We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stealing going on in Hotel inner, Amsterdam” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Inner Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inner Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Gdynia, Poland
1 review
“Stealing going on in Hotel inner, Amsterdam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having scheduled flight at 10.00 a.m., we woke up in the morning at 06.30 just to discover a thief had come into our room during night, when we were sleeping, (between 0200-05.00), put the fire extinguisher from the corridor to keep the door open and stole one wallet and one purse with some Euros (80 + 90) and what more important documents (including national id's - necessary to pass check in procedure at the airport) and credid cards in it. This piece of sh.t was certainly focused on stealing the money, as we got a lot of other goods like ipad, ipod, mobiles, camera lying on the floor around, not hidden and then stayed untouched.
Being under pression of time (3 hrs to departure) we were trying to find the lost documents, maybe thrown somewhere into a trash bin in the hostel, we met Irish people just living the hostel and telling us a similar story, that happened to them last Friday. Fortunately they found their purse in the trash bin, situated in the toilet, just next to your reception.
Another guy, working as a housekeeping personel, told us that he found "skinny" black wallet in trash bin, but yesterday, so it was not ours.
Finally, somehow we managed to fly back home all together, one person without any valid documents, but what was planned to be relaxing tourism returned into nighmare to us.
Definitely it seems that in your hostel there is a lurking thief.
Shame on the staff of this hostel, because although there is cctv operating inside the building they were not abble to register any trace of any crimes going on in this hostel.

Room Tip: Single and double rooms seem to be fine, but as in our case room for 3 and for 6 are just terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    83
    119
    72
    127
See reviews for
28
66
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean, rooms are small but nice and the breakfast for 5 euros is really good. However, there were bedbugs and I had a bad problem for days. Nonetheless, if you have good luck then it's good, in a nice location close to the museums and just a bus ride to the center.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Excellent hotel staff were friendly helpful. Rooms were clean n cleaned daily. Only issue is I booked a 4 man mixed dorm but was given a 8 man dorm but this didn't matter as there were only me n 2 others in there. Would use again n recommend to anyone looking for a cheap room. Shop 2 mins away same as tram stop to dam square.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hostel was in a great location and the staff were friendly enough. It had the option of dorms or private rooms with an ensuite. The rooms were clean, it wasn't noisy for a hostel and the complementary breakfast had a good variety. I enjoyed my stay here BUT i came home completely covered in bed bug bits and from what I've read, i'm not the only one this has happened to. So although I thought the hostel was good, I would not recommend it unless they do something about their bed bug problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were first put into room 109. We had asked for a twin room, they were twin beds but pushed together. It didn't matter to us too much but we had asked for separate beds.

Rooms are lovely and clean beds are comfortable. Shower is good with lots of hot water. Room has a TV and lots of electrical points within the room.

The acoustics of the room however were horrendous. On arriving back on Friday night (around 10.30pm) even though the hotel claims to have a strict curfew on noise, there were guests standing outside the hotel until 1am shouting and banging the reception door.

Then the room is right next to the stairs, above reception and the end of the corridor. So it is very, very noisy all the time with late comers to the hotel during the early hours and early bird tourists getting up and hanging around reception chatting. (Which can be heard in room 109 near enough word for word!)

We asked to move rooms and they relocated us up to the 3rd floor. Slight inconvenience as we were unable to get into the room until 2pm and had to be out of our current room at 11am. But understand why with cleaning regimes etc.

Room was so much better, away from corridor, bigger room, beds separated etc. So much better than before. There was some noise during the night by guests but we still got a lot more sleep than the night before.

If they could guarantee another room like 304 I probably would stay again if with friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel gets mixed reviews: this one is for a twin room with en suite shower room on the third floor.
Our room was small and clean with comfortable pillows. The water pressure in the shower was good and the shower cabinet was a good size. The building is old and the decor is faded. The corridor outside the room was narrow and the carpet was very stained.
I think the problem here is the other guests. A group of young adults (10 or 12 of them) sat in the corridor outside our room at 3.30 am one night having a conversation and generally hanging out. I told them to go away and was given a load of cheek from two young women; one of them told me I was not polite (!) and one of them told me I was too old to be staying in a hostel. Sigh. Apart from that the hotel was much much better than expected. Oh and by the way, there were just as many over 30s as under 30s there!
The self-serve breakfast was great - a machine dispensed freshly ground coffee and piping hot water for tea. There were two kinds of meat, cheese, 4 kinds of bread, 2 kinds of cereal, fruit & eggs. No fresh orange juice, but pineapple and 'multivitamin' drinks were available from a dispenser.
The reception desk was manned at least from 7 am to 11pm (don't know about the night time because we weren't down there), and the staff were helpful (not offhand at all). There is a room to leave luggage if you check out but don't fly till later.
We couldn't get wi-fi connection in our room (too far from the hub), but it was fine in the public area downstairs. We didn't turn on the tv or use the hairdryer, so can't comment on them.
To sum up, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Even numbers near 304 are high up and at the back, so probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inner Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Amsterdam

Address: Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Inner Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inner Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.