We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for visiting Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel for visiting Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quiet area. At the same time it's only 20 min walk to / from center of Amsterdam.
Bus (#48) stop is very close to the hotel.
Beautiful paintings inside the hotel.
An ideal place to stay during your visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    452
    79
    24
    21
See reviews for
76
391
47
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights for a long weekend in Amsterdam. The hotel itself was beautiful inside with some wonderful pieces of art and the rooms were so clean and modern. The staff were also really nice and friendly.
The hotel is not in the centre of town which is actually quite nice as you can get away from the craziness of Amsterdam for a while, but it is close enough to the centre only 10 mins on a 22 or 48 bus which run every 10 minutes so you are never waiting long to get into town. If I was to come back to Amsterdam I would 100% stay here again as it was modern, fun and perfectly placed for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Our room faced onto the pool area which was nice and quiet at night and had some fun art to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Despite not being a central hotel, it is easily accessed by the line 48 (bus stop right in front of the hotel), which conveniently runs every 10 minutes. And if you fancy a walk, within a 20 minutes you can reach the central area with loads of bus and tram lines available.

It’s a trendy hotel with artistic and creative design. I loved it. The room is great, clean and spacious, so it is the bathroom. A kettle with tea and coffee was also available in the room. When we got there , there was a personalised welcome message written in a card. Just a small detail, but it makes you feel special. Wi-fi works well all over the hotel.

The hotel bar is very nice, with a lovely and pleasant external area (terrace).

The receptionists were all friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Tip: while using the Amsterdam public transport (either buses or trams) don’t forget touching out every time you get off, otherwise you’ll get a penalty :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

From our arrival to our departure we were made to feel very welcome. Staff were excellent, rooms gorgeous and the bar and terrace were fabulous. Slept really well - hotel nice and quiet during the night. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Lovely hotel to stay in just a little bit out of the way for me. It was only around ten minutes on the bus into the city centre or around a half hour, 40 mins walk. On our last day we rented bikes from the hotel which was nice and handy to get into town with and experience a bit of the culture.

If you are looking to be very central I wouldn't go for this hotel, the location is the only thing I would say is off putting about it. I personally like to be able to walk out the hotel and be central.

The staff were so lovely, they couldn't be nicer.

If you do stay here, do not go out onto the 'balcony' in the hall, this is actually a fire escape which we ended up getting locked out on and had to walk down 8 floors of scary spiral stairs!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Amsterdam. This hotel is outside of the busy center but directly on the bus route that runs every 10 mins to the central station, which is only a 15 min ride. We enjoyed the accommodations, beds were comfortable and plenty of space. The hotel restaurant was very good for dinner!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.