We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room is only for sleeping in...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Inner Amsterdam to your Saves list
Inner Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Hawes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A room is only for sleeping in...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Our double room was very small, but this doesn't matter as who wants to spend time sitting in their room when in Amsterdam? It's only for sleeping in, bed was sooooo comfy and clean. Walls could do with a lick of paint. Great to have an en-suite room, bathroom very clean & everything working perfectly. Nice atmosphere in lobby & also at breakfast time, relaxed & sociable. Plenty of choice for breakfast, fill up as much as you want, saves money buying expensive food when out & about in the city. No tea & coffee making facilities in bedrooms, beer available from fridge in lobby. Really enjoyed my stay & would deffo go back again.
Nearly forgot to mention the excellent location, can't really be beaten.
Also, thumbs up for the brilliant Dutch public transport system.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    94
    131
    83
    143
See reviews for
32
77
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

There are cheaper hostels in the city but we reserved only a week in advance and had a comfortable stay at Inner Amsterdam.

I stayed with 2 people in a twin room, room number 1, for 2 nights and payed 240,- euros. Paying 60,- per person per night was well over a hostel price, but the room and bathroom were decent and a simple breakfast was included.

Although it was a busy weekend, sleeping there was fairly quiet since after 23:30 people were no longer allowed to stand around talking just outside our room which was on the ground floor.

Tram line 5 at museumplein close by runs often and took us to the city center in less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Very small room. We were 3 girls, and had a room of 10sqm with one bunk-bed and one extra-bed. There were no towels, and the staff wasn't exactly polite when we asked for towels. The towels had holes, some of them were not even clean...! On the walls we found lots of mold-spots, can't be healthy! Thin doors = inefficiently soundproof. No toiletpaper in the room, so once again we had to ask the staff. And as if this isn't enough, the ceiling lamp didn't work. We were suprised that they fixed this already the day after. Breakfast was horrible. Wouldn't call this a hotel, more like a hostel! Don't trust the pictures on the hotel's website, they've must been taken in another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with friends during our 5-day trip to Amsterdam. I had chosen Inner because it had better location than any other cheap hotel available then.
It's a good place for people who have limited budget, but don't want to stay far form city center or in hostel dorm. Hotel is located near Museumplein and Vondelpark, in quiet, safe area. It's about 25 minutes from Dam on foot.
Room was small but quite comfortable and clean. There was free wifi in the hotel, which was ok on the ground floor and outside of building, but it wasn't working in our room on the third floor. Breakfast was included, which was no better than you can expect for the price. There were also microwave ovens and an electric kettle available for guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogeveen, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here overnight because we had tickets to see a show in the Concertgebouw (Concert Hall). We searched the internet for hotels near the Concertgebouw, and the Inner didn't disappoint! Walk out of the hotel, turn left and there the Concertgebouw stands. When you walk past the side of the Concertgebouw, you see the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, etc, in front of you, and when you walk on for two or three blocks you're at the Vondelpark. That's also where you'll find the designer shops in the P.C. Hooftstraat.
With public transport the whole of Amsterdam is at your feet. By tram it only takes about 15 minutes to get from Oud-Zuid (old-south) where the hotel is situated to the central station. That's almost the other side of Amsterdam.

Check in was good. We were very early, after checking the system the receptionist saw that our room wasn't ready yet. But we could leave our bags in the luggage room, which is locked.
There's a small lift to go up to the next floors.

We read a lot about it actually being a hostel, not really a hotel, but we really had a hotel room. It had 2 single beds, a flatscreen TV, a chair and an en suite shower room with toilet. It was all clean, light and averagely spacious.
The only minus was that it was very warm in the room, despite the window being open on arrival. But in the middle of the city there is of course not much free-blowing air, so this isn't really a fault of the hotel, although I suppose they could install a ceiling fan or airco. That would probably reflect in the price though.

Next morning we headed for breakfast, with which we were very pleasantly surprised! There was ample choice in bread (buns, brown and white slices, beschuit, gingerbread), there was cheese, different kinds of meat, jam, Nutella, boiled eggs and cornflakes. Then there were different kinds of fruit juice, coffee and tea. And when a basket was empty, it was quickly refilled (usually even before the basket was completely empty).

Staff was very nice and helpful. When we didn't have coins left for the drinks machine, the receptionist offered to take two bottles out for us.
That, by the way, is another good thing: There's a drinks machine and a Ben & Jerry's fridge in the entrance hall. There's also a fridge where you (if you were a backpacker) can put your groceries in.

Check out was also quick and easy, with another very friendly staff member.

All in all, I would definately recommend this hotel if you were going to the Concertgebouw or if your main goal is to see as many museums as you can. Or if you don't want to stay in the middle of the busy city, or have a low budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

If you're a group of friends looking for a cheap place to stay for a weekend in Amsterdam, or backpackers inter-railing round Europe, then I could not recommend this hostel enough. Yes, it may advertise itself as a "hotel", but to the people who put negative reviews - what do you expect from a 2 star rating?!

My 3 friends and I stayed here for a weekend city break, and if you are not planning to stay in the hostel for hours on end then it's a great pit stop. The staff are friendly and speak fantastic English, and are willing to offer you advice about certain attractions. You can also buy tickets at the hostel to save waiting in queues (not the Anne Frank house, you can only get those from the actual attraction). The breakfast is continental but supplies cereals also, and fruit juice drinks/tea/coffee - and is buffet, so you can essentially eat as much as you like.

We stayed in a quadruple room - 2 sets of bunk beds. We were pleased to find we had our own bathroom which was nice; simple (like a wet-room) but very useful. The beds were surprisingly comfortable also. The room was small, but at the end of the day we only came back to sleep (the way it should be in Amsterdam - get out there and visit the attractions!) so the room was fine for our needs.

Overall, we had a lovely stay there and while the living is basic, if you don't expect much then you should have a lovely time. To those that were expecting something more - I don't understand how you expected to get anything more for around £19 pounds a night! If you pay for that much, you should expect it. The staff's helpfulness however, in my opinion, was 10 times of that what you would get in a 4* hotel anyway.

Thanks to all the Inner Hotel staff, from the Sheffield girls :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is the worst experience we have ever had! The hotel is filthy, the corridors are smelling really badly and the staff is really rude. We were forced to cancel our reservation due to the filthiness of the hotel!
Please do not stay in this hostel, it is the worst hotel that you can get in Amsterdam and in fact for 7 euros plus from their price you can get a very nice and beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inner Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Amsterdam

Address: Wanningstraat 1, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inner Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inner Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.