We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked 4 rooms, with 2 to a room for our party of 8.
Good hotel but we had a few issues... Firstly, we asked for smoking rooms, even just one, but we didn't get this. This wasn't so bad as we could just pop outside, plus they did explain they only had 4 smoking rooms in the hotel so it was never guaranteed.
We also asked that our rooms be close together. 2 of them were on the same floor, side by side, which was fine, but the other two rooms, one of which I was in, were on completely separate floors. We worked around this issue however, but would prefer next time if all the rooms were closer together.

The mini fridge in 3/4 rooms weren't open and therefore we couldn't even have a drink unless we went out and got one. Even then, we had nowhere to put them to keep them cool. This was a big let down.

There was also no food menu in the room to order room service, so we had to go downstairs to get it, which was annoying. However, the food I got was delicious, albeit quite expensive.

The heating in the room was good and the air con could be adjusted.

It would be good if there was some sort of curtain or something around the shower... This didn't bother me as I was with my boyfriend, however the rest of our party were all boys. The shower itself kept going from hot to cold when I was in it, which was annoying.

The location of the hotel was a bit out the way but as you can purchase a discounted travel pass from the hotel and just take the 48 or 22 from right outside the hotel, this wasn't an issue at all. At night times we just got a taxi back, shouldn't cost anymore than €30 for a party of 8.

There is also a supermarket about 10 minutes away if you want to walk, or the stop before the hotel on the bus. This was useful for bits of food and drinks, although there wasn't many spirits available.

Overall, a good hotel. I think next time I would look for something a bit more central personally, but other than that, it's definitely one to consider.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    452
    78
    24
    21
See reviews for
76
390
47
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

When I booked this hotel I was sold by the "Art". Yes there is Art but its like people who own a surf board and say they surf but never have ...... its an illusion.

This is a business hotel for back slapping business men talking on their business phones and eating their business food, this is not a chilled, relaxed, liberal hotel and has no character whatsoever.

Although I must say the staff were very nice it felt like they were used to being treated like dirt from customers and seemed scared when you approached them with a smile on your face...... a bit like Edward Scissor hands smiling.

We stayed for 4 nights, we changed rooms after the first night due to what can only be described as the sound of a boiler or huge tank of bubbling water coming through the walls. Id be amazed if they aren't aware of this, to be fair the lady changed us without hassle but i couldn't help noticing that all the people around the front desk were complaining about different issues they were having. Mainly a screaming couple or should I say woman who was being heard all over the hotel the night before which of course is not the hotels fault.

Don't get me wrong this place served a purpose but I wish I had stayed somewhere else, just not what me and my girlfriend were looking for at all aside from a bed, shower, bit of Breakfast and privacy.

Room Tip: we had our problems in Room 117.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is fab! We stayed 5 friends for 3 nights, £89 each with breakfast included! Really clean, comfortable and modern. It has really comfy beds (including the extra bed in the triple room) and lovely bathrooms (we were in the 4 star side). It was great value for money, I stayed at a hotel of similar price range in Amsterdam before and it was not a touch on this. I only wish I had found this before
The rooms have a light airy feel to them and all the mod cons you need.
The breakfast buffet was constantly restocked and had a good variety to suit everyone's taste.
The staff were very helpful and polite.
There is a bus stop right outside which takes you to the centre in less than 10 mins and it runs 24 hrs! The bus comes every 10 mins so you don't even need to wait long. We did not need to get any taxis.This is a much better option than staying in a grotty hotel in the centre for twice the price!

I highly recommend! Booked through trivago as best rates.

Room Tip: The 3 star were the same price as the 4 star when we booked so shop around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and friendly hotel and also the staff. Good access to city centre and public transports (that run all night) and tickets can be bought at the reception
Clean, modern, calm and good value for money.
A bit expensive breakfast considering the options nearby...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I thought a lot about things I didn't like in WestCord Art. But everything was really good.
Rooms equiped with new furniture. Cleaning was every day. Staff was very helpful.
At reception you can buy bus tickets, rent bike, send poscards and ask any question.
Breakfast is rather expensive at hotel, but there are some cafes in 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I did some research and this one came up tops.
It is 10 minutes from the centre, which is far enough to get away from the crowds and noise.
If you are coming from the air port it is really simpe, get the train to the centre, then the 48 bus stops right out side of the hotel, 2 stops after the albert heinj shop.

The hotel.
We stayed in the 3 star hotel, the room was nice, big and clean. The bed was comfy and the Van gough on the wall was nice to look at. There was a tv, a mini bar though it is an automatic one where if you take something out you will be charged. The safe if easy to use and free. And we also got tea and coffee in the room.
The downside was there wasn't a lot of light in the room.

We had breakfast included in the room price, it had a cooked english breakfast, fruit,cheese, meat, cereal, eggs, toast etc.

As it was my birthday i was given 2 free glasses of wine and balloons on my bed.
We were also given a 2nd free drink voucher, but be aware this is a hotel bar, we had 2 coke and Bacardi rums and it cost €15.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is located about a ten minute cab from Amsterdam Central. We didn't struggle to get too and from the hotel.

The rooms are a decent size with an ok bathroom. I didn't like the metal sink as it looked like something out of a prison. The room was clean.

The reception staff are quite helpful but the breakfast staff not so much. For some reason they just didn't want to replace items which were running or had run out and we had to ask on both days for them to do so. If you are charging 18 euros this shouldn't be the case and the food it's self was average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.