We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This beautiful hotel is located 5 minutes from the city centre by bus. The staff were friendly and the room was modern, clean and incredibly comfortable. The food in the bar/restaurant was amazing and there was a great atmosphere while everyone watched the World Cup game. Make sure your taxi driver knows which hotel you are talking about, as ours didn't and ended up driving to 5 different hotels before we finally got to the correct one an hour later!

I will certainly be staying here again when I next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    478
    89
    23
    21
See reviews for
92
420
48
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the hotel and it was an absolute pleasure. The reception staff was excellent and helped us out with maps, directions, bus timings etc. It's not in the city centre so if you plan on having a late night, you will most probably have to take a cab back to the hotel- be prepared. It has WiFi all over the place with decent connectivity. We didn't try the restaurant on the ground floor but my friend ate breakfast there and said it was excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a smoking room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanremo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It's a bit off, but if you like to walk, or bike, a a wonderful path in the park takes to town center in 20 minutes.
shops are at 10 mins walk

from/to airport get at Station Sloteerdijk

free use of public swimming pool (open)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The good:
1. Great wifi connection all throughout the hotel and it's free
2. It's an easy ride to/from the airport. Take the train to Sloterdijk railway station (I paid 4 euros one way). Sloterdijk is the second stop from the airport. Then take bus #48 (I paid 7 euros for an all day pass). The hotel bus stop is called Hempoint, it's in front of the hotel.
3. Restaurant at the hotel
4. Reasonably sized room
5. Outdoor swimming pool

The bad:
1. Around 11:30pm on my first night here, two men (strangers) almost walked in my room. Apparently, the person who checked them in thought my room was vacant based on their system and gave them my room. From my room, I could hear them walking in the hallway. Thankfully, I was still partly awake so when I heard my door opened, I immediately yelled at them and told them someone is already in the room! These guys were really apologetic. They were really shocked too. I immediately called the reception desk and told them what happened. The person was apologetic but this is something the hotel should really be careful about! Few hours before this happened, I called to complain about the fridge not working in the room and they helped me with it. So clearly, their records should have shown that my room was already occupied. That night, I couldn't sleep. Security is very important to me, especially as a solo traveler. I have been to many hotels, from posh to dingy, and this is the first time this happened to me.

2. Spoons were dirty. Housekeeping did not do their job right.

3. There is no sink in the toilet area to wash your hands. It's on the other side of the room, in the bathroom. I had to cross the room to get there.

4. One Sunday, I waited about 40 minutes for bus #48 from Centraal Station. Then took 15 minutes to get to the hotel. So this is something to think about. While the bus takes about 15 minutes to get to Centraal station, you need to factor in the wait time

5. Food is a little expensive at this hotel and they were just OK

6. You can hear people and doors opening and shutting.

7. Customer service just wasn't there. The waiters at the restaurant though were very nice and respectful.

I will not be returning at this hotel when I'm in Amsterdam. Not only I didn't feel secure, it is a little away from main attractions.





Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Early check in, very comfortable beds, friendly staff, beautiful artwork everywhere. Worth every penny! Next time I come to Amsterdam this is the place I will stay. Public pool right behind the hotel, with guest access makes it even better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We drove up from Bruges to visit Amsterdam and needed a hotel with parking facilities nearby - this was perfectly located, a few minutes from the ring road with secure underground parking, albeit at a price (but parking is costly throughout Amsterdam). Why on earth the previous reviewer paid 23 euros per trip for a taxi into the centre is beyond me. The 48 bus stops right outside the hotel and takes 6-7 minutes to reach the central station. From there its an easy walk or one of the many trams into the different central districts. A four day pass for all trams and buses is available for the cost of one taxi ride. At no point over the 4 days did we have to wait longer than 10 minutes and usually less than 5 so this was an excellent choice.

For the price of the room, the quality and the laid back atmosphere in a city where very average hotels charge exorbitant rates, this is excellent value for money. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We would happily return.

It has 2 outdoor pools alongside, provides surprisingly good food in the Bistro and has clean and comfortable rooms. We experienced no problems with noise, cleaning or anything else mentioned in earlier reviews so must assume that they were simply unlucky.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We choose this hotel because we needed parking. The parking is a bit expensive though, € 22.50 per night. It takes 10 min by bus to get to the city center by bus. The bus stops right outside the hotel, and runs every 10 min on week days, every 15 min on week ends. The room was ok, but the beds were really hard and uncomfortable. You could also hear every door closing in the hall way etc.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.