating worked and was very good! We payed around £15 p/n for bed and breakfast. The rooms were very basic but were clean and warm with tv and tea/coffee etc so for the price, was acceptable to me. The staff were friendly and able to help with queries. Breakfast was basic but again adequate. The hotel is a few minutes walk to the tram stop which is a short journey to central Amsterdam and about 10 mins to centraal station. Overall if your looking for a cheap, basic hotel quite close to central Amsterdam, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A comfortable hotel in a great location. The breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice and plenty of it.

The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely outlook and the bathroom was clean and functional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel City Garden at the end of September for the start of our honeymoon. We decided we didn't want to spend all of our money on a grand hotel that we were not going to spend any time in. So we decided to stay here as it was cheap and cheerful and we only needed somewhere to get our heads down as we spent all day out enjoying all Amsterdam has to offer. This hotel was perfect. It was so easy to get to from the Airport and we got the 197 bus that dropped us round the corner. The location is excellent with an entrance to Vondel Park at the top of the street. The hotel is on a quiet side street so there was no noise at night and we slept well on all the nights we were there. When we arrived a very friendly lady greeted us and let us leave our bags in a large locked baggage cupboard until we could check in later. We travel a lot and are used to this service so are used to leaving our bulky baggage in shared rooms and made sure there were no valuables in our left bags. We also left our bags in there on the day we left as our flight was not til later in the day and meant we could go out and do whatever we wanted on our last day without carrying heavy bags. The room was very small but that was expected due to the low price and there were better and probably bigger rooms available at a higher price. The room had everything we needed, namely a comfortable bed and a clean working en-suite. We did not have breakfast included as we like to get up and get out of hotels. We usually headed straight into the madness but there are several coffee shops and cafes round the corner from the hotel too. Plus Museumplein and Leidseplein are a short walk away to start your day if you don't want to venture too far and Leidseplein is a lovely walk across Vondel Park. Joyous. We loved being out of the hustle and bustle of the centre and the coffee shops and restaurants we found in this end of town were much more laid back and cheaper. Such a great stay and we would definitely stay again but our memories are not of the hotel but of the things we did there. So if you need somewhere in the Vondel Park area that is cheap and clean then I can not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

After staying with my partner earlyer in the year I have re visited with a friend! Both times I have found it to be clean and tidy with very helpful staff! The location is great only 5to10 minutes walk from Leisenplein through vondel park! And only round the corner from the tram stop to get back into town or central station. We could leave luggage both before checkin and after check out which was good! The beds were very comfortable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 162, Amsterdam 1071 CH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City Garden Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.