We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel could not fault it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel could not fault it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A more than adequate hotel 10 mins from central station by bus, very clean, nice friendly staff, would not hesitate to book again outside the city centre.
Buses every 15 mins,no 48 outside hotel no need to stay in centre, also night bus 348 stops outside hotel, did not eat in hotel but lager was cheaper than in city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    542
    102
    27
    22
See reviews for
110
486
50
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of 20 lads for a stag do, really up to date modern hotel with all the mid cons wifi etc. From what I gather there are better rooms at the other side of the hotel, 226 being ours which I highly recommend if possible. Plenty of room, whereas a couple of the other lads say their rooms weren't as big. Bit pricey for drink but then it is everywhere in Amsterdam. About a 20-40 euro taxi ride to the centre depending on which taxi driver you were luckily or unluckily given. But all in all a good stay at the west cord art hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed in the 3 star section of the hotel for two nights while in Amsterdam on business. The room was comfortable and clean. Good WiFi was available free of charge throughout the hotel including in the room (I was on the fifth floor).

Breakfast buffet offered a good selection, although on the second morning there was a wait for plates and croissants. The brasserie food in the evening was reasonable, but had I been staying longer I would have had to have looked elsewhere for variety's sake.

The hotel is a pleasant half hour walk from the Centraal Station, alternatively a 10 minute bus ride.

The one let down was the apparent reason that it took a long time to get a lift in the morning (the staircase isn't ideal for those of us who aren't keen on heights) - when I did get in a lift on the ground floor and it went to the basement, a member of the housekeeping team looked disgruntled that there were guests in the lift but travelled up to the fourth floor. As she got out she hit the -1 button, and I assume that it was this action, repeated numerous times, that caused the delay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Me and my spouse really looked forward to Amsterdam. We had done the booking online at least a couple of months in advance. We were a bit sceptical regarding the property having read it was far from the city. We took the directions as mentioned on trip advisor by someone who had stayed there earlier. We arrived as per schedule and we're pleasantly surprised to see the hotel. We had a wonderful 4 night stay at the property . We did not have much of their F&B and chose to eat out. We did 02 of the city trips which were the highlight of the stay. The reception staff was wonderful and quite helpful with their information

The last day was a disaster because which I have given average stay rating. My handbag containing my 02 iPads and some clothes got stolen at the reception counter while checking out. The 03 ladies who picked up my bag were caught on camera and the GM did his bit by calling the police etc however it was too late. Please be careful with your bags. The bag was right next to me and the ladies just picked it. It was unbelievable. The hotel needs to have a good security check apart from the CCTV cameras.

Otherwise a lovely stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel conveniently situated outside the city centre. Bus stop located just outside the hotel, with bus passes able to be purchased from hotel reception.
Buffet breakfast was nice with a good variety of food on offer. Did encounter one day during our stay, when tables were late being cleared of used crockery and there was a delay in hot food being replenished. Staff courteous and rooms were clean.
Stayed for 4 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gross-Gerau, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

nice Hotel near to the city center of Amsterdam. We didn’t take the breakfast as we got other options outside the hotel and close to the city center. Additional to that we thought 18€ would be better invested.
When you should go there with your own car you most likely will need to use the parking of the Hotel which will charge you another 24€ on top.

As the name already states it’s an art Hotel so you’ll find a lot of art on the walls that sometimes is also for sale.
The bar is really good and the staff is very kind and helpful when needed.

A trip from the Hotel to the down town part via Taxi was around 15 €.

Rooms are OK, clean and big enough for two people. While checking in you also need to agree to the terms of the Hotel which will state no smoking in the whole Hotel and no DRUGS. I just mention this as I could imagine some people are still smokers and are looking for a Hotel that allows so.

For me the only thing you need to get used to is the washbowl (all in steel) looking a bit “cold” and makes the bathroom not a place to enjoy a bath but hey you’re staying in an art hotel ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for three days over Easter this year (2014) and the location of the hotel was perfect, en route from the airport to the city centre, with a bus station right outside! ... Very close to city centre and can easily be accessed by bikes! The hotel food was delicious..amazing breakfasts!! We went for a special occasion and the hotel upgraded our room to a deluxe room with a beautiful bathroom and massive bed! If we go back to Amsterdam, we would definitely go back to this hotel. The art work around the hotel is really unique and awesome!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.