We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and fit for a stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Inner Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inner Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and fit for a stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After a whack around Amsterdam, you want good bed and a decent atmosphere to dwell the night off and Inner Amsterdam was the right place to do it. The surrounding was clean and welcoming and big bathroom to shower and dry off.

Poor lounge area and wifi connection is unstable and only in the lobby. Only 2 power sockets to charge your equipment makes it inconvenient

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    87
    122
    76
    137
See reviews for
29
72
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Friston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Combine what I am about to write with Mr G`s feedback, and you`ll get the picture: grotty, shabby, potentially a fire hazard, and very smelly mouldy shower and forever flushing toilet....all night long.
Sticky, dirty carpets, couldn`t-care-less staff ( I asked for alternatives for breakfast I had paid for/included in the booking price, and got shrugged shoulders and directions to the local supermarket to buy my own!) The four storey building was being repaired, and there were literally electric cables hanging/plugged into one socket, obscuring the stairs, and in front of the lift door, whilst building work was going on. The room was very small with two lumpy twin beds, and fusty linen, and an ensuite with a smelly shower, albeit a working one, and a toilet that never stopped flushing.....It`s a youth hostel for well..... youths, and beer and dope were the pervading smells: horrid. Location good for museums, trams and access to some nice cafes and bistros, but don`t stay here if you like normal standards for your accommodation on a city break: this will disappoint BIG TIME. BTW, Amsterdam is fab!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It is in the museum quarter.ideal for a cultural visit. It is in a quiet area, ideal for a good night's sleep.
However, the room I had as stiflingly hot, there was no ventialtion (the windows did not open), the smell fro the bathroom was unbearable and the fan provided served only to spread the heat and the smell.
Students and yongsters ran around the place with noisy abandon and the staff spent all their time surfing the Internet. I asked them for tickets to a museum and they charged me twice the amount. (Under 18 free).
This was the worst 'hotel' (more like a doss-house) that I have ever known.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After staying here for a friends birthday and wanting to be in the accommodation they had booked, we were happy to stay here at the initial price we had payed, also thinking we were in the same room as them. However on arrival we were charged an extra thirty euros (because apparently this is 5.5% of 120???) we pointed this out to the receptionist and she insisted we were wrong and that we hadn't even paid a deposit which we most definitely had! The first problem was the directions given by the hostel were awful and we usually have no trouble finding accommodation abroad, it took us almost an hour to follow these directions which even took us to the wrong stop. After all this, when we got to our MIXED dorm room we found that we had been put with a group of six lads who all knew each other, making it one woman and seven men, completely defeating the object of having a mixed dorm. The hostel couldn't really help this but they did not seem to care and said they could not do anything about it at first. We came later that evening and gave the room a go but we decided we just couldn't share a room with group of six friends, it was completely dominated by them and it would have been so awkward for all of us. We asked the next receptionist to help and to put us in another room and again refused. Finally after a long discussion (in which he stopped half way to talk to someone else who wasn't a guest) he told me they could put us in a spare private room. We accepted but he then added that we would have to pay 30, then 20 then 20 for the three nights which he claimed added up to 90 euros extra! After reluctantly agreeing, the bill did not add up to what we expected. In total, our bill for the room added up to around 250 euros for three nights. A complete rip off!! When we arrived into our new room there were two single beds that were separated by a wall. Finally, on our last night, the locks had been changed without them telling us. We then had to wait around for half an hour in the bar whilst they got it sorted. However, they did give us a free beer each and they were very friendly. We then realised that we had been in our room since the locks had been changed which we then worked out had meant that our door had been left open by the staff with all of our things in it!! Overall, although not a bad hostel, not worth the stress and money!!! Close to some things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and 2 nights was enough. The room is small and there isn't much room if you are staying with a big group. It was reasonable clean and a tram ride away from the centre. Staff were friendly and helpful on giving directions etc. However, the price did not reflect the experience. Too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Inner for three nights last August, unfortunately the hottest days of the last thirty years in Holland. So the fact that windows in the rooms could not be opened was terrible. The room was in the end in order and essential: beds, a chair, a bathroom with toilet, soap provided and hair-dryer. Not the most clean I've ever visited.
Possibility of surfing the Net at the reception, good breakfast, very next to the Museum quartier.
In the end, I realized the reason why it was the least expensive I found out in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

You pay for what you get and I had some premonition booking this hotel which was very cheap although situated handily for the museums. The room was tiny and the bed linen was not changed. After mjy three night stay I found I was covered all over in bites, probably fleas. Not a happy experience. The desk staff were friendly and obliging but the lift kep me up and sleep was disturbed by the shrieks and squeals of various young tourists in the backpacker hostel rooms. Not recommended. The best thing about it was the excellent bar at the end of the street!

Room Tip: Don't go there or if you do get away from that lift and make sure they change the sheets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inner Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Amsterdam

Address: Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Inner Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inner Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.