We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service, Rude Staff.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inner Amsterdam to your Saves list
Inner Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, Rude Staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had a booking from this hotel for a double room from several months back, but was sent to a different hotel (Trianon) as Inner was overbooked due to maintenance (???).

Trianon had maintenance going on as well, and in fact had a builder on the balcony in front of our room, hammering away.

Inner Hotel were not helpful at all with sorting this out, and were outright rude when I stressed that I wanted a double room (and suggested "just push the beds together").

DO NOT BOOK WITH THESE PEOPLE.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    115
    144
    90
    155
See reviews for
35
85
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Room booked a month in advanced directly with the Hotel. By mail I asked for a twin or double room and underlined that I didn't want a bunk bed room. They confirmed by e-mail - (sure no problem!!!)
When we arrived, the girl at the reception gave us a bunk bed room!!! WHAT?? I had the e-mail to prove I asked not to be put in a bunk bad, but the manager was so rude and didn't even make me a discount or a refund. INCREDIBLE!!! Like they did it on purpose!!!
In the room (310) the window was broken and the hair dryer too. I had to sleep with my hair wet and it was cold, plus the shower didn't drain well and in no time it was water all over the floor! We mentioned that to the reception and they replied..."all rooms are like that!"...Not an excuse, an apology....Terrible!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

on arrival the welcome was nice however quite tricky to find. access to wifi in the lobby but not in the rooms! a double room with a bathroom was two singles pushed together which was uncomfortable.. although nice airy room with a window! our friends weren't so lucky with a twin room with a just about "sky light" with a cheap fan that was useless when it became warm. was noisy but as we was young it didnt bother us as we were maybe 4 of many that strolled in past midnight! overall Amsterdam was good but i wouldnt recommend this "hotel"! p.s didnt have any problem with bed bugs like others!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days and found bed bugs on the last night, now have to deal with the possibility that I brought them home. Even if there weren't bed bugs the room was not clean. There were hairs all over the bathroom walls and in the shower, a hole in the bathroom door, and mud on the walls. The room was tiny with no place to put the suitcases out of the way and no space to unpack so we were constantly tripping over them. The hotel was also extremely noisy as the walls were incredibly thin, we could hear everytime the neighbouring rooms used the bathroom and there was a constant stream of drunk/high people coming in and out of the hotel shouting though out the night.

I've stayed in some very nice hostels for a fraction of the price and some not so nice hostels that were still a hell of a lot nicer than this place. The only redeeming factor was the location but overall it was a horrible place to stay and was completely over priced.

There are nicer places to stay for a similar price that are closer to the center of amsterdam and won't be infested with bed bugs.

Room Tip: if you must stay here then request a room on a higher floor and not near the stairs or you will neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I were traveling on somewhat of a budget. but decided to pay a little extra for a private room with bathroom. Got to the hostel to realize there was no A/C and VERY hot and stuffy on the 4th floor. Couldn't wait to leave. No wifi access in rooms, only in the lobby. There is a noise curfew of 10pm because the location is in between residential houses. Not a very good location unless you are looking to be near the museums and fashion district. Quite a walk to Leidesplein and other bar areas. Pretty basic hostel, but I will not be going back to Inner Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Very hot on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hostel seemed quite nice at first. Our room (twin room, ensuite) was reasonable and we didn't expect anything more, since the price was so low. The location was ok, if you're ready to walk a bit. BUT....we had bed bugs in our room!!! Disgusting. Unfortunately we brought them home with us and have a horrible problem now. If you stay here, do check your beds properly before sleeping on them or putting any of your luggage on them!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

After reading some of the previous reviews I was a bit worried about this hostel but on arrival found the rooms to be clean with fresh sheets and towels provided and comfortable beds.The room was pretty basic and small but that was expected for a cheap hostel. It was in a great location in walking distance of a lot of places of interest and was also close to places to get buses and trams. The bathroom was clean and we received fresh towels when needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inner Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Amsterdam

Address: Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Inner Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inner Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.