We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Me and my husband stayed for 4 nights in West Cord Art hotel in May 2014. Hotel is really clean room is quite spacious considering the city center hotels. Welcome letter by manager was a lovely touch :) Staff is attentive and always ready to answer your questions. It is really close to centraal station (10 mins by bus) and bus stop is just outside of the hotel.

The reason I gave 4 out of 5 is, we booked our stay via hotels.com and in our itinerary it says that it includes taxes (in Turkish) Eventhough we tried to explain this to reception attendant when we were checking out from the hotel, she charged us about 15€ tax.

Room Tip: Try rooms facing the pool, they were really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    535
    101
    36
    26
See reviews for
75
390
46
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you don't get creeped out by mannequins, I'd recommend this modern, clean, trendy hotel. Ten minutes from the centre, it offers something a little different from the Novotel style premises. The rooms are a little small, but nicely set out and the railhead shower was excellent. Nice enough quality toiletries and a comfy bed. The only comment I would make is that we were on the 9th floor and the noise from the bar above was clearly audible. At least it was good music! Staff were friendly, particularly Darko in the bar.

Room Tip: Avoid the 9th floor if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two nights with my kids .the room decor was beautiful and very morden and room was a great size and exceptionally clean .The staff was very helpful and very treated us well.it was so easy to get into the city centre and to the train station from the hotel. We could make tea and coffee in our rooms. The only thing was the breakfast was a bit pricey so we ate out .will definitely be going back again and recommending it to friends

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staying in this hotel was brilliant. It was my first time in Amsterdam on the 24th MARCH 2011. It is located just outside the city centre, roughly about 10 - 15 minutes. From the airport I got the train to central station then a tram number 48 to a area called Sloterdijk, the hotel is only the main road. Also from the airport u can get a train to Sloterdijk train station the walk 5 minutes to the hotel.

The hotel its self is very nice, there is a restaurant with a great pool area. Shoe polishing machine, lifts to all floors and very clean room. I stayed in a room that over looked the a ugly building and the train station. The room was very spacious, double bed was very comfortable and soft. The en suit bathroom had see through glass looking onto the bath and shower, great if ur going away for a dirty weekend haha. The toilet was at the opposite side of the room near the door. It was also spacious with a sink beside the toilet.
I travelled with my boyfriend at the time who was on the larger side and he found it very good to move around the bathroom. The bath was sunk into the floor and could fit 2 people in it with enough room to move around in it.

To finish it off the staff were really friendly and was on call at reception when needed. Defiantly recommend it.

(I have marked down the bottom I stayed March 2014, I only put March 2014 because they never had March 2011. Sorry)

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor at the back of the hotel or ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Art hotel offer great rooms at a reasonable price. It has some good amenities and a very friendly staff. It is a bit out of the city center but easy access either on foot or via public transportation. My wife enjoyed our stay in a modern facility with clean rooms and great service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Great value in the family room. Included two separate rooms with good space. Breakfast at 18 euro pp (with no reduction for children) was not priced well, but we were able to eat a la carte at the restaurant so it was fine. There's a BP across the street to pick up necessities and a nice terrace, heated pool and play area. The city tram picks up right in front of hotel at 2.70 pp so it worked for getting in/out of city center but we would have chosen another hotel if one was closer into city and available bc it was a pain to not just be able to walk to hotel. Overall the hotel was a nice stay though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were a family of 3 and stayed at UK half term. Lots of other places were booked up or very expensive. We all thought this was fantastic-great value, an extremely comfortable, spotless room with very good quality fittings and lots of space. Beds were great, despite having a room on the road side it was one of the quietest hotels we have stayed in. UK channels on TV, wireless faultless. Bus was no problem (does add a bit onto the price as it was 2 euros 80cents for each single ticket -or 5 euros 60 for 2 if bought at hotel) and we did too and fro a bit. Didnt eat there at all as found really good places in the centre. We hired their bikes (gears need adjusting) but was very easy to cycle into the centre and back-really enjoyed it-they give you chains so you stop and park up and sightsee. We did cycle on a public holiday so the roads were considerably quieter than usual and with younger kids that may have been a problem. Also the hotel only has adult bikes. Staff all really helpful. Liked 12 midday checkout. We felt it was as good as an apartment (without the cooking facilities.) Highly recommend if you dont want to be slap bang in the centre.
We would definitely have swum in the outdoor pool if it had been warmer-it looked very inviting and lots of people were in first thing.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.