We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtesy & relax!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Courtesy & relax!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Nothing bad to say! It's a good hotel!
It takes only 10mins to reach from Centraal Station (bus 48), the stewards are nice and it's also a quiet place to stay, not far from the center of the city but far enough to have a pleasant rest by night (which is absolutely important after a long day walking).
I've been here with my gf, but I think it's an hotel best suited for business people or solos.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    523
    100
    27
    22
See reviews for
108
469
49
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed in the 4 star section of the hotel. Overall great quality to price ratio. You pay extra for breakfast, but it is good. Did like the fact that hotel has parking available and offers free Wi-Fi. The art Brasserie in the loby open 'til 1am is a big plus. Good food served in it. Good bar atmosphere. Otherwise nothing else to do in the neighborhood. Every day if you don't mind riding conveniently 10 min with the bus to Amsterdam Center, then it is the best hotel you can book.

Room Tip: Hotel has two building wings. One is 3 star the other one is the 4 star section. Pay attention when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Can not fault this place. We were given a room on the top floor with a balcony, Room 724 and felt pretty lucky as its one of only a few. The rooms clean and modern. Hotel staff are very polite. Breakfast was better than expected. Would definately return here again. Some have said bar prices are expensive but id say they are no different than in amsterdam center. For the price this is one of the best hotels iv stayed in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked 4 rooms, with 2 to a room for our party of 8.
Good hotel but we had a few issues... Firstly, we asked for smoking rooms, even just one, but we didn't get this. This wasn't so bad as we could just pop outside, plus they did explain they only had 4 smoking rooms in the hotel so it was never guaranteed.
We also asked that our rooms be close together. 2 of them were on the same floor, side by side, which was fine, but the other two rooms, one of which I was in, were on completely separate floors. We worked around this issue however, but would prefer next time if all the rooms were closer together.

The mini fridge in 3/4 rooms weren't open and therefore we couldn't even have a drink unless we went out and got one. Even then, we had nowhere to put them to keep them cool. This was a big let down.

There was also no food menu in the room to order room service, so we had to go downstairs to get it, which was annoying. However, the food I got was delicious, albeit quite expensive.

The heating in the room was good and the air con could be adjusted.

It would be good if there was some sort of curtain or something around the shower... This didn't bother me as I was with my boyfriend, however the rest of our party were all boys. The shower itself kept going from hot to cold when I was in it, which was annoying.

The location of the hotel was a bit out the way but as you can purchase a discounted travel pass from the hotel and just take the 48 or 22 from right outside the hotel, this wasn't an issue at all. At night times we just got a taxi back, shouldn't cost anymore than €30 for a party of 8.

There is also a supermarket about 10 minutes away if you want to walk, or the stop before the hotel on the bus. This was useful for bits of food and drinks, although there wasn't many spirits available.

Overall, a good hotel. I think next time I would look for something a bit more central personally, but other than that, it's definitely one to consider.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

When I booked this hotel I was sold by the "Art". Yes there is Art but its like people who own a surf board and say they surf but never have ...... its an illusion.

This is a business hotel for back slapping business men talking on their business phones and eating their business food, this is not a chilled, relaxed, liberal hotel and has no character whatsoever.

Although I must say the staff were very nice it felt like they were used to being treated like dirt from customers and seemed scared when you approached them with a smile on your face...... a bit like Edward Scissor hands smiling.

We stayed for 4 nights, we changed rooms after the first night due to what can only be described as the sound of a boiler or huge tank of bubbling water coming through the walls. Id be amazed if they aren't aware of this, to be fair the lady changed us without hassle but i couldn't help noticing that all the people around the front desk were complaining about different issues they were having. Mainly a screaming couple or should I say woman who was being heard all over the hotel the night before which of course is not the hotels fault.

Don't get me wrong this place served a purpose but I wish I had stayed somewhere else, just not what me and my girlfriend were looking for at all aside from a bed, shower, bit of Breakfast and privacy.

Room Tip: we had our problems in Room 117.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is fab! We stayed 5 friends for 3 nights, £89 each with breakfast included! Really clean, comfortable and modern. It has really comfy beds (including the extra bed in the triple room) and lovely bathrooms (we were in the 4 star side). It was great value for money, I stayed at a hotel of similar price range in Amsterdam before and it was not a touch on this. I only wish I had found this before
The rooms have a light airy feel to them and all the mod cons you need.
The breakfast buffet was constantly restocked and had a good variety to suit everyone's taste.
The staff were very helpful and polite.
There is a bus stop right outside which takes you to the centre in less than 10 mins and it runs 24 hrs! The bus comes every 10 mins so you don't even need to wait long. We did not need to get any taxis.This is a much better option than staying in a grotty hotel in the centre for twice the price!

I highly recommend! Booked through trivago as best rates.

Room Tip: The 3 star were the same price as the 4 star when we booked so shop around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and friendly hotel and also the staff. Good access to city centre and public transports (that run all night) and tickets can be bought at the reception
Clean, modern, calm and good value for money.
A bit expensive breakfast considering the options nearby...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.