We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Better Than What I Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inner Amsterdam to your Saves list
Inner Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Galway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Way Better Than What I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My friend booked this as she had been to Amsterdam many times & stayed there. She is all about going on the cheap & when I heard hostel I nearly backed out. Was actually suprised at the rooms. We had a twin with our own bathroom. It was small but clean & comfortable. Also had a flat screen tv with a good few channels. Rooms were not sound proof and woke many nights because we could hear every footstep as people passed the rooms. It had wi-fi in reception but was alway busy with back packers. Had to pay up front on arrival which i didn't like as I hadn't the cash, luckily my friend had. Buffet breakfast was not for me. Grabbed some bread & juice, was sitting down to eat it when a large cat sat in the chair across from me. I promptly left & didn't eat there again. Hotel is located across the road from Van Gogh & many other museusms. Only about 5-10 minutes walk from Hard Rock Cafe & trams & buses pull up around the corner every few minutes. It is in an ideal location and don't be put off by google maps as the distances appear alot further on it. Probably wouldn't return to it again because of the cat situation but overall it was ok.

Room Tip: If you want a nice hotel with a good breakfast avoid it unless you like cats
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    94
    131
    84
    143
See reviews for
32
77
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Not a great hostel, but not terrible either. I'm sure you can get a better one for the same price though. Room was clean and wireless services downstairs. Had a terrible nights sleep due to being able to hear everything from the floor above and below.. staff at reception were generally friendly. Key system is an absolute joke and makes no sense whatsoever.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Location: it is a 45 min walk to the central station and 35 min to the city centre. Pretty far a walk but the 72 hour travel pass covers unlimited travel on bus, team and metro within amsterdam and worth a buy. The hotel is 5 min walk to the van gogh museum and rijkmuseum though! The place is nice and quiet and I slept very well! Less sleazy than apartments near the city centre.

Room: spacious and clean. VERY huge and nice toilets.

Service: receptionist at times were rather unfriendly but efficient. The rooms were not cleaned during my three day stay. Only garbage was emptied.

Food: breakfast was fresh and decent. Go early though! A lot of the better breads and eggs are gone after 9!

Overall: wasnt the best accommodation of my trip cos of location but still very worth its value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Maybe didn't have as cool of an atmosphere as other Amsterdam hostels I've stayed at before but it was perfectly fine for what I needed. I just wanted a good base form which to properly explore the city this time, so I didn't really want a crazy party "stoner" hostel. Everything was very decent, nothing too exceptional and there's a pretty good chance I would stay here again if I ever come back to the 'dam in the future. The location is really good, this part of the city isn't very touristy (well the Van Gogh museum is quite close, but other than that) so the area has bit more of a "local" feel than the Red Light District or other neighbourhoods closer to Centraal Station and the Vondelpark is quite close as well which is great when the weather is good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

after reading a lot of mixed reviews (some really bad) after I had booked it, I was scared to stay here expecting something from hell, but my experience was really good at this hostel. no signs of bed bugs at all, clean, cleaners cleaned our room and bathroom everyday providing us with clean towels etc, breakfast was good, staff were friendly, room sizes were pretty standard for hostels, cheap, great location and we met some amazing people here - nothing bad to say at all. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

For the money you pay expect to get what you pay for. The rooms we had were small but clean, the staff were nice and helpful and location wasn't bad at all! You jump on the excellent tram service and ten minutes later you in the heart of Amsterdam. I will say that the breakfast was pretty terrible though. If you stay here id suggest you eat out instead. We didnt stay in the dorms down stairs so our room upstairs was decent and good for what we needed it for. For the 3 nights we stayed, it wasn't bad at all :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inner Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Amsterdam

Address: Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inner Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inner Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.