We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natura & Metropolitan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sanremo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Natura & Metropolitan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It's a bit off, but if you like to walk, or bike, a a wonderful path in the park takes to town center in 20 minutes.
shops are at 10 mins walk

from/to airport get at Station Sloteerdijk

free use of public swimming pool (open)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    513
    99
    27
    22
See reviews for
104
457
49
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The good:
1. Great wifi connection all throughout the hotel and it's free
2. It's an easy ride to/from the airport. Take the train to Sloterdijk railway station (I paid 4 euros one way). Sloterdijk is the second stop from the airport. Then take bus #48 (I paid 7 euros for an all day pass). The hotel bus stop is called Hempoint, it's in front of the hotel.
3. Restaurant at the hotel
4. Reasonably sized room
5. Outdoor swimming pool

The bad:
1. Around 11:30pm on my first night here, two men (strangers) almost walked in my room. Apparently, the person who checked them in thought my room was vacant based on their system and gave them my room. From my room, I could hear them walking in the hallway. Thankfully, I was still partly awake so when I heard my door opened, I immediately yelled at them and told them someone is already in the room! These guys were really apologetic. They were really shocked too. I immediately called the reception desk and told them what happened. The person was apologetic but this is something the hotel should really be careful about! Few hours before this happened, I called to complain about the fridge not working in the room and they helped me with it. So clearly, their records should have shown that my room was already occupied. That night, I couldn't sleep. Security is very important to me, especially as a solo traveler. I have been to many hotels, from posh to dingy, and this is the first time this happened to me.

2. Spoons were dirty. Housekeeping did not do their job right.

3. There is no sink in the toilet area to wash your hands. It's on the other side of the room, in the bathroom. I had to cross the room to get there.

4. One Sunday, I waited about 40 minutes for bus #48 from Centraal Station. Then took 15 minutes to get to the hotel. So this is something to think about. While the bus takes about 15 minutes to get to Centraal station, you need to factor in the wait time

5. Food is a little expensive at this hotel and they were just OK

6. You can hear people and doors opening and shutting.

7. Customer service just wasn't there. The waiters at the restaurant though were very nice and respectful.

I will not be returning at this hotel when I'm in Amsterdam. Not only I didn't feel secure, it is a little away from main attractions.





Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Early check in, very comfortable beds, friendly staff, beautiful artwork everywhere. Worth every penny! Next time I come to Amsterdam this is the place I will stay. Public pool right behind the hotel, with guest access makes it even better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We drove up from Bruges to visit Amsterdam and needed a hotel with parking facilities nearby - this was perfectly located, a few minutes from the ring road with secure underground parking, albeit at a price (but parking is costly throughout Amsterdam). Why on earth the previous reviewer paid 23 euros per trip for a taxi into the centre is beyond me. The 48 bus stops right outside the hotel and takes 6-7 minutes to reach the central station. From there its an easy walk or one of the many trams into the different central districts. A four day pass for all trams and buses is available for the cost of one taxi ride. At no point over the 4 days did we have to wait longer than 10 minutes and usually less than 5 so this was an excellent choice.

For the price of the room, the quality and the laid back atmosphere in a city where very average hotels charge exorbitant rates, this is excellent value for money. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We would happily return.

It has 2 outdoor pools alongside, provides surprisingly good food in the Bistro and has clean and comfortable rooms. We experienced no problems with noise, cleaning or anything else mentioned in earlier reviews so must assume that they were simply unlucky.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We choose this hotel because we needed parking. The parking is a bit expensive though, € 22.50 per night. It takes 10 min by bus to get to the city center by bus. The bus stops right outside the hotel, and runs every 10 min on week days, every 15 min on week ends. The room was ok, but the beds were really hard and uncomfortable. You could also hear every door closing in the hall way etc.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I don't want to be a reviewer that posts a review based on personal opinion and telling everyone to avoid etc.. I will state exactly what I experienced and give the facts (good & Bad) for you to make your own mind up.

Me and my partner were part of a larger group. The price of the hotel is reasonable however the location does let it down because what you save in room rates you make up for in Taxi with an average cost of 23euro per trip into the City centre. That is not a bad point as to book the hotel you must already be aware of the location, it's just meant purely to say it's maybe worth spending a little extra to be more central as the savings in taxi fares would offset the extra hotel costs.

The actual hotel itself impressed us all as we expected a lot worse giving what we paid. To compare the rooms I would liken them to the Premier Inn rooms if you have ever stayed in those.

Good points:
* Clean hotel
* Great food
* Good facilities including two large swimming pools (we didn't use them so cannot comment on the water quality/temperature)
* Clean rooms
* Great art detail throughout

To summarise we couldn't really fault the hotel itself. However all of the bad points come from service:

Bad Points:
* The first small issue encountered was the room card not working after day one. The lifts are activated with the passes. We went in the lift following other guests. Only to discover our pass stopped working when we were on our floor. We then had to go down the stairs to reception to reactivate them only to trail back up.

* The cleaner left a cleaning product top and a used cloth in the bathroom (again trivial and prob a one off but I want to list everything).

* We ordered food the first morning as the full group and the service was painfully slow. A party member had to actually go to the staff to ask if they would servce us. The staff need to pay more attention to who is awaiting service and tend to them.

* me and my partner dined alone the following morning @12:00. Firstly we went to greet the group outside in the sunny terrace to say good morning ans that we will dine inside. On our return back into the hotel the male staff member was closing the door which we came through. He told my patner there was another door around the corner. When asked is he expects us to walk all of the way around when there is clearly this entrance. To which he relunctanly allowed us back through.

* When we did sit to eat the service gradually ground to a halt. Initially we asked for orange juice to be told "Sorry the juice dispenser is being washed", what kind of bar cannot serve orange juice @12:00?? After eating we asked for the dessert menu. The waitress never returned for over 30 minutes and when she did she brought the bill without being asked for it and without asking us if we actually wanted to order a dessert. She placed the bill on the table and walked off quickly without us having a chance to even speak needless to say we skipped dessert as we had a plane to catch and at that level of service were doubtful we would make it if we had to wait as long for dessert. We wanted to rejoin the group and we waited over an hour for her to actually take the payment. My partner finally gave up and went and asked her to take payment. She was she would be over with the card machine soon. Over another 30 minutes passed and only when we got up and joined the group and took the bill with us did she show for payment. All of this was whilst she was standing at the bar talking to their colleagues and also when there were hardly any guests sitting down so it's hardly because they were too busy.

* Another issue was for the friend who did the booking. Upon checking out it turned out they have made a mistake with the booking and hadn't talken payment for 5 of the rooms. It took them over an hour to sort that out.

This is a great hotel as in the building, rooms and the layout. It is seriously let down by the very ignorant staff who do not seem to care about people awaiting service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I have just come home from Amsterdam today and WestCord Art Hotel was everything we expected...and more. Beds are great and very comfortable, staff is helpful in any possible way, the hotel is beautiful, and that water with lime and mint on the reception desk is also a nice touch:) All in all, when we come to Amsterdam we will be in the same hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.