We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inner Amsterdam to your Saves list
Inner Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at alot of hostels on our trip but the only good part about this one was the breakfast.
The room had no windows. It was dark and dingy.
The basin clogged once,which they did try to repair. The location was good though.
Tip : check the room before you checkin. If the room is good, its not a bad place to stay.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    94
    131
    84
    143
See reviews for
32
77
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I got the joy of staying in this hostel for 3 nights, my room was dirty, there was no air conditioning as it had stated, no towels and the breakfast... well lets just say stale bread and jam is not what I consider breakfast, seriously bad even by hostel standards. I wouldn't go back even if you paid me!

Room Tip: choose a different hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A friend of mine booked this hostel because the people we were travelling with were on a budget. After reading the reviews on this site, I was pretty worried. They make it sound like a hell-hole. It turned out to be fine.

I got a decent night's sleep on both nights in a comfy bed in a pleasant room. On the downside, the bathroom sink flooded and the paper thin walls make it sound like there's a group of german students screaming in your face but that was fairly intermittant and didn't keep me awake for a long period.

In contrast to the other reviewers, I found it very clean. Certainly no bed bugs.

If you're looking for a cheap place to sleep for a couple of nights, this place is fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a 4 bed room ... yep tiny, but what do you expect in Amsterdam ... the breakfast was top notch for a hostel, seriously a lot of food put out :) ... the free wifi, bar, internet computers, free safes, locked luggage storage, friendly staff, excellent location (get a tram pass) clean bathrooms, free soap and shampoo, flat screen TV in the dining room ... so what didn't I like: the room was hot and stuffy, fan was feeble, of course no A/C. I never saw a bed bug, never saw a cockroach, overall I totally enjoyed this place. I have stayed in a lot worse than this :) Don't fret over the small stuff, you won't die if you stay here, you'll just sweat while you sleep :)

Room Tip: smaller room, less roomies, quieter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

As a young group we tend to look for the cheapest options but usually the cheap hotels in other citys are exactly what we need - just a bed to sleep in. However it is not possible to sleep in this place. We saw a few reviews saying the hotel is hot and stuffy but thought okay were not picky im sure we can put up with that but it's far to hot to sleep - the windows dont open properly and one little fan did hot make enough difference it was awful - so bad that everyone was made angry and put a downer on the whole holiday - impossible to get 6 people showered a ready in a tiny sweat box. We all were getting more and more bites on our backs and at first through they were mosquitoes even though we hadn't seen any and the room so badly ventilated I didn't see how they could get in!! We became confused as they were only on our back and were all sleeping on our backs as so hot - then discovered (and confirmed for further reviews I have read just now) that they were BED BUGS!!!!! Even though there is a hard floor and lots of space under the beds to clean easily - they hadn't cleaned under them so all dirty and horrible so nowhere to put your things without getting dirty. It is impossible to shut the doors without slamming them so you hear this all night. Breakfast was standard - better than we expected. Rude and unhelpful staff. You cannot pay by card (even though we enquired before hand were told we could) And if you are in a group you must all pay together upfront cash - not allowed to pay separately. We are a fairly low maintenance group but this place was unbearable. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandria, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

good ubication in Amsterdam,near van Gogh museum. dirty rooms with bugs on beds and terrible bathrooms. too hot and no air conditioned,impossible to have a good sleep. free wifi and that's the only good point,but the hotel is too expensive for a 1 star service.[--] on curtains,enough said..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hostel is great in so many ways, great breakfast (for a hostel), good facilities and the place runs pretty well considering the turn over, and a pretty good position in town too. I would give it four out of five, however...

When it comes to travelling a good nights sleep is essential to enjoying your time away. Unfortunately the rooms are too hot. We had a thermometer and measured 28 degrees in the room despite it being 18 degrees outside on the street. The rooms have very little ventilation and some have a small fan to try and make up for this however without enough external air getting in it is just blowing hot air around.

The hostel needs to rectify this with air conditioning or by renovating the windows to make them larger. Until then, I couldn't recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inner Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Amsterdam

Address: Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inner Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inner Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.