We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Outside of the city, not ideal if doing tourist stuff but if you dont mind getting taxis then it is a great hotel. The rooms are modern and clean, there is a decent amount of space and a good bathroom. The restaurant and bar are really excellent, made better by great staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    555
    103
    27
    22
See reviews for
114
501
50
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, and it was perfect. It was a great price for a 4-star hotel, spacious and comfortable rooms, great front desk service and very helpful staff. The rooms
The hotel is a 10 minute bus ride away from Central Station, which comes every 15 minutes. Once we just missed the bus, decided to walk and it took us only half an hour.
Very clean hotel, had great pool facilities and restaurant with a great patio
Would definitely recommend and stay again when back in the city

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were realty happy with the car park as we could use it overnight and for the days either side of our stay
Room was comfortable and gave the adults privacy.
The breakfast was huge but the cook food disappeared really fast and was refilled as breakfast finished

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was a very nice place. Too far to walk to the center, but there is a bus just in front that takes about 5 minutes to get to the center. Very good price, good food. Wonderful beds...slept like a baby. Very clean and efficient rooms. Nice shower.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I would recommend this hotel for a short city break in Amsterdam. I booked two nights for £150...after looking around I realised to stay somewhere half decent for around this price you are likely looking at just outside the city centre - particularly if you are staying on a weekend night.
The hotel was very modern, we found staff were polite and eager to please and the room was immaculately clean and spacious. The bed was a particular plus - one of the comfiest I have ever slept in! The bathrooms are basically a clear glass box within the room so if you like your privacy showering perhaps think twice about this hotel (although the toilet is separate). Other amenities include free lime/lemon water at reception and very fast wifi. We did not use the swimming pool and went elsewhere for the breakfast as I think you can find something cheaper in town.
The buses were very frequent - number 48 from right outside the hotel and we bought a 48 hour pass from the hotel reception for €12 each which I would recommend as it includes both the buses and trams - useful when your feet get a bit tired in town!
Getting from the airport to the hotel - you can get the train from the airport to Sloterdijk station (around €4) and get the 48 bus to the hotel - you should see the large 'art cows' outside (pic attached) - DO NOT WALK!! (We walked with cases and it took a good half hour - wish we'd known which bus to get!)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in the 4* side...really nice rooms. Views are pretty non-descript so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

very big room clean hotel frindly and helpful staf.
nice breakfast veary nice eara for running and walking

bus ruuning every 10-15 minute/ also night bus every houre/

I whish you a nice stay at the westcord art hotel in Amsterdam and all the best

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We were in Amsterdam last month for a few days and chose the Westcord Art Hotel. This is a nice place to stay while in Amsterdam and would definitely recommend it: it's clean, quiet, quite comfortable and the rooms have been recently upgraded. So, if it's so good, why only three stars, you're asking? The air conditioning! Our room -on the sixth floor of the older building - was far too hot and the AC was just not able to bring the temperature down to a reasonable level. Our friends were staying in the newer part of the hotel and their room AC was just fine. (Just in case you're thinking that we had unreasonable North American expectations.). It seems that the AC in the older part of the hotel was not upgraded when they spruced up the other amenities. We did ask for a fan and eventually the staff (very friendly and accommodating) got us a nice fan to keep the air moving a bit and that helped.
As for location, the hotel is a short ride away from downtown and the bus stop is right outside the front door. The bus can be slow depending on the time of day and traffic. It seemed odd that traffic was heavier going into the city at the end of the day but we were on vacation and it didn't matter too much.
restaurant for breakfast was very good! Will try to review that separately.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.