We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Inner Amsterdam to your Saves list
Inner Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bed bugs!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hostel seemed quite nice at first. Our room (twin room, ensuite) was reasonable and we didn't expect anything more, since the price was so low. The location was ok, if you're ready to walk a bit. BUT....we had bed bugs in our room!!! Disgusting. Unfortunately we brought them home with us and have a horrible problem now. If you stay here, do check your beds properly before sleeping on them or putting any of your luggage on them!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    94
    131
    83
    143
See reviews for
32
77
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

After reading some of the previous reviews I was a bit worried about this hostel but on arrival found the rooms to be clean with fresh sheets and towels provided and comfortable beds.The room was pretty basic and small but that was expected for a cheap hostel. It was in a great location in walking distance of a lot of places of interest and was also close to places to get buses and trams. The bathroom was clean and we received fresh towels when needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The best thing about this hostel was its location. Nice street and pretty close to the centre of Amsterdam. The facilities in this hostel were however pretty limited. No kitchen or laundry room and the wifi connection was pretty dodgy too. The room was really small and cramped, some of the bunk beds were broken with the top beds missing the bedrail! Bedroom had a bit of dust under the bed but the bathroom was actually pretty clean. Had an incident with people smoking in our room. Staff at reception did confront them but only gave them a warning (despite the strict no smoking policy!), and said they would only evict these guests if they smoked again. It's liveable but we might've found better accommadation elsewhere in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banda aceh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

As i never came to dormitory hotel, i was surprised, but it was ok. We were 5 persons and looking for budget hotel in amsterdam. Then we choosed inner hotel. It was 8 persons in 1 room and had 1 shower room+closet+washtafel for sharing.
We got new friends from australia and sweden. The room was average and the hotel cleaned everyday but they didnt sweep under our bed. It was dirty and lot dushes.
We must take care about our luggages/stuffs. Just bring your money and something that valuable for you. The hotel has a lift for upstair. The restaurant is in the first floor, 1 euro for hot water or coffe. We can bring our food from outside and use the restaurant equipments for having food because we can not bring it to our room(prohibited by hotel).
The receptionist was ok and the friendly chinese man helped us to prepare taxi to airport.
For location, this hotel is near to van gogh museum, rijks museum with park and 1 of famous "i amsterdam" in front of it. Walking or bicycling is the best for this city right?
For the tram, turn left from the hotel and turn left again, there it is.
Take tram no 5 from amsterdam central and after rijks museum station you get off from the tram. Just 3-5minutes walking to hotel.
Dont think too much for holiday, just go and ENJOY...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

How would I rate this hostel, well, I’ll put it this way if it were possible to put 0 or minus’ for some of the ratings I would have!
The cleanliness was a huge worry of mine when we went as I trusted others to choose the accommodation. The accommodation was booked before I read the reviews, where we found out that in the past many many people found the Inner Amsterdam to be unclean and have BED BUGS!!! That’s right, bed bugs. I do not expect much from accommodation of any kind and do not normally stay in 5* accommodation. All I expect is clean accommodation with a bed and access to a clean bathroom. This is far from what we got at this hostel as the basin being dirty was completely overshadowed by discovering we were sharing this room with BED BUGS. My friend had been bitten, and we found a bed bug under one of the beds, when we told the woman on reception she genuinely could not have given less of a ****.
The customer service was very lacking, we were told when we arrived that we would get discounts at local attractions and places to see. We thought this was marvelous as we couldn’t afford high end entertainment. It turns out the ‘discounts’ they were talking about were 4 attractions, and offered the same reduced rate that most other tourist attractions, café’s and tour and ticket offices did. Hardly a discount for staying with them, anybody can get these. It was a nice surprise to find that out beds had been stripped with new bedding provided folded on the mattress, which is until we noticed that mine had not. I did not expect the beds to get made for us however when in 3 out of 4 beds gets new bedding you end up a bit disappointed. Not only did this disappoint us, but the general lack interest in the fact that our stay had been completely overshadowed by the bed bug situation was worrying, (to which we still didn’t get an apology or any sort of sympathy at all) I could only she assume she didn’t care because we were one of a large amount of complaints she had to deal with.
The best thing about the hostel was the location, it is very close to the center of Amsterdam, a couple of minutes if you get an all-day tram pass (about £7) it saved us tones of time getting from one place to another and this was a huge benefit.
The room itself was very good, we had room 110 (originally for 6) so the four of us found it perfectly suitable. It was well furnished with a TV, and desk, surprised that there wasn’t a wardrobe to be honest but for the price we paid I suppose you can’t really expect too much. The value of the hostel is cheap, but then again it’d sort of have to be. Don’t get me wrong the bathroom was a great size, and we were pleased to have a private one available, we just wished the basin and other parts of the room were clean.
Would I stay here again? NO!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Good location, quiet and clean street, teribble room (8.5 square meters !!!) terrible confort (no remote for TV, no frige, no air conditioned, no nothing, window opening facing an ...wall, bad smelling everywhere...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at Inner Amesterdam for a night with a friend since the place we were staying was fully booked for that day.
The location is ok, but very far from the center, so you'd have to take the tram a lot. But it's close to the Museumplein and the Vondelpark. There's a supermarket close by.
The room was good, but there were few power outlets for 8 people. The bathroom though was not compatible with the quality of the room: it would get wet all the time, even though there was a glass door separating the shower.
The thing that really bothered me was that the receptionist entered our room twice during the night! He appeared to be looking for someone but I think that shows lack of organization. Besides, the first time he forgot the lights on!
All and all it's an ok place. We didn't try the breakfast so I can help with that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inner Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Amsterdam

Address: Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inner Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inner Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.